Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-25-2019, 04:47 AM   #21
ulyssesvideo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: sydney
Posts: 417
Default

8bit or 10bit?
ulyssesvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2019, 05:00 AM   #22
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,059
Default

Most of the time its 8bit even when I use the Ninja V's. Load on EDIUS is just too much for 10bit and I do not see much difference for what I do. No real grading just little corrections to levels to match cameras. Lately I have used Vlog as the colours are better even with 8bit as I know most would recommend using 10bit for Vlog I have found 8bit fine for my uses. I think if I were to start thinking about HDR then of course it would all have to be 10bit. Since my output is mainly 80% DVD that is a little overkill. For some I have used 10bit ProRes from the Ninja V for the full stage camera as from this I could get HDR out from that as an archive. I just experimented on a few shows doing this but when time is important I have just fallen back to 8 bit allowing both camera and Ninja V to record. Backup the camera file and use the ProRes for edit.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2019, 07:13 AM   #23
ulyssesvideo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: sydney
Posts: 417
Default

the good thing about 4k is that there is so much colour information compared to hd, so when you down convert from 4k to hd you have more info colour if then if you filmed in hd... well from what I have read on the net. not sure if correct or not.

Last edited by ulyssesvideo; 12-25-2019 at 03:30 PM.
ulyssesvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2019, 02:35 PM   #24
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,059
Default

Colour information is exactly the same since it is 4:2:0. The difference is luma. The 8 bit UHD will give close to 10bit HD luma. Since our eyes are more sensitive to luma than colour there is an advantage in downsampling though my reason is to crop/pan/zoom. The comparison 8bit to 10bit only works for the full image though.

Since my interest in anything above HD is to crop/pan/zoom you can see my desire for 8K more than improvements in image quality. 6K does not give a big enough advantage for my needs so no interest in the current batch of 6k cameras.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2019, 03:28 PM   #25
ulyssesvideo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: sydney
Posts: 417
Default

since the gh4, Ive been filming mostly 4k for that same reason to crop/pan/zoom as well. althou with the gh5/gh5s u can use the entire sensor 4x3 and then get your 16x9 from that.

Using the whole sensor...good for instrgram as well ...... when you need to film for 16x9 videos and client needs an edit for instrgram

unfortunately.... the gh6/gh6s will be most likely 6k cameras.
ulyssesvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2019, 11:36 AM   #26
edver1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 154
Default

Are there somewhere sample clips (un edited) from the Lumix DC-GH5s that I can download to see if I can edit them on my system.
Preferable UHD 60P / 50P 10 bit ?
__________________
Edius 9.5,Win 10 home
Asrock Phantom gaming 6,
CPU Intel I9-9900K
500 Gb M.2 Samsung SSD 970 Pro plus
1 TB M2 Samsung SSD 970Pro
SSD OCZ 256MB
WD 4TB HDD
edver1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2019, 02:37 PM   #27
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,059
Default

Internal recording at 10bit is restricted to 30P if you want UHD 10bit 50P/60P then one has to use an external recorder like my Ninja V which will be ProRes and PC is fine with editing that. Even internal 10bit 4:2:2 30P needs 400bps capable card which I do not have otherwise I would make for you. GH5S is not different to GH5 as far as files are concerned same Panasonic codec. Both will record HLG 10 bit 4:2:0 at 30P internal at 150Mbps if you would like that.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2019, 03:42 PM   #28
edver1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 154
Default

Ron
Thanks for the offer,bud I think I set my demands to high !
At the moment I have a Sony X70 and the last film I made the moiré was at some moments so bad and the rolling shutter made me see sick .
That made me decide to get a new camera .
I'm not a pro, I film just my holidays and occasionally a family party.
I do set high standards for the end result ,bud at the moment I'm not to happy with it.
Going on a holiday,I want to travel light so an extra monitor / hard drive is just to much.
I will keep surging for my ideal camera.
Thanks again and make the new year day's fun happy and safe.
Edd
__________________
Edius 9.5,Win 10 home
Asrock Phantom gaming 6,
CPU Intel I9-9900K
500 Gb M.2 Samsung SSD 970 Pro plus
1 TB M2 Samsung SSD 970Pro
SSD OCZ 256MB
WD 4TB HDD
edver1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2019, 04:01 PM   #29
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,059
Default

I do not think you need 10bit for your needs so if you want to get into 50/60P UHD then the GH5 or better the G9 would be great for that job as they have excellent image stabilizer and good at stills and video. You may miss the long zoom of a true video camcorder though. I shoot 8bit most of the time as I have no need for fancy grading that would benefit from 10bit or HDR output. To confess though I use my AX53 shooting HD60P for family events etc not the GH5's they are only for my hobby projects of theatre and dance. The AX53 is small, long zoom, superb stabilizer. Is the image as good as the GH5's ...NO
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2019, 11:08 AM   #30
edver1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 154
Default

Ron
You use only the Ninja V's or also some SDHC/X cards ?
What type can follow the speed in 8 / 10 bit at 50 P ?
About the rolling shutter => Edius is doing i.m.o. een very good job,getting it 100% out is wishful thinking bud it can save a bundle of normally lost shots !
Edd
__________________
Edius 9.5,Win 10 home
Asrock Phantom gaming 6,
CPU Intel I9-9900K
500 Gb M.2 Samsung SSD 970 Pro plus
1 TB M2 Samsung SSD 970Pro
SSD OCZ 256MB
WD 4TB HDD
edver1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gh5 and 400mbps jeff8 Editing with EDIUS 10 03-25-2018 03:42 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:08 PM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.