Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2019, 11:58 AM   #1
dolby
Member
 
dolby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
Posts: 56
Default How to export AAF with volume and pan settings from Edius timeline

Please how can I send the audio files to sound mix software (ProTools) with my volume settings from my timeline? I need to have the option, where I can export files with pan and volume settings and then edit them again in audio mixing software, nondestructively. I dont want to burn the edius mix settings in to audio files, not overwrite them or render new files, but only save volume and pan settings for further postproduction. Why we cannot export to OMF? OMF is standart in film industry and this solution works perfectly in Avid or Premiere.
__________________
Miro Remo
www.miroremo.com

GIGABYTE x79 UD4, Intel Core i7 i3930k @4200 Mhz, 32 GB RAM, NVIDIA GTX 760, 14x internal HDD, HD SPARK, Sound Blaster Audigy, LG DVD-RW, WINDOWS 10 x64.

Last edited by dolby; 01-19-2019 at 12:23 PM.
dolby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 06:12 PM   #2
johannesj
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Iceland
Posts: 471
Default

My way is using separated tracks for each Audio channel with them all centered.
All pan and volume settings are then done in Pro Tools.
__________________
JoiCam´s
Edit station1: i7 6700K 4 ghz, 32gb ram, Edius 9 Workgroup, Davinci Resolve studio 14.x , 8GB GPU & Intensity Pro 4K
2: 17" Laptop i7 w: Edius 9 Workgroup
3: HPxw8600 dual 3ghz Xeon, STORM 3G, , Edius 7, 32 GB ram.
4: Edius 7, Supermicro x7da8 dual 3ghz Xeon.
Audio: Protools & Nuendo, M-Audio and Presonus interfaces, control surfaces and preamps, dual 3ghz Xeon. 16gb Ram.
Studio monitoring: Mackie 1402-VLZ Pro mixer and Mackie HR824 Spk. Panasonic surround system.
And more
johannesj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2019, 06:11 AM   #3
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,470
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dolby View Post
Why we cannot export to OMF? OMF is standart in film industry and this solution works perfectly in Avid or Premiere.
OMF is not the standard in the film industry I work in here in North America. AAF has replaced OMF as a preferred transfer method because it does not have the same file size and track count limitations that OMF has.

AAF also works well in Avid, Edius, Resolve, Mistika, RIO, and many other softwares, Although the implementation in Premiere has been a little odd, since the AAF id the project, not just the timeline, (I don't know if that issue has been remedied or not).
__________________
Edius WG 9.50.5351, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2019, 06:16 AM   #4
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,470
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johannesj View Post
My way is using separated tracks for each Audio channel with them all centered.
All pan and volume settings are then done in Pro Tools.
This is also the way we tend to work.

Audio that is tweaked in picture edit is only used as a guide for replication in the sound edit and mix, since a DAW will tend to do a much better job on sound than an NLE and an NLE will do a much better job on Picture, considering most DAW's can't really do anything with picture except playback.
__________________
Edius WG 9.50.5351, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2019, 08:19 AM   #5
dolby
Member
 
dolby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
Posts: 56
Default

The problem is that AAF export from Edius is not including the volume settings for further audio postroduction. There is only one way to burn the volume settings into new rendered files, but this is a destructive process. During a editing the movie I need to make basic sound edit and then move to the audio mixing software. Why we can only save the PAN settings from timeline. Where is the problem to save the VOLUME settings also? The Avid, Premiere can do this.
__________________
Miro Remo
www.miroremo.com

GIGABYTE x79 UD4, Intel Core i7 i3930k @4200 Mhz, 32 GB RAM, NVIDIA GTX 760, 14x internal HDD, HD SPARK, Sound Blaster Audigy, LG DVD-RW, WINDOWS 10 x64.
dolby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2019, 04:59 PM   #6
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,470
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dolby View Post
The problem is that AAF export from Edius is not including the volume settings for further audio postroduction. There is only one way to burn the volume settings into new rendered files, but this is a destructive process. During a editing the movie I need to make basic sound edit and then move to the audio mixing software. Why we can only save the PAN settings from timeline. Where is the problem to save the VOLUME settings also? The Avid, Premiere can do this.
That is a feature of what data is put in the AAF. This is something that can be adjusted by the software engineers. It does not mean that OMF would do it but AAF won't as you suggested. If anything, as I suggested AAF is a better option since it is not as restrictive.

While I agree that the ability to enable this feature like the pan setting is not a bad thing to have, if you and or others want it, you should follow the instructions in the feature request sticky to submit the request to the forum moderators.
__________________
Edius WG 9.50.5351, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2019, 06:34 PM   #7
JohnnyD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles CA
Posts: 715
Default

Fairlight in Davinci Resolve is a very powerful audio solution. For audio work, that's all I'm using. Pretty amazing software. Don't know if it fits your needs.
__________________
Edius7, 4790K, 16G, Win7, GTX970ti MatroxLE
2nd Sys.,Edius5.51, 2700K, 16G, GTX1060, Win7
Atari 400
JohnFellersProd
JohnnyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best AAF settings for export to Premiere Seemedia Editing with EDIUS 4 05-08-2017 09:55 AM
Short cut to zero pan and/or volume dougcollins Editing with EDIUS 8 09-06-2014 05:18 PM
AAF export with rubber bands settings from Edius smartyarts Editing with EDIUS 9 03-17-2014 06:37 PM
what's the best AAF export settings for perfect sound mixing process? lmseomer Editing with EDIUS 6 01-27-2012 11:11 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:23 AM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.