Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-12-2018, 01:21 AM   #21
Steady Hand
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lukboruta View Post
It is sad for older gen Intel processors owners that h265 will work with 6 and 7th gen Intel processors only. Why it is impossible to do software based hevc exporter?
Well, I think it's good that the new processors can do it with hardware support. The question is: Would you be happy if the processor could encode one to ten frames per second in software? Or: How many hours are you willing to wait for encoding a video?
Steady Hand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2018, 07:58 AM   #22
noafilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 742
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steady Hand View Post
Would you be happy if the processor could encode one to ten frames per second in software
I have no need for h265 encodes but I did do some testing in handbrake with the x265 codec and with my threadripper I get between 50 to 60 frames per second from a HQXAVI file using the x265 codec and variable bitrate, processor usage is around 60%. Not sure if this is representative for general x265 encoding but if it is I can imagine why some with today's multicore processors need that x265 codec to work inside Edius.
noafilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2019, 09:18 PM   #23
Jean Bernard
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: France
Posts: 6
Default

Hello,
I am a new member on this forum and I get the same message. My machine is win10, with i7 8700K and 32 GB
Quick Sync is active and I can not export anything to HEVC.
Can you explain why?
Should Quick Time be installed?
Thanks for your help
Jean Bernard
Jean Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 11:17 PM   #24
Lada
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CZ
Posts: 28
Default

Is the HEVC export still available only through the QUickSync in Edius ? Or is there an option to use CPU now?
Lada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2019, 01:01 AM   #25
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,471
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jean Bernard View Post
Hello,
I am a new member on this forum and I get the same message. My machine is win10, with i7 8700K and 32 GB
Quick Sync is active and I can not export anything to HEVC.
Can you explain why?
Should Quick Time be installed?
Thanks for your help
Jean Bernard
The quicksync implementation in edius is very picky over the intel gpu driver. I suspect your driver version is probably one that Edius does not like.

If you do some forum searches for recommended drivers, there have been lots of post in the past, or perhaps someone with an 8700K can report their driver version to you.

Keep in mind though that Win10 by default will likely try to update the driver to the newest version.

I'd suggest you follow the Win10 tweak guide that Jerry has linked in his signature
__________________
Edius WG 9.50.5351, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2019, 09:48 AM   #26
Crespel
Senior Member
 
Crespel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 376
Default

The easiest way to output H265 8Bit and 10Bit HW accelerated(in my case 0,6 real time) is to use a Edius HQX or XAVC-I File in Resolve Studio 15.2.2 with driver 399.24 provided you have a NVIDIA GPU of the 1000 series.
This will also include HDR Metadata for UHD BD purposes.
__________________
_________________________________
Triple boot:Win10/Win10/Win10/I7-5930K/GTX780/1TB SW RAID:1000MB Read-Write/15TB Video RAID:650MB Read-Write/Intel X550
Triple boot:Win7/Win10/Win10/I7-6950X/GTX1080/SW:M.2 5300MB Read-2100MB Write/15TB Video RAID:850MB Read-Write/BMD 4K Extreme
both on: 10Gbps Media sharing Network, 10Gbps NAS

Last edited by Crespel; 01-18-2019 at 10:05 AM.
Crespel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2019, 12:42 PM   #27
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,931
Default

Handbrake is your friend!

Andreas
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2019, 01:15 PM   #28
Crespel
Senior Member
 
Crespel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 376
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andreas_Gumm View Post
Handbrake is your friend!

Andreas
Andreas,

yes, Handbrake was my friend - earlier.
But now Resolve is better because of exportimg HDR Metadata according to
Project settings and HW acceleration.
__________________
_________________________________
Triple boot:Win10/Win10/Win10/I7-5930K/GTX780/1TB SW RAID:1000MB Read-Write/15TB Video RAID:650MB Read-Write/Intel X550
Triple boot:Win7/Win10/Win10/I7-6950X/GTX1080/SW:M.2 5300MB Read-2100MB Write/15TB Video RAID:850MB Read-Write/BMD 4K Extreme
both on: 10Gbps Media sharing Network, 10Gbps NAS
Crespel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2019, 02:01 PM   #29
Lada
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CZ
Posts: 28
Default

can you please see my question, Thanks
Lada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2019, 10:59 PM   #30
herwigl
Member
 
herwigl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lada View Post
Is the HEVC export still available only through the QUickSync in Edius ? Or is there an option to use CPU now?
Yes, exclusively through the Intel QuickSync.
It would be great if they would add NVIDIA NVENC as an option, especially for those users with X99 and X299 MB's for which their CPU do not have the QuickSync available. It would save a lot off time encoding even H.264 and H.265(HVEC)
__________________
Herwig
Edius WG 9.31.4196, Edius WG 8.53.3262, i7-5820K Haswell-E 6-core, Asus Sabertooth X99, 32GB RAM, Nvidea Gforce GTX 1060 6GB, Win10Pro x64, Dell U3417W (using Edius since v Pro3.61)
herwigl is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
H265 steelej Editing with EDIUS 21 03-03-2017 01:06 PM
Processors comparison, please :-) Themis Gyparis EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 12 06-20-2015 04:28 AM
Avchd with dual processors? ralphbowman Editing with EDIUS 4 11-23-2012 11:40 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:29 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.