Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2016, 03:43 AM   #1
baddgsx
Senior Member
 
baddgsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 484
Default 10bit codecs that work well from Resolve to Edius

Hi friends,

I have to export my 4K Cinema DNG files from Resolve to Edius 8WG because the color science is decoded correctly. Edius still hasent resolved this problem. Hopefully in the future this will be corrected.

I would like to transform my 12bit file into a 10bit codec that decodes in the Edius 10bit timeline correctly? Which works best in Edius for quality out of these three codecs, cineform yuv 10bit, h.264 , or dnxhd220?

Thanks,
Chris
__________________
Proud user of EDIUS!

Last edited by baddgsx; 11-24-2016 at 04:33 AM.
baddgsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2016, 06:08 AM   #2
Seemedia
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 731
Default

Try DNxHR 444
__________________
Pawel Chyrowski

Edius 9 Workgroup

Writer/Director. Director of Photography. Motion Picture and Sound Editor. Colorist.

https://facebook.com/chyrowski
https://www.youtube.com/c/PawelChyrowski
https://vimeo.com/pawelchyrowski
Seemedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2016, 07:15 AM   #3
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,931
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by baddgsx View Post
I would like to transform my 12bit file into a 10bit codec that decodes in the Edius 10bit timeline correctly? Which works best in Edius for quality out of these three codecs, cineform yuv 10bit, h.264 , or dnxhd220?
The capabilities for proper 10bit Edius <-> Resolve workflow are very limited
since Blackmagic removed HQX MOV export. Resolve by itself has a lot 10bit
export capabilities which can't be used or archived to Edius.

Edius 10bit import/export capabilities are sadly very limited, especially when
4k resolution is wanted. Edius can use these additional MOV codecs if QuickTime
is still connected (Edius settings) and the desired QT codec is installed:
- Avid DNxHD, DNxHR
- Cineform
- V210 (should work)
It is totally unkown if these codecs are really getting passed at 10bit through
Edius engine to the timeline and if there are color shifts or not. We had issues
in past with AVID and Cineform codecs. V210 is limited to FullHD and you will
end up with getting huge file size. AVI codecs can't be really trusted except
HQX and V210 because no one knows if 10bit gets passed to Edius over VfW-API.

DNxHD in MXF supports DNxHD only, not DNxHR and its supported in Edius
8 Workgroup edition only. But at least DNxHD works fine in Edius 8 Workgroup
Edition, but it is known to be limited to FullHD resolution. An MXF flavour of
DNxHR is not yet supported.

Image sequence support in Edius is very very limited. Some formats are supported
to be read at 10bit, but export is generally limited to 8bit color depth! That's the
result after a redesign of the image export engine!

My guess is to either do color correction in Edius and stay in Edius
or do color correction in Resolve and stay with Resolve or use another NLE
that provides more flexible 10bit or 12bit import / export options.

Andreas
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2016, 07:19 AM   #4
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,931
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seemedia View Post
Try DNxHR 444
Can these files be read without color shift at 10 bit in Edius?
That would be a good alternative.

It's neccessary to keep the QuickTime API acticvated to be able to work with the codec.

Andreas
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2016, 08:31 AM   #5
AlbertGS
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Africa
Posts: 39
Default

I may be wrong but I thought Resolve now supports GV HQX??
AlbertGS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2016, 09:47 AM   #6
Seemedia
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 731
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andreas_Gumm View Post
Can these files be read without color shift at 10 bit in Edius?
That would be a good alternative.

It's neccessary to keep the QuickTime API acticvated to be able to work with the codec.

Andreas
I haven't noticed color shifting, Andreas.
__________________
Pawel Chyrowski

Edius 9 Workgroup

Writer/Director. Director of Photography. Motion Picture and Sound Editor. Colorist.

https://facebook.com/chyrowski
https://www.youtube.com/c/PawelChyrowski
https://vimeo.com/pawelchyrowski
Seemedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2016, 12:27 PM   #7
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,931
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by More4K View Post
Cineform never worked at 10bit.
v210 MOV should be rock solid, but huge files.
So we are still in the same helpless situation.
HOW TO PASS FOOTAGE PROPERLY FROM/TO EDIUS?

Andreas
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2016, 12:51 PM   #8
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,931
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by More4K View Post
Use Premiere :)
Don't want a foot chain! ;)
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2016, 11:44 AM   #9
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,713
Default

I am pretty sure it was Resolve 12.5.2 that stopped importing using QuickTime for Windows so go back to 12.5.1 and use that. I have been trying various other formats from EDIUS and if you do not install QuickTime for Windows the range of formats is quite small. Uncompressed V210 AVIs work, although exporting an AAF using this format does not.

If you install QuickTime for Windows the best option is probably DNxHR but EDIUS will not import this footage without the QuickTime importer option ticked.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2016, 12:37 PM   #10
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,931
Default

I hope that GV agrees one time to the idea that giving BM access to the native HQX code is the best idea!

Andreas
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius -> Resolve | HFR and 10bit czdodo Editing with EDIUS 4 06-19-2016 01:44 PM
Workflow Edius to Resolve alanlacey Editing with EDIUS 4 10-19-2015 06:54 PM
Edius 7 to Resolve NakedEye Editing with EDIUS 22 11-11-2014 04:38 PM
Best EDIUS output for Resolve Lite AJL14 Editing with EDIUS 19 09-09-2014 10:37 PM
how to work da vinci resolve lite in edius 5.5 pbskasaa Editing with EDIUS 1 07-07-2013 07:35 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:40 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.