Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2015, 11:46 PM   #1
Harro
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Geelong, Victoria/Australia
Posts: 758
Default Fish Eye Correction

I just purchased a Sony FDR x1000v ActionCam and would like to correct the fisheye distortion. Is a distortion correction filter available in Edius? I have looked at all the effects but can see nothing that looks like it will do the job. Premier Pro and After Effects (CS6) have these correction effects available, but not for 4k files, ProDAD Defisher works reasonably well, and I cannot get NewBlue Essentials 3 Trial to install, so was wondering what Edius can do with the 4k file and lens correction. Any suggestions for a pure Edius only approach?
__________________
i7 3930K, Win 10 pro 64 Bit.
RAM 32 GB.
ASUS P9X79-Deluxe.
PS Thermaltake 1kW.
Graphics Gigabyte GT680 OC.
OS:Intel 535 SSD 480 GB, Data: two 2TB WD Cavier Black, RAID 0.
Cameras: Sony EX1, AX100, x1000v, A7R2, DJI Mavic 2 Pro
SW: Edius v8.53 WG, Vegas 17 Pro, CS6, Resolve Studio 15, Hitfilm 2017, Sound Forge 13, SpectraLayers Pro v2.1, Neat Video v5, Vistitle 2.8.5 TMPEnc VMWorks 7, Auth. Works 6, MochaPro v4.1, PluralEyes 2.1.0, Robuskey, DVD Architect 7, 3D LUT Creator.
Harro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 12:15 AM   #2
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,547
Default

Have you already had a trial of NB Essentials on that system? If so, that is probably the reason it won't install.

There is a new package called Essentials 3 that has the lens corrector included.
You can get the trial here: https://www.newbluefx.com/essentials-3?view=downloads
Hopefully, this one will install for you.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 12:58 AM   #3
Harro
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Geelong, Victoria/Australia
Posts: 758
Default

Thanks for the response Jerry. I do have Colourfast, NewBlue Vidio Essentials III and V paid for and installed, I downloaded the new Essentials 3 but that does not install, I get the message what do I want to open it with (tried Edius 7) but that does not work. I have been in touch with NewBlue and hopefully they will be able to help me to install the trial.
__________________
i7 3930K, Win 10 pro 64 Bit.
RAM 32 GB.
ASUS P9X79-Deluxe.
PS Thermaltake 1kW.
Graphics Gigabyte GT680 OC.
OS:Intel 535 SSD 480 GB, Data: two 2TB WD Cavier Black, RAID 0.
Cameras: Sony EX1, AX100, x1000v, A7R2, DJI Mavic 2 Pro
SW: Edius v8.53 WG, Vegas 17 Pro, CS6, Resolve Studio 15, Hitfilm 2017, Sound Forge 13, SpectraLayers Pro v2.1, Neat Video v5, Vistitle 2.8.5 TMPEnc VMWorks 7, Auth. Works 6, MochaPro v4.1, PluralEyes 2.1.0, Robuskey, DVD Architect 7, 3D LUT Creator.
Harro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 12:54 PM   #4
rob stowell
Senior Member
 
rob stowell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chch New Zealand
Posts: 580
Default

Interested to hear if anyone has had much luck with the New Blue fish-eye lens plug-in. I haven't been able to get decent results to date.
Worth trying, if you have photoshop, the photoshop lens distortion tool. I was surprised to find this works on video (suprised because I just didn't think photoshop was a video tool - I think it came it with CS5).
I haven't been able to access them, but I understand there are presets for a range of different cameras that work well with a minimum of fuss.
__________________
Work: Edius 7.20.437 on HP Z220 workstation; Edius 6.08 on i7 running Win 7 64 bit 6 GB RAM. Neo 2.0 on a Lenovo T61. JVC GY-HD201 and GY-HD110.
Home: Canon HV20 and Panasonic GH1 (hacked); Neo 3.01 on HP elitebook 8440p i7 and Neo 1 on homemade dualcore desktop.
rob stowell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 01:53 PM   #5
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,547
Default

Rob, the NB Lens Corrector works really well within Edius.
NB Lens Correction.mp4
Notice that it plays in real time. There are presets but I find the Distortion knob just as easy.
I could have spent more time on this, but you see that you can make changes quickly and easily.

Photoshop will work with presets, but it doesn't have the latitude in manual that After Effects does. I prefer After Effects to other options.
But, having access to a working plugin that is realtime within Edius does have it's advantages.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.

Last edited by Jerry; 04-13-2015 at 06:54 PM.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 11:01 PM   #6
Harro
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Geelong, Victoria/Australia
Posts: 758
Default

I have tried ProDAD Defisher, NewBlue lens correction, AE and Prem Pro (Both CS6) and HitFilm Pro 3. The AE and Prem Pro (CS6) work well up to HD, (could not find anything the worked with UHD). ProDAD Defisher worked very well (HD and UHD), NewBlue was OK (HD and UHD), but not as good as ProDAD Defisher. The most useful one I found was HitFilms Pro 3, worked very well with HD and UHD and as I already own it, was not an additional expense. If I has to purchase one, I it would be the ProDAD Defisher. Download the trial and you will see what I mean.
__________________
i7 3930K, Win 10 pro 64 Bit.
RAM 32 GB.
ASUS P9X79-Deluxe.
PS Thermaltake 1kW.
Graphics Gigabyte GT680 OC.
OS:Intel 535 SSD 480 GB, Data: two 2TB WD Cavier Black, RAID 0.
Cameras: Sony EX1, AX100, x1000v, A7R2, DJI Mavic 2 Pro
SW: Edius v8.53 WG, Vegas 17 Pro, CS6, Resolve Studio 15, Hitfilm 2017, Sound Forge 13, SpectraLayers Pro v2.1, Neat Video v5, Vistitle 2.8.5 TMPEnc VMWorks 7, Auth. Works 6, MochaPro v4.1, PluralEyes 2.1.0, Robuskey, DVD Architect 7, 3D LUT Creator.

Last edited by Harro; 04-14-2015 at 09:14 AM.
Harro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 11:14 PM   #7
rodpike
Senior Member
 
rodpike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: An Englishman in New Zealand
Posts: 439
Default

Hi all, I also have Prodad defishr and it is very simple , has lens parameter adjustments and works well. However it is stand alone so you have to do your corrections outside of Edius and then import your corrected image.
Cheers!
Rod
__________________
Rod Pike

www.voxvideoproductions.co.nz
A set of high quality paint brushes don't make you Rembrandt!


Windows7-Edius 6.55-HDspark-VISTITLE v2.5.TMPGenc 5.vitascene v2-mercalli V2-Respeedr v1-Intel core i7 4770 8mb quad core processor-Asus Gryphon Z87 mobo- 16Gb ram-1 x samsung 256gb SSD 840 pro sata-2xWD 1tb sata caviar blue in raid 0-ASUS gtx 760 overclocked 2gb graphics card. Asus DRW 24 DVDRW DVD player-Cameras:Panasonic AC160A and AF102. and an 8kg cat who sleeps on my desk all day.
rodpike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 02:43 AM   #8
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,547
Default

Just to be clear, After Effects CC 2014.2 handles 4k quite well. If you are comparing Hitfilm Pro 3 against AE, at least use the current version for a fair assessment.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 09:11 AM   #9
Harro
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Geelong, Victoria/Australia
Posts: 758
Default

To clarify even further, my post did mention that it was CS6 that I was using AE and Prem Pro with. Since I do no have, or wish to have, the Creative Cloud versions of these programs, I cannot comment on their use with 4K clips. I can only comment on the use of software that I own.
__________________
i7 3930K, Win 10 pro 64 Bit.
RAM 32 GB.
ASUS P9X79-Deluxe.
PS Thermaltake 1kW.
Graphics Gigabyte GT680 OC.
OS:Intel 535 SSD 480 GB, Data: two 2TB WD Cavier Black, RAID 0.
Cameras: Sony EX1, AX100, x1000v, A7R2, DJI Mavic 2 Pro
SW: Edius v8.53 WG, Vegas 17 Pro, CS6, Resolve Studio 15, Hitfilm 2017, Sound Forge 13, SpectraLayers Pro v2.1, Neat Video v5, Vistitle 2.8.5 TMPEnc VMWorks 7, Auth. Works 6, MochaPro v4.1, PluralEyes 2.1.0, Robuskey, DVD Architect 7, 3D LUT Creator.
Harro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 08:43 PM   #10
Barry C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 213
Default

Defishr, is a great way to go. Yes, it would be nice if Edius included this feature, but since it doesn't, DeFishr is the answer. Since all of my work is 3D, I have to correct both L/R separately. When I first got Defishr, I was concerned that there would be slight inconsistencies between the output of the two files. Fortunately, no problem. Defishr is consistant and predictable.
Barry C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fish Eye Reduction DigitalDave Editing with EDIUS 7 01-20-2015 08:02 PM
Eye Dropper tool in Layouter ColorSelect dougcollins Editing with EDIUS 2 11-14-2013 01:40 AM
Swap left and right eye of AVCHD MVC stream DirkVoorhoeve Editing with EDIUS 3 09-28-2012 09:25 AM
Operation Fish Eye & Shake Olaf Editing with EDIUS 4 01-31-2011 11:17 PM
how effect can make a video like fish eye ?? amankerstudio Editing with EDIUS 2 06-17-2008 07:31 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.