Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2013, 08:03 PM   #41
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,902
Default

I am still on 6.07 mainly for TMPro titling so Edius 7 looks good to me as unlike lots of users I have no plugins at all. Improvements for multicam will be good. Blackmagic card support will be good as they are also supported in Vegas and Adobe Suite which I also use and already 64bit. When will 7 be available? Will make myself a new PC and put the Spark on the second PC with 6.07 for titling with TMPro.

Ron Evans
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 08:34 PM   #42
Zorro
Senior Member
 
Zorro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vienna
Posts: 2,089
Default

Mark, which 32bit plugins are you using in 6.54? Eg all the ProDAD stuff can be used in Edius 7.
Zorro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 08:49 PM   #43
dnavas
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: San Jose
Posts: 178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by msvideo View Post
A bit of a non starter of an upgrade for the majority of 6.5 users?...
"Faster handling of large quantities of still image files (JPG, TGA, DPX, and others)" does not intrigue you? If that means no more fussing with 3rd party software for images, that would be awesome.

64bit with a more open platform is great, even if it doesn't help us immediately. I'd love to have Sony's 240fps 2k/60fps 4k sensor available in a camera and push the bits through this s/w :) The current 60fps footage I shoot @ sporting events is frequently not fast enough, or suffers from lack of resolution if I pan back far enough to get context. Editing choices on 4k footage will be awesome, once it's affordable to non-movie-makers like myself :>

Only remaining issue I have is the continuing choice between 105x-based platforms, and 2011 ones :( An integrated 2-pass encoder accelerated on a video card would make it a lot easier to justify the money I'd like to spend on a 2011-based system. Still, this seems like a quite worthy upgrade to me, but then I'll also be getting all of the 6.5 features I passed on last go-around, as the main event there seemed to have been 3D. There were nonetheless very nice features that I'd enjoy having....

-Dave
__________________
1800X @3.9G, 16GB Win7 / 2950X 32GB Win10, Gigabyte GTX 970 (IXOC), dual EA275UHD, QNAP 873 (w/10GbE). Video source typically HC-X1 or Panny TM700; Audio DR-701D and Rode NT4. Edius 8.5 WG w/ Vistitle & TmpGenC.
dnavas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 09:18 PM   #44
Albatros
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Munich
Posts: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zorro View Post
Mark, which 32bit plugins are you using in 6.54? Eg all the ProDAD stuff can be used in Edius 7.
Sorry but I can't understand, all Prodad pugins for 6.54b (Mercalli, Heroglyph and Vitascene) are 32 bit. How can I get this working for 64 bit??
Albatros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 09:30 PM   #45
Zorro
Senior Member
 
Zorro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vienna
Posts: 2,089
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Albatros View Post
Sorry but I can't understand, all Prodad pugins for 6.54b (Mercalli, Heroglyph and Vitascene) are 32 bit. How can I get this working for 64 bit??
If you own the full versions of Mercalli, Vitascene, Adorage and Heroglyph for Edius 6.5x you can already download the 64bit versions which include the plugin for Edius 7.
Zorro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 09:38 PM   #46
GrassValley_PS
Moderator
 
GrassValley_PS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,723
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by msvideo View Post
...7 seems focused for high end TV studios: "GV Stratus" etc.

A bit of a non starter of an upgrade for the majority of 6.5 users?...
I had to chuckle at that one. How many stations do you know that use 4K? Other than third party card support (which I assume everyone likes), there is not a lot mentioned here that is for Stratus specifically or Broadcast in general. Their benefits would be the same as everyone else's.

As always, there will be some things that certain groups will have a tremendous interest in, while not so much for others.
__________________
Main System: i7 6950X OC to 4.5GHz, ASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10, Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB DDR4 2800, SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB , GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, Corsair AX1200i PS, Phanteks Luxe Case, 16TB RAID (4)HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB, Corsair H115i CPU Cooler, AJA Kona 4, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Win 10
GrassValley_PS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 10:00 PM   #47
Harro
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Geelong, Victoria/Australia
Posts: 758
Default

64 bit software is enough reason for me to move from v6.08 to v7.x.
__________________
i7 3930K, Win 10 pro 64 Bit.
RAM 32 GB.
ASUS P9X79-Deluxe.
PS Thermaltake 1kW.
Graphics Gigabyte GT680 OC.
OS:Intel 535 SSD 480 GB, Data: two 2TB WD Cavier Black, RAID 0.
Cameras: Sony EX1, AX100, x1000v, A7R2, DJI Mavic 2 Pro
SW: Edius v8.53 WG, Vegas 17 Pro, CS6, Resolve Studio 15, Hitfilm 2017, Sound Forge 13, SpectraLayers Pro v2.1, Neat Video v5, Vistitle 2.8.5 TMPEnc VMWorks 7, Auth. Works 6, MochaPro v4.1, PluralEyes 2.1.0, Robuskey, DVD Architect 7, 3D LUT Creator.
Harro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 10:15 PM   #48
rando
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 2,300
Default

Any word on a better DVD author tool? Is there a straight forward list yet of features that 7.0 has that 6.5 doesnt?
__________________
Randy

Asus sabertooth MB Z97 16 gigs of ram SSD system and edit drives Nvidia GTX-660 video card
rando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 10:17 PM   #49
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,931
Default

No,
there is nothing new in DVD Author Tool! ;)

Andreas
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 10:18 PM   #50
Albatros
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Munich
Posts: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zorro View Post
If you own the full versions of Mercalli, Vitascene, Adorage and Heroglyph for Edius 6.5x you can already download the 64bit versions which include the plugin for Edius 7.
Thank you for this info
Albatros is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius SP for HDV/Edius HD & win 7 pro x64 nomizee EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 7 07-05-2016 01:07 PM
GrassValley Edius NX Express With Edius Pro V4 & Bonus volt EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 0 01-31-2012 03:16 PM
Edius pro 3.5 to Edius 5.11 upgrade issue Artimedia EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 11 12-20-2009 05:57 PM
Edius Pro 4.51c & Edius Neo Compatibility Aristotelis Editing with EDIUS 1 09-07-2007 06:30 AM
Can Edius Pro 3 support WIn XP PRO (64bit)? 3gems Editing with EDIUS 6 09-03-2007 10:09 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.