Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-11-2010, 02:57 AM   #1
dip79
Member
 
dip79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Posts: 30
Default X58 Chipset Mainboard & FCB

I Have a Asus P6T Del V2 Mainboard Running Intel X980 CPU (Extreme), i am Having Problems Within Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit running Eduis 5.51. I cannot seem to use my Firecoder Blu Card... Can Someone Help Please “No Hardware Found” But its Listed in Device Manager and Running Fine.

Full Specs: -
ASUS P6T Del V2 with New BIOS Update, Intel X980 CPU, 12GB DDR3 Ram, 2 x 2TB HDD, nVidia Quardo Video Card, NX PCIeX Canopus Card, Firecoder Blu PCIx, Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit, Adobe CS5 Package, 1100Watt Power Supply, Pioneer Blue Ray Burner, 2 LCD 24" Screens

Here’s Something that is really Strange…

I Have 2 System the Same as Above, the Only Difference is that i Am Running Windows 7 Ultimate 32Bit, and the Firecoder Blu Card is Running Fine...
Both Systems are Setup the Same, and Cards are placed in the same order on both systems. The Only Difference is Windows 7 ULI 32 & Windows 7 ULI 64Bit, I have been reading that there is no different, so way would I get this error?

Same System Specs as Posted Above....

Last edited by dip79; 09-11-2010 at 03:20 AM.
dip79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 03:40 AM   #2
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,503
Default

Which slot do you have the FCB in?

I also tested this board with FCB, this is what I found

http://ediusforum.grassvalley.com/fo...&highlight=P6T
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 06:33 PM   #3
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,553
Default

Isn't the X980 faster than the FCB card?
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 10:28 AM   #4
NakedEye
Senior Member
 
NakedEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,569
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry View Post
Isn't the X980 faster than the FCB card?
Not with H.264.

Dave.
__________________
Main Editor - Edius 8.53 AdobeCC Mini Monitor 4K Intel X99P SLI Intel Core i7 6800K CPU Gigabyte GTX980 SanDisk Ultra Video SSD 1XINTEL System SSD 16GB Kingston DDR4 2400 RAM VisTitle 2.8 Onboard Sound 10GBE LAN WIN10Pro 64bit

Encoding - Gigabyte Z97X Gaming GT Intel 4790K CPU Gigabyte GTX550Ti Gigabyte GTX980 Western Digital HDD's LG Blu-ray drive, 16GB Kingston DDR3 1600 RAM BMD Mini Monitor 4K Edius 8.53 Creative Cloud Win 10 64bit Pro
www.nakedeyedv.com
NakedEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 12:41 PM   #5
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,553
Default

I guess I would be curious to know how much faster the card was as compared to the 980x. I see a limited life span for the FCB as compared to processor speed enhancement.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 11:30 AM   #6
dip79
Member
 
dip79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shueardm View Post
Which slot do you have the FCB in?

I also tested this board with FCB, this is what I found

http://ediusforum.grassvalley.com/fo...&highlight=P6T
Many thanks Mate, i will try and get back to you soon mate....
dip79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 11:35 AM   #7
dip79
Member
 
dip79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NakedEye View Post
Not with H.264.

Dave.
the FCB Card is Alot Quicker in Render times, and Burns Together using the Software Which comes with the CARD.... without the Card a Video which is about 1Hr in Timeline may take 15Min to render and burn with the FCB, and about 25Min with X980, then u have to still use a Different Program to Encode to a DVD (Like Encore) which is further a 20 to 30 Min Wait again... So Using the FCB Card Saves Time and Makes Walk flow faster in general... Its a Really Good Card and it would be a Shame to see it go...
dip79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 10:08 AM   #8
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,553
Default

That time frame is not that bad. I don't understand the extra time to go to Encore. That file, according to Mark, will go right into Encore CS5 without reencoding for BD.
If you are talking for DVD and not BD, I know the 980x will smoke through an mpeg 2 in no time.
My understanding is that the FCB card is of no use with mpeg2.
A Blu-ray file exported from E6 will also go into CS5. It will go into CS3 and CS4 just by demuxing the audio.

I would prefer to invest in a fast processor, that works on many things, as opposed to a card that is purely for one program and will probably be eclisped in the next round of processor speed hikes.

If you have an older machine, the card is a must. With a 980x I would just fire it up and walk away.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.

Last edited by Jerry; 09-15-2010 at 11:15 AM.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 12:23 PM   #9
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,503
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry View Post
. I don't understand the extra time to go to Encore. That file, according to Mark, will go right into Encore CS5 without reencoding for BD.
.
ah yes it does BUT Encore still takes forever to scan the file before approving it. :(
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 10:44 PM   #10
NakedEye
Senior Member
 
NakedEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,569
Default

Hi Jerry

There are other advantages to the FCB as well, one being the ability to continue working comfotably whilst encoding.....when using the cpu to encode it is almost a chore to work in another program or even in Edius.

Dave.
__________________
Main Editor - Edius 8.53 AdobeCC Mini Monitor 4K Intel X99P SLI Intel Core i7 6800K CPU Gigabyte GTX980 SanDisk Ultra Video SSD 1XINTEL System SSD 16GB Kingston DDR4 2400 RAM VisTitle 2.8 Onboard Sound 10GBE LAN WIN10Pro 64bit

Encoding - Gigabyte Z97X Gaming GT Intel 4790K CPU Gigabyte GTX550Ti Gigabyte GTX980 Western Digital HDD's LG Blu-ray drive, 16GB Kingston DDR3 1600 RAM BMD Mini Monitor 4K Edius 8.53 Creative Cloud Win 10 64bit Pro
www.nakedeyedv.com
NakedEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius & FCB for fast turnaround HD NakedEye EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 4 07-30-2010 12:28 PM
Private Warning: FCB incompatible with the (most) current i7 X58 Motherboard's CentralEurope FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus 18 07-03-2010 04:03 PM
incorrect data on the new FCB Site ==> concerning Asus P6T De Luxe X58 Board CentralEurope FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus 2 09-11-2009 12:29 AM
Edius DVX-E1 and compatibility with X58 chipset and i7 CPU ignis75 EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 1 12-21-2008 09:21 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.