Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2009, 09:26 AM   #1
daxodax
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1
Default Macbook pro + Edius 5?

Hello,

I want change my tool for editing with edius 5, intend change to a Macbook pro(newest). Have somebody experienced how works this combination? or its not a good alternative to Sony vaio notebook(core2duo T7500)?

thanks for insiders information,
daxodax
daxodax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 09:41 AM   #2
Aristotelis
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Thomastown, Ireland
Posts: 665
Default

hp 8730w
this is the perfect laptop for Edius... it is also recommended from GV
__________________
Aristotelis Bafaloukos
Systems Engineer, Video Editor, 3D Artist
BEng (Hons), MSc, MBCS

Ctrl+Alt+Delete
Aristotelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 03:50 PM   #3
pjsssss
Senior Member
 
pjsssss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 4,996
Default

One of our laptops is a MacBook Pro and Edius works fine on the windows side with Bootcamp.
pjsssss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 05:04 PM   #4
Rusty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,399
Default

The Mac keyboard is a little quirky to get used to with Edius.
__________________
Rusty Rogers | Films
>TYAN S7025 - 32GB RAM, 2 x Xeon X5690's, 4 x 10k video HD's, Win10 x64, BM DecklinkHD, nVidia TITAN, 12TB DroboPro w/iSCISI connection
>RAZER BLADE - QHD+ - 16GB RAM, i7-6700HQ Quad, 512GB SSD, Win10 x64, GeForce GTX 1060 6GB

An inglorious peace is better than a dishonorable war.
Twain - "Glances at History" 1906
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 05:31 PM   #5
Aristotelis
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Thomastown, Ireland
Posts: 665
Default

also if you want to work without a usb mouse there is no simple way to right click!!! thats the most annoying thing in macbooks running windows...
__________________
Aristotelis Bafaloukos
Systems Engineer, Video Editor, 3D Artist
BEng (Hons), MSc, MBCS

Ctrl+Alt+Delete
Aristotelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 10:31 PM   #6
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,812
Default

You can get a bluetooth keyboard and mouse (Logitech, etc) and use it with the MBP, even under Windows.

Just beware that the 15" MBP's all have glossy displays now, so it might be distracting. The 17" one can be ordered with a Matte display.
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 02:45 AM   #7
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aristotelis View Post
also if you want to work without a usb mouse there is no simple way to right click!!! thats the most annoying thing in macbooks running windows...
You press the "equivalent" of ALT key on the keyboard, then press the mouse button - that's RIGHT CLICK with the Mac Mouse !!!
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 02:52 AM   #8
pjsssss
Senior Member
 
pjsssss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 4,996
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aristotelis View Post
also if you want to work without a usb mouse there is no simple way to right click!!! thats the most annoying thing in macbooks running windows...
??? A regular USB mouse rt click works fine. The "delete" key is the toughest to get used to. It works as a PC's Backspace key. To Delete, you have to use fn+delete.
pjsssss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 02:54 AM   #9
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

Yes - that's right. I used to have a Powerbook G3 once ...
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 03:32 AM   #10
Mr Bill
Senior Member
 
Mr Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 321
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aristotelis View Post
also if you want to work without a usb mouse there is no simple way to right click!!!
that's the most annoying thing in macbooks running windows...
Right Click . . . Simple, just place 3 fingers on the track pad and press.
(only two fingers are needed when working within Apple's OS)
I use the latest MacBook (not Pro) and Edius 5 works perfectly on it.
__________________
.
GESTOS PRODUCTIONS
www.gpvideo.com.au
Mr Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius and Premiere Pro (CS4) in the same machine sherri@tidychaos.c Editing with EDIUS 4 11-09-2008 12:19 AM
Edius NX ADVC + Premiere Pro CS3 ? strikemercury Editing with EDIUS 7 04-14-2008 03:55 AM
I can't install Edius Pro 3 on HP Pavilion a6020.es Paciente Editing with EDIUS 10 10-15-2007 10:38 PM
Edius 4.5X or PRE PRO 2X Imagine Video Editing with EDIUS 4 09-24-2007 01:46 PM
Edius NX, Edius 4 and Xplode Pro, problems, help! Ulisse Editing with EDIUS 10 05-11-2007 06:47 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.