Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2007, 06:48 AM   #1
richnation
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 128
Default Video Storage Drives for Edius

Hi, I have a custom built PC with a Pentium D 3.6ghz and 2gig DDR2 ram. I currently use Adobe Premiere but will be purchasing Edius to use to edit P2 files from my Panasonic HVX200 camera (DVCpro HD video files).

My understanding is that I need to raid 0 stripe 2 drives together in order to get the best realtime functionality with Edius, correct? I assume the best/economical way would be to plug in 2 SATA drives into my motherboard.
What about these Western Digital My Book Pro II external firewire drives. Will they work as well for an external storage solution?

Thanks for any advice.
richnation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 12:18 PM   #2
Zorro
Senior Member
 
Zorro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vienna
Posts: 2,089
Default

Most external drives connect via USB2.0 and/or Firewire400. Both standards limit data transfer due to their architecture. Only eSATA and Firewire800 would allow transfer rates which will be needed when editing with HD formats. So the best (read: cost effective) way will be to use internal SATA drives in a Raid0 configuration.
Zorro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 02:10 PM   #3
zakirc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangladesh
Posts: 10
Default

I agree with Zorro, external drives by nature of connectivity (USB 2.0 or Firewire) have very limited bandwidth, hence, the primary reason for using Raid for HDV purpose is lost with external drives unless you can find a box with eSATA connector. I dont think even Firewire800 will be sufficient because it is still slower than a single internal SATA (In IDE Mode) and you are looking for a faster solution.

I personally use Internal Raid 0 and have never had any speed issues (My record so far is 17 layers of Chroma + 1 layer of Background in SD Video; 5 Layers in HD Video both worked perfectly in real time.)
zakirc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 03:43 PM   #4
biopic
Senior Member
 
biopic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 160
Default

Be warned, there is something funny about how Windows XP deals with Firewire800, which means that in practice you don't normally even get Firewire400 performance. See this article for instance which explains the situation and gives a possible fix:
http://www.rme-audio.com/english/techinfo/fw800sp2.htm
__________________
Andrew Pinder
www.wideangles.tv
Edius 6.07 with SP/HDV Hardware; Windows 7 (64 bit Pro)
Supermicro X8SAX, i7-950 CPU, 12GB RAM
BFG Nvidia GeF 9600GT graphics, RME Fireface800 audio,
SATA RAID
biopic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 05:08 PM   #5
LegalEyes
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 25
Default

I only edit SD and use several drives including a externall WD book. The WD Book I have connects via usb or eSATA. I paid $150 for 500 gig.
LegalEyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 02:44 AM   #6
richnation
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 128
Default

Thanks for all the input. I guess I will go with 2 internal sata drives raid 0 striped. I have seen the eSATA external drives (CompUSA, i think). I assume you would need a SATA pci card to plug it into (or else stretch long cables from the drive through an opening in your computer case and plug them into the SATA ports on the motherboard. lol)
richnation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 06:17 AM   #7
zakirc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangladesh
Posts: 10
Default

Actually eSATA drives will come with an eSATA bracket that will be connected to the Motherboard's eSATA Port and attached to the back of your Chasis (Just like extra USB / Firewire Ports).

Good luck.
zakirc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 08:40 AM   #8
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,812
Default

Yeah, most eSATA/USB2.0 enclosures include free brackets that you mount in your computer (takes up a slot, though) and connect via a SATA cable to your SATA connector on your motherboard...and you have an eSATA connection. Also if you have a laptop with an ExpressCard slot, there are some adapters out there that give you eSATA on your laptop if it doesn't have a eSATA port already. It's blazing fast.

I was looking at external RAID0 configs in the eSATA form, and will probably do something like this in the future...
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 04:31 PM   #9
Philip
Senior Member
 
Philip's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 690
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by richnation View Post

My understanding is that I need to raid 0 stripe 2 drives together in order to get the best realtime functionality with Edius, correct? I assume the best/economical way would be to plug in 2 SATA drives into my motherboard.
What about these Western Digital My Book Pro II external firewire drives. Will they work as well for an external storage solution?

Thanks for any advice.
Not sure about the size of files from the P2 cards but here is what I have experienced. I had an 2 Drive RAID0 setup using Sata drives in my main desktop system. When I started playing with HDV and upconverting to CanopusHQ I discovered that for my use (max of 3 simultaneous streams) I was able to run this off a regular single USB2.0 drive. I was surprised.

I have had too much trouble with RAID setups not working and dying too quick. I have now unRAIDed my 2 320 drives into stand alone drives. I am currently investing in eSATA external enclosures and 500gb drives for editing and backup. This will give me true desktop speed with external enclosure and with an inexpensive card I can have the same throughput on my laptop. Unless you are dealing with uncompressed HD I question the need for a RAID unless you just need the speed to brag about.

With a single 500gb eSATA drive I will be able to edit a 3 camera wedding ceremony in Canopus HQ with no problem. That's all I need. If your P2 files are similar in size to HQ files you may not even need to deal with a RAID. I would run some tests with an external eSATA setup first and see if you really need it. RAID is cool and fast but if it dies it is ugly unless you have backup.....you do back up don't you? :-)

I'm not trying to discredit the RAID advice you got here already I'm just quizzing you to see if you really need to worry about RAID. Now if you want to play with uncompressed HD you need a RAID .... a really big one!
Philip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 06:29 PM   #10
zakirc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangladesh
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Philip View Post
I'm not trying to discredit the RAID advice you got here already I'm just quizzing you to see if you really need to worry about RAID. Now if you want to play with uncompressed HD you need a RAID .... a really big one!
Spot on ..... if regular sata can serve your purpose, don't raid your drives. My work involve too many layers of video so I have one of my setups with RAID 0. The other setup which I use for easier works run on internal SATA drives and I Achieved 15 layers of Chroma layers in real time.
zakirc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:29 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.