Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2019, 06:04 PM   #1
Claire
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 783
Default HLG monitor for the desktop

I just replaced the 32" Panasonic TV that sits on the end of my desk as preview monitor. I bought an LG 32LK6200PLA HLG TV.

It's the same size screen, the largest I can accommodate. The small size combined with HLG mode seems unique at the moment. I searched for ages before coming across this one, it works and it only costs 250 from JL here in the UK.

I love it already! It accepts the HLG signal from my BM IP4K with no switching required. Since I'm still on Edius 8 I am using Resolve at the moment but perhaps Edius 9 would also work, don't know.

So I am now editing beautiful colours, lovely silver linings to clouds, remarkable gleams and glints on shiny metal objects, etc, etc :)

This is my new toy for the new year and thought others without space for a huge TV might also be interested.
__________________
Claire

Edius 8.53 Workgroup, DVC Built i7 5960X 8 core Haswell-E Unlocked, Win10 Pro 64 bit, Gigabyte GA-X99-UD4, 32GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6GB, Decklink 4K Extreme 12G, TMPGEnc Movie Plug-in AVC, Eizo 31" ColorEdge CG319X HDR 4K monitor
Claire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 07:09 PM   #2
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,565
Default

If you are using Resolve, I'd like to know how you are getting HLG out to monitor. Unless BM has updated the cards, you're not getting HLG. More likely HDR 10. Also, no 4k 50/60p with that card, just 1080p.

I paid $298 US for an LG 43" 4 months ago with all of the HDR formats. 60p is the Holy Grail and that point is expensive.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 07:44 PM   #3
Claire
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 783
Default

Jerry, this 32" TV is full HD, not 4K. Not sure if 32" 4K TV's exist?

The HLG footage is from my GH5 camera which is limited to 25p in HDR mode so maybe that's why the IP4K is working.
__________________
Claire

Edius 8.53 Workgroup, DVC Built i7 5960X 8 core Haswell-E Unlocked, Win10 Pro 64 bit, Gigabyte GA-X99-UD4, 32GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6GB, Decklink 4K Extreme 12G, TMPGEnc Movie Plug-in AVC, Eizo 31" ColorEdge CG319X HDR 4K monitor
Claire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 08:01 PM   #4
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,565
Default

The files will work, but HLG is not supported with the IP4K. You are getting HDR 10(PQ).
In order to get HLG, you would need an HD Fury Integra or better in between the card and TV. Or, the monitor would have to have the option to select the proper color space manually.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.

Last edited by Jerry; 01-04-2019 at 08:16 PM.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 08:51 PM   #5
Claire
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 783
Default

Hmm, well input color space, timeline color space and output color space were all set to Rec.2100 HLG in this project. It's not ST2084 so I don't know why it would be HRD10. Picture quality looks similar but obviously not as eyepopping as when viewing the actual clips on my LG OLED55C8 in the living room. Sadly I cannot put that in the editing room.

Can you throw any light on that, or maybe HDR10 will keep me happy!
__________________
Claire

Edius 8.53 Workgroup, DVC Built i7 5960X 8 core Haswell-E Unlocked, Win10 Pro 64 bit, Gigabyte GA-X99-UD4, 32GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6GB, Decklink 4K Extreme 12G, TMPGEnc Movie Plug-in AVC, Eizo 31" ColorEdge CG319X HDR 4K monitor
Claire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 10:33 PM   #6
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,565
Default

HLG is BT2020/2100. I'm not even sure if the Intensity Pro 4k supports HDR.
Just because you have the setting in your project doesn't mean that it will translate through your output device to monitor.

You can make it work within Resolve. You should have PQ and HLG setting options in Resolve. You can make the file internally, but it won't go out to monitor correctly. What you have to do is quess work. Make a file from Resolve, or Edius for that matter, and put it on a thumbdrive. Then play it through the USB port on the monitor.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 01:05 AM   #7
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,713
Default

If you are using HLG and EDIUS it is best to use a Sony monitor as an affordable option. You can select the correct color space manually as Jerry suggested.

If you have a bigger budget you can choose one of the Ezio monitors that EDIUS can control.
Other monitors will require an injector to make the monitor do the "auto switching" correctly.
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 06:50 PM   #8
Claire
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 783
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_SL View Post
If you are using HLG and EDIUS it is best to use a Sony monitor as an affordable option. You can select the correct color space manually as Jerry suggested.

If you have a bigger budget you can choose one of the Ezio monitors that EDIUS can control.
Other monitors will require an injector to make the monitor do the "auto switching" correctly.
Steve and Jerry, I took your advice and ditched the LG TV for an Eizo monitor. I bought the CG319X model which lets me manually select HLG mode.

I don't yet have Edius 9 so am still using Resolve for HDR, with my IP4K connected directly to the Eizo it looks excellent.

Grading completed I export using the GV QT HQX codec which includes the HLG information as seen here, using MediaInfo...

Format : Canopus HQX
Codec ID : CHQX
Duration : 3 min 0 s
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 333 Mb/s
Width : 3 840 pixels
Height : 2 160 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate mode : Constant
Frame rate : 25.000 FPS
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 1.605
Stream size : 7.01 GiB (100%)
Language : English
Color primaries : BT.2020
Transfer characteristics : HLG
Matrix coefficients : BT.2020 non-constant

This is accepted by Handbrake from which I make HEVC x265 files. Put on a USB drive they play nicely on my 55" LG OLED in the lounge. Oh and it also shows the HDR HLG logo. I am now wondering if Edius 9 in HDR mode would accept these GV QT HQX files and recognise the HDR data? Maybe someone could test?
__________________
Claire

Edius 8.53 Workgroup, DVC Built i7 5960X 8 core Haswell-E Unlocked, Win10 Pro 64 bit, Gigabyte GA-X99-UD4, 32GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6GB, Decklink 4K Extreme 12G, TMPGEnc Movie Plug-in AVC, Eizo 31" ColorEdge CG319X HDR 4K monitor
Claire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2019, 02:05 PM   #9
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,565
Default

Sounds like a smart move. I learned something from your post. QT HQX carries the meta information for HDR unlike the HQX .avi version.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shooting Vlog and HLG but want to convert jeff8 Editing with EDIUS 0 10-20-2018 12:07 AM
Can I Use HDSPARK as another desktop monitor jasonsilzle EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 2 12-04-2009 04:39 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:55 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.