Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2019, 01:54 AM   #1
nath
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: ojai
Posts: 111
Default Failed to export. Unspecified error (0x80004005)

Getting this error using Edius version 8.53 when exporting to ProRes files. I am using Miraizon DNxHD ProRes Codecs Windows V2 to export ProRes. It used to work well, but I am guessing after this last iTunes/iCloud update something got messed up. What now?

Thanks for any helpful advise.
__________________
Edius is what I use here at FilmFix. FilmFix provides professional 2K 8mm film transfer w/ sound. Edius without Macro Generator is just Edius!
nath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 03:29 AM   #2
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,458
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nath View Post
Getting this error using Edius version 8.53 when exporting to ProRes files. I am using Miraizon DNxHD ProRes Codecs Windows V2 to export ProRes. It used to work well, but I am guessing after this last iTunes/iCloud update something got messed up. What now?

Thanks for any helpful advise.
Try reinstalling Quicktime 7.7.9. The Mirazon codecs are a quicktime plugin, and if quicktime has a problem it will fail. It isn't unheard of tho have to re-install quicktime.
__________________
Edius WG 9.50.5351, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 05:04 AM   #3
nath
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: ojai
Posts: 111
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BernH View Post
Try reinstalling Quicktime 7.7.9. The Mirazon codecs are a quicktime plugin, and if quicktime has a problem it will fail. It isn't unheard of tho have to re-install quicktime.
Unfortunately that did not work (I tried a QuickTime repair version 7.79.80.95.) Edius and QuickTime play ProRes files just fine. It is the export that is not working.

I tried reinstalling Edius, but the latest install file I downloaded from GrassValley (EDIUS Software v8.53b3262 Full Installer) is prompting "A newer version of EDIUS 8 is already installed."

I reinstalled the Miraizon DNxHD ProRes Codecs. What else should I try?
__________________
Edius is what I use here at FilmFix. FilmFix provides professional 2K 8mm film transfer w/ sound. Edius without Macro Generator is just Edius!
nath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 05:51 AM   #4
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,920
Default

at what stage of export does the error happen? If right at the start, it means you have one or more settings incorrect in project settings
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 09:10 AM   #5
DigitalDave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Basildon UK
Posts: 2,246
Default

First thing I would check is that you haven't got a corrupt clip that is causing the problem. Any clips with Primary Colour Correction on? I seem to remember having this issue (that Anton confirmed)
Read this https://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/...ad.php?t=39863
If you have PCC applied, try rendering to Timeline SHIFT Q

You could also export to HQ or HQX and try again.
Can you export to DNxHD?
If these suggestions dont help, post your export settings in the QT exporter. Use Snipping tool and Manage attachments.

Last edited by DigitalDave; 01-19-2019 at 09:17 AM.
DigitalDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 04:28 PM   #6
nath
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: ojai
Posts: 111
Default

Discovered it has to do with the selected hard drive! In my case it is I:.

What is most strange is that I can export any other file format to I: without problem - but not ProRes.

So somehow QuickTime is lacking permission on drive I:. I give it full permission to Everyone (and System) it is just not working.

When exporting for the fist time after a reboot using F11 (not using add to batch) I get a silent crash. No error window, just nothing. If I repeat this export attempt I get the error popup window (0x80004005). Exporting within Batch Export I get Failed to export
__________________
Edius is what I use here at FilmFix. FilmFix provides professional 2K 8mm film transfer w/ sound. Edius without Macro Generator is just Edius!

Last edited by nath; 01-19-2019 at 05:40 PM.
nath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 05:24 PM   #7
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,458
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nath View Post
I discovered it has to do with the destination, the selected hard drive! In my case it is I:. ProRes export works anywhere else, but not on I:. What is most strange is that I can export any other file format to I: without problem. So somehow QuickTime is lacking permission on drive I:. I am now working on resetting the permissions to I: ...

Very strange. I give it full permission to everyone and it is just not working.
It may not be a permission thing. What way is your "I" drive formatted? FAT32 or NTFS? FAT32 has a 4 GB file size limit. NTFS limit is 16TB. You may be exceeding the maximum file size.

If you suspect a permissions/ownership issue, tri installing this context menu utility. It allows you to take ownership of a folder.
https://www.raymond.cc/blog/download/did/3557/
__________________
Edius WG 9.50.5351, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 05:52 PM   #8
nath
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: ojai
Posts: 111
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BernH View Post
What way is your "I" drive formatted?
NTFS

The drive also serves as System Backup drive. Not sure if that may have something to do with it.

What is strange is that .AVI exports work, but not ProRes.
__________________
Edius is what I use here at FilmFix. FilmFix provides professional 2K 8mm film transfer w/ sound. Edius without Macro Generator is just Edius!
nath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 06:09 PM   #9
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,458
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nath View Post
NTFS

The drive also serves as System Backup drive. Not sure if that may have something to do with it.

What is strange is that .AVI exports work, but not ProRes.
That is strange indeed. As you suggested, it may have something to do with the backup software/routine you are running if it is doing something strange to that drive, but theoretically, if you can export to AVI you should be able to export to MOV unless something is interfering with Quicktime and Quicktime only.
__________________
Edius WG 9.50.5351, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 07:01 PM   #10
nath
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: ojai
Posts: 111
Default

After more testing: I can export any file formats onto I:, including QuickTime Grass Vally HQ and HQX (.mov); but none of the QuickTime exporter Plug-in file formats (including the GrassVally HQ and HQX). Not sure what to do but to just use a different drive.

I created an Edius System Report -- for any grassvalley.com tech/supporter (It just so happened that Edius crashed as saving the project to a different drive. It is a larger project with 88 clips set to export.)
__________________
Edius is what I use here at FilmFix. FilmFix provides professional 2K 8mm film transfer w/ sound. Edius without Macro Generator is just Edius!

Last edited by nath; 01-19-2019 at 07:24 PM.
nath is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Urgent: Unspecified Error on Export MP4 Alpha Video Editing with EDIUS 38 12-04-2018 11:42 PM
Unspecified Error on export zvit Editing with EDIUS 19 04-10-2018 07:32 PM
Failed to Export 0x80004005:Unspecified error imagenz Editing with EDIUS 9 06-03-2016 11:37 PM
Failed to export. Unspecified error (0x80004005) DMS Video Editing with EDIUS 6 05-16-2016 06:45 PM
Failed to export 0x80004005 : unspecified error FrancescoBLT EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 1 04-04-2013 11:19 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:55 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.