Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > MYNC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2015, 01:02 PM   #1
vortigern
Senior Member
 
vortigern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: london
Posts: 624
Default renaming clips

In the GV browser go down into a transferred folder from a project and look at it. I will call it "arrow" as an example. In explorer drill down the same folder until you get to the "stream" folder with the video files which are just numbered . Rename all these files in my case arrow1,2 etc.
Now open up GV browser and drill down to the same folder. Lo all the numbers have been retained instead of the rename. Weird. A small bug I am sure otherwise the browser is brilliant.
__________________
E9 PRO ,Intensity Pro capture Nvidia 650 TI LG 3D Monitor HDMI Win 10 PRO 64 Bit.Vistitle 2.6, Robuskey. ASUS Z370 I7 8700 16 GB Hyper X black RAM 250GB 960 EVO. 2 ITB Disks
vortigern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 06:22 AM   #2
Bluetongue
Senior Member
 
Bluetongue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide South Australia
Posts: 2,197
Default

When you renamed the clip, it still showed but was indicated as "OFF LINE"
See the "RED" dot on the picture below
If you rename the clip and want to use it you will have to re-add to the Library and delete the "old" clip from the Library
If you try and use it it will not work, does exactly as I would have expected
GV Browser does not automatically scan the library, just tells you the clip is not there, up to you to keep it up to date, it is only a reference does not hold the file

Barry
Attached Images
File Type: png Offline File.PNG (95.9 KB, 23 views)
__________________
Win 10HP, EDIUS WG9.4, HD Spark, Boris RED 5, VMW6, Authorworks 6, Bluff Titler, VisTitler 2.8, NEAT 3/4, Mercalli 2/4, Vitascene, Izotope RX6 Plugin, NewBlue, Trend Micro AV
GB GA-X58A-UD3R MB, i7 990X@4G, 12G 1600mhz Mem, Samsung EVO-250G SSD, 3x2T RAID, GTX 970W OC, 2x24 inch LG Monitors
Canon XH-A1/ Canon HF-G30, GoPro Hero3 Black, Edit @1920 50p HQ preset

https://vimeo.com/user2157719/videos
Laptop ASUS G752VT-GC060T Win 10HP, Edius WG8.53 Samsung M2 SSD 256G+1Tb HD,
Bluetongue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 10:58 AM   #3
vortigern
Senior Member
 
vortigern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: london
Posts: 624
Default

Yes I see what you are getting but all my clips were renamed BEFORE I installed Edius 8 with the new browser. Had I renamed them afterwards what you say would have been right. What I have done is to put all my renamed clips further up the folder line i.e. transfer them from the "stream" folder and put the at the top level of the folder. A little time consuming but all my files are no very easy to get at. Obviously I have destroyed all the links in project folders but this was of secondary importance. Maybe the Scottish/Japanese man will come up with a tutorial on this problem. Thanks for your reply a great help with the new GV browser which IMO is excellent . Sorry about the cricket!
__________________
E9 PRO ,Intensity Pro capture Nvidia 650 TI LG 3D Monitor HDMI Win 10 PRO 64 Bit.Vistitle 2.6, Robuskey. ASUS Z370 I7 8700 16 GB Hyper X black RAM 250GB 960 EVO. 2 ITB Disks
vortigern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 01:08 PM   #4
johannesj
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Iceland
Posts: 471
Default

It would be grate if the browser would sense changes in folders, both renaming and new files and folders.
Maybe in the future.
__________________
JoiCam´s
Edit station1: i7 6700K 4 ghz, 32gb ram, Edius 9 Workgroup, Davinci Resolve studio 14.x , 8GB GPU & Intensity Pro 4K
2: 17" Laptop i7 w: Edius 9 Workgroup
3: HPxw8600 dual 3ghz Xeon, STORM 3G, , Edius 7, 32 GB ram.
4: Edius 7, Supermicro x7da8 dual 3ghz Xeon.
Audio: Protools & Nuendo, M-Audio and Presonus interfaces, control surfaces and preamps, dual 3ghz Xeon. 16gb Ram.
Studio monitoring: Mackie 1402-VLZ Pro mixer and Mackie HR824 Spk. Panasonic surround system.
And more
johannesj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 01:52 PM   #5
Bluetongue
Senior Member
 
Bluetongue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide South Australia
Posts: 2,197
Default

Hi John
Ok get your message, I added each folder one by one to make sure I had them all recorded correctly and that made it easy to TAG in Bulk by sorting by history of adding
Ahh the cricket, dosn't look good but wait till they come back where we stand on our head, our guys are having trouble with all the blood rushing from their head

Johanas
That would be good, designate folders to watch and update when files added or subtracted, well early days, it is just fabulous for all the foley and cut away clips I keep

Regards Barry
__________________
Win 10HP, EDIUS WG9.4, HD Spark, Boris RED 5, VMW6, Authorworks 6, Bluff Titler, VisTitler 2.8, NEAT 3/4, Mercalli 2/4, Vitascene, Izotope RX6 Plugin, NewBlue, Trend Micro AV
GB GA-X58A-UD3R MB, i7 990X@4G, 12G 1600mhz Mem, Samsung EVO-250G SSD, 3x2T RAID, GTX 970W OC, 2x24 inch LG Monitors
Canon XH-A1/ Canon HF-G30, GoPro Hero3 Black, Edit @1920 50p HQ preset

https://vimeo.com/user2157719/videos
Laptop ASUS G752VT-GC060T Win 10HP, Edius WG8.53 Samsung M2 SSD 256G+1Tb HD,
Bluetongue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 06:01 PM   #6
vortigern
Senior Member
 
vortigern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: london
Posts: 624
Default

Thanks I will try it one by one as you suggest
__________________
E9 PRO ,Intensity Pro capture Nvidia 650 TI LG 3D Monitor HDMI Win 10 PRO 64 Bit.Vistitle 2.6, Robuskey. ASUS Z370 I7 8700 16 GB Hyper X black RAM 250GB 960 EVO. 2 ITB Disks
vortigern is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > MYNC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Renaming Presets? tdtinker Editing with EDIUS 2 02-21-2014 06:45 PM
Renaming effects? dtpolk Editing with EDIUS 8 09-01-2013 04:22 AM
renaming the pc filmus Editing with EDIUS 1 04-09-2011 02:38 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:13 PM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.