Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2010, 11:36 PM   #1
AJL14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,227
Default Help on burning a BD disk, please!

(1st posted yesterday - no replies yet! I deleted 1st post)

OK, my friends. I have worked on this problem for 9 hours plus (2 days now!), and finally gave up and am posting for help for this mystery!

I have a 2 1/2 hour EDIUS timeline. (timeline goes to DL (50GB) BD great, without any titles in the "Burn Disc" program (other than the one main screen).

Added 2 Menu Pages - 6 titles on each page per one of the pre-formatted forms. Everything looks good - nothing unusual in pix or menus or titles.

Burn disc - with "output image and burn disc". Outputs image just fine to a "temp" file on a separate drive with plenty of ovrhead. Then after about 2 1/2 hours of crating the image file, a small window announces "creating menus (or titles - cannot remember) ......." and that window and graph goes to 83% and freezes. Locks up! Stops! Whoops!

In the temp file are the following:
Tempwork
BD_Temp
Menu1.m2t 36 KB
Menu01.m2ts 3,126 KB
Menu2.m2t 36 KB
Menu02.m2ts 3,126 KB
Title-032e1567.hcp 1 KB
Title-032e1567.m2ts 29,082,056 KB

Each of the m2ts files (2 Menu files and Title/program file) runs perfectly when loaded directly into a "player" - but EDIUS will not complete the full operation in the "Burn disc" menu.

Any suggestions would be much more than appreciated. First time this has happened (First time trying to make a disc with Menus on a 50GB DL BD).

Best,
Alan
__________________
Alan J. Levi
Director

SYSTEM: ASUS P8Z77-VPro mobo, Intel 3770K CPU, 16 Gig Crucial 1866 RAM, Antec 1000W PS, EVGA nVidia 560Ti 1Gig Video, CoolerMaster CPU cooler, LG GGW-H20L BluRay DVD, SPARK card w/23" Samsung 1920x1080 Monitor, OCZ 240GB SSD boot in Swapable Tray & 3 WD Enterprise 1TB video RAID 5 HDD's. 4.5TB RAID 1 Outboard backups, Behringer2000 Audio Fader/Controller
AJL14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 11:51 PM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,736
Default

is this with Edius6? If so, no need to try any further until the next update

there is a menu problem
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 11:52 PM   #3
Bluetongue
Senior Member
 
Bluetongue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide South Australia
Posts: 2,197
Default

Alan
Just a suggestion, I have not burnt a DL Bluray at all so take this as for what its worth

Authorworks 4 is supposed to be able to burn DL Bluray so why not try exporting a Bluray compliant file and use Authorworks to Author and Burn?
There is a 14 day trial so you may be able to achieve what you want there

Works great for Single layer BD and DVD, its only drawback is it requires a monthly licence check, pain in BUTT if you ask me, I am now trying to see how long it works if I don't, it may be just an annoying window that comes up at the start

Regards Barry
__________________
Win 10HP, EDIUS WG9.4, HD Spark, Boris RED 5, VMW6, Authorworks 6, Bluff Titler, VisTitler 2.8, NEAT 3/4, Mercalli 2/4, Vitascene, Izotope RX6 Plugin, NewBlue, Trend Micro AV
GB GA-X58A-UD3R MB, i7 990X@4G, 12G 1600mhz Mem, Samsung EVO-250G SSD, 3x2T RAID, GTX 970W OC, 2x24 inch LG Monitors
Canon XH-A1/ Canon HF-G30, GoPro Hero3 Black, Edit @1920 50p HQ preset

https://vimeo.com/user2157719/videos
Laptop ASUS G752VT-GC060T Win 10HP, Edius WG8.53 Samsung M2 SSD 256G+1Tb HD,
Bluetongue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 11:57 PM   #4
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,736
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluetongue View Post
it may be just an annoying window that comes up at the start

Regards Barry
Tmpg products can be set to do the license renewal automatically without annoying popup

I have not seen a popup in years
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 01:55 AM   #5
AJL14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,227
Default

Thanks Anton - I'm still churning along in E5.5.
And Barry - My editing computer is not hooked to the Internet for all the good reasons! But I'll look into Authorworks. I just may have to connect if I'm going to get anywhere.

Thanks guys, for the help. I'm still trying to see what I can do with EDIUS - or my computer. I might be running out of resources with that long a program + the authoring 2 pages of Chapters.

Any further ideas - ship 'em over!
Many thanks,
Alan
__________________
Alan J. Levi
Director

SYSTEM: ASUS P8Z77-VPro mobo, Intel 3770K CPU, 16 Gig Crucial 1866 RAM, Antec 1000W PS, EVGA nVidia 560Ti 1Gig Video, CoolerMaster CPU cooler, LG GGW-H20L BluRay DVD, SPARK card w/23" Samsung 1920x1080 Monitor, OCZ 240GB SSD boot in Swapable Tray & 3 WD Enterprise 1TB video RAID 5 HDD's. 4.5TB RAID 1 Outboard backups, Behringer2000 Audio Fader/Controller
AJL14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 02:13 AM   #6
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,736
Default

2.5 hours will still be excellent quality on a single layer BD

as for DL BD, I have not tried this

did you do any customization to the menu BG image or thumbnails?
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 03:10 AM   #7
dragN
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 27
Default 83% you say?

I encountered a system recently that was halting BD burning at 83%
This was fixed by replacing BDRCore.dll and BDMVMAKER.dll with the same files from another system.
these are both in \Program Files\Common Files\Canopus Shared\DVD
I'm not sure if it'll help you, but give it a shot :)
dragN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 03:28 AM   #8
Bluetongue
Senior Member
 
Bluetongue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide South Australia
Posts: 2,197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
Tmpg products can be set to do the license renewal automatically without annoying popup

I have not seen a popup in years
Yes that is fine providing you are connected to the internet otherwise it just keeps asking on every start, or have I missed something

Regards Barry
__________________
Win 10HP, EDIUS WG9.4, HD Spark, Boris RED 5, VMW6, Authorworks 6, Bluff Titler, VisTitler 2.8, NEAT 3/4, Mercalli 2/4, Vitascene, Izotope RX6 Plugin, NewBlue, Trend Micro AV
GB GA-X58A-UD3R MB, i7 990X@4G, 12G 1600mhz Mem, Samsung EVO-250G SSD, 3x2T RAID, GTX 970W OC, 2x24 inch LG Monitors
Canon XH-A1/ Canon HF-G30, GoPro Hero3 Black, Edit @1920 50p HQ preset

https://vimeo.com/user2157719/videos
Laptop ASUS G752VT-GC060T Win 10HP, Edius WG8.53 Samsung M2 SSD 256G+1Tb HD,
Bluetongue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 04:41 AM   #9
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,736
Default

yes, you need to be on the net, which is fine as long as you don't sure and check email on the edit PC

mine is always on the net, never a problem
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 09:51 PM   #10
AJL14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,227
Default

Hi Anton. Yep - I customized the Menu BG with a 1920x1080 still, and each of the Chapter buttons with "image" markers from the timeline. DIdn't know this would make a difference...however......maybe it does!!!!!!!

Also - I noticed that on a DL it's recording the BD at a bit less than 24mbs setting, and a 25Gb disk at 19.4 mbs. Now in my head's computer, this means I'm getting a bit rate that's about 20% less on the 25gb disk. Is this not correct? On a big screen (my theater is 14 1/2 ft. diagonal screen with 1080p projected) would I not see that difference? And on my 70-inch?

Curious to investigate!

Wish you were up here to enjoy some Thanksgiving turkey with us!
Best,
Alan
__________________
Alan J. Levi
Director

SYSTEM: ASUS P8Z77-VPro mobo, Intel 3770K CPU, 16 Gig Crucial 1866 RAM, Antec 1000W PS, EVGA nVidia 560Ti 1Gig Video, CoolerMaster CPU cooler, LG GGW-H20L BluRay DVD, SPARK card w/23" Samsung 1920x1080 Monitor, OCZ 240GB SSD boot in Swapable Tray & 3 WD Enterprise 1TB video RAID 5 HDD's. 4.5TB RAID 1 Outboard backups, Behringer2000 Audio Fader/Controller
AJL14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Burning HD on a SD Disk reelmoments Editing with EDIUS 11 07-21-2010 05:41 AM
Anyone use BD burning feature of 5.11? STORMDAVE Editing with EDIUS 52 06-23-2009 01:31 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:40 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.