Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2019, 06:16 PM   #1
Foundry Films
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, B.C
Posts: 7
Default Upgrading Edius Pro 7

Hello!

I recently purchased a new computer running Windows 10 and didn't realize that Edius 7 is not compatible with Windows 10. I'm fine with updating to Edius Pro 9 but ideally I'd like to save some money by purchasing the Edius Pro 9 Jump Upgrade.

My question is, will I be able to install the Pro 9 ump Upgrade to a new system that does not have an older version in Edius installed on? OR will I be required to purchase to full package?

Also, is Procoder 3 compatible with Windows 10?

Thanks for you help.

Mike
Foundry Films is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 12:30 AM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,211
Default

EDIUS7 works perfect in Win10, have built several with EDIUS7

to install EDIUS 9 Jump upgrade, you don't need to have EDIUS7 installed, you only need to enter the EDIUS7 serial after entering the 9 serial

I recommend buying the EDIUD 9 WG Jump upgrade otherwise you will be missing features you had in EDIUS7
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 850 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 09:46 PM   #3
Foundry Films
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, B.C
Posts: 7
Default

Ok thanks for the reply Anton...that is what I thought.

Now, since this is an unexpected purchase, I'm trying to save some money. A jump upgrade to Edius 9 WG is approx. $600 (cdn) where as an upgrade to Edius 9 Pro is approx. $350.

What are the main features I'd be losing if I just jump from Edius Pro 7 to Edius Pro 9?

I don't work in a "broadcast-based, collaborative editing environment that might require GV STRATUS or third-party MAM connectivity, or to edit-in-place on K2 server/storage." so I thunk the WG might be overkill?

Thanks for your help!
Mike
Foundry Films is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Edius 8 from Edius 7 Pro qshahzad Editing with EDIUS 6 10-14-2015 12:15 AM
Upgrading Edius? Mike Truly Editing with EDIUS 1 08-06-2014 09:47 AM
Upgrading to Edius 6 chuckstar Editing with EDIUS 1 12-06-2010 06:15 PM
Upgrading from Edius Pro 4.6 to Broadcast - Serial Problem vince480 Editing with EDIUS 4 05-30-2008 08:22 AM
upgrading edius 3.0 pro to 4.5 broadcast jimstamos Editing with EDIUS 1 04-02-2008 05:58 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:21 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.