Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2013, 11:16 PM   #1
mattie
Senior Member
 
mattie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 991
Default Chromakey

why doesnt the mask filter work with chromakey properly in E7? how do i cut out an oval shape?
mattie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 11:42 PM   #2
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,718
Default

Explain what it is you are wanting to do with the mask. The fact that the Chromakeyer does not support alpha may be the underlying reason that it doesn't do what you want to do.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 12:34 AM   #3
mattie
Senior Member
 
mattie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 991
Default

I think thats the problem - the alpha integration is all over the place with Edius - it needs serious attention and fast - a pro editor should be able to do EVERYTHING alpha - not mess about doing partial alpha.

Put a chromakey filter with a mask on a clip and they wont work together - simple as that really. They should work seamlessly together.

Frustrating doesn't begin to describe how it makes me feel. it means I have to go outside of edius to do a simple task such as C.key and a mask!
mattie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 12:56 AM   #4
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Explain what you're trying to do. Screenshot would be most helpful.
Order of operation definitely matters now more than ever.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 03:18 AM   #5
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,192
Default

the EDIUS chroma keyer is a keyer, it may not work together with the mask filter

once Robuskey is out for E7. then you can do all the masking you like, because Robuskey is a filter
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 870 Pro NVMe M.2 for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 09:46 AM   #6
mattie
Senior Member
 
mattie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 991
Default

I know there are work arounds using robuskey but really, Edius by now should have cracked the issues with the keyers working with alpha seamlessly or at least supply robuskey FOC.

Like I say, this should be top of the list of things to do imho. More people use chromakey and masks than 3D but sadly 3D somehow was made a priority.

Now the 3D hype has died down, we can get back to business as usual and sort all the 2D issues that still remain.
mattie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 10:21 AM   #7
Jim N
Senior Member
 
Jim N's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 434
Default

Just for your interest Mattie, I use 3D but I dont use the alpha key. I am pretty sure I would buy the Robustkey plugin if it was that important to me just like I have Vistitle.

Jim
Jim N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 11:26 AM   #8
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,749
Default

GV have being changing all the filters to have proper alpha channel support but it takes time. I believe chromakey and chominance are only type effects left in EDIUS 7 that do not support alpha channel properly. As they both use the same keying engine this is not surprising.

It would be great if they were updated to 10bit and proper alpha channel support, but atleast now everything else has.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 12:34 PM   #9
mattie
Senior Member
 
mattie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 991
Default

Thanks Dave for the reply, I do hope G.V. see this as a priority and not leave it as it is. Without proper Alpha support in these keyers, Edius isn't really fit for doing serious alpha work IMHO.
mattie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 12:52 PM   #10
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,718
Default

I have Robuskey and anything else pales in comparison. Edius keyers may be better with full alpha support, but I seriously doubt that it will work as well as Robuskey does. If, however, the keying power of the Edius Chromakeyer is enhanced and alpha brings it in line with the quality of other NLE's, it would be a truly usable product.
I also have Boris Red for keying, which is also behind Robuskey. If you are doing keying on a regular basis I would invest in Robuskey, if you don't already own it.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CHROMAKEY vgtah Editing with EDIUS 23 05-29-2013 08:26 PM
Need help with chromakey mark williams Editing with EDIUS 3 04-09-2010 09:15 PM
chromakey robbin Editing with EDIUS 20 02-05-2010 06:15 AM
ChromaKey Help? tdtinker Editing with EDIUS 15 01-18-2008 12:15 AM
Chromakey Richtiger Editing with EDIUS 17 06-11-2007 09:06 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.