Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2008, 06:55 AM   #1
George_S
Member
 
George_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 93
Default New offers from Grass Valley Edius

I 'm totally confused on the new offerings. Can't get though to the Sale Dept in CA. USA. I thought I knew which package to buy; but now I hear that if you buy an Edius package w/ either the HDStorm or Spark, you will not be given a TMP program, or upgrade or whatever.
I also saw some place here, that if you buy just the Edius 5 upgrade you will also get TMP and a Second Licence for Edius5. I own every edit system that Canopus and now Grassvalley has ever made. Time is running out on the discount, and I just built a new kick-*** system (excuse my excitement), and I won't have any programs or hardware to edit with.
1. What is the best way to take advantage of the discount offers and end up with Edius 5 and TMP?
I probably will need realtime output to a monitor at some point, but am willing to wait, if the spark is going to be sold separately. I just don't want to be penalized for buying a board with Edius now and not getting TMP. Does someone have a clear understanding of the different offers?

Thanks and Happy Holidays
George_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 10:12 PM   #2
Tobe
Senior Member
 
Tobe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Glenford, NY
Posts: 983
Default

i just bought E5 which comes with TMP (if you already own Edius 4, you can then easily install it...I decided against HDStorm partially because no TMPRO was available for that package. I'm happy with E5, so suggest you consider the software upgrade...
__________________
Documentaries and Art Projects
Hudson Valley, NY

i7 8700K @ 3.70 Ghz/16 gb RAM
windows 10
284 gb SSD boot drive
1 TB work disc
2TB storage disc
EDIUS 9.31
Many external project hard drives
Tobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 05:21 AM   #3
George_S
Member
 
George_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 93
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobe View Post
i just bought E5 which comes with TMP (if you already own Edius 4, you can then easily install it...I decided against HDStorm partially because no TMPRO was available for that package. I'm happy with E5, so suggest you consider the software upgrade...
Thanks for the information, this is exactly what I needed to know. I just could not understand why they would sell the software w/ TMP and not with the other packages. Oh well thats business. Now if only Sales would answer the phone.

Happy holidays
George_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 11:20 PM   #4
rob stowell
Senior Member
 
rob stowell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chch New Zealand
Posts: 580
Default

Jeepers, I didn't know this- it's kind've annoying, as I've ordered an HDStorm. Had I known, probably would have just bought Edius 5 (which is on a super promo deal here in NZ).
Can one buy TMP seperately? Any idea how much? It might be cheaper for me to do a cross-grade with and get another copy of Edius 5...
rob stowell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 11:24 PM   #5
SRsupport
Grass Cutter Gold
 
SRsupport's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South America
Posts: 3,353
Default

You can buy tm pro for EDIUS 5. I saw it at B&H for $279
__________________
Steve
EDIUS Trainer, Grass Cutter Gold
A proud EDIUS EDITOR
For more information on the Grass Cutter program please visit: http://www.grass-cutters.net
SRsupport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 12:01 AM   #6
pjsssss
Senior Member
 
pjsssss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 4,996
Default

You're better off to buy an Edius 5 upgrade. You only have a couple of more weeks.
pjsssss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 12:08 AM   #7
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

Yep, exactly - it's not only cheaper, but you get a bonus EDIUS 5 dongle. :)
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 05:00 AM   #8
rob stowell
Senior Member
 
rob stowell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chch New Zealand
Posts: 580
Default

Yeah, that's my thought- another dongle would be handy, I think- I have neo for the laptop, but E5 would be better.
I'll have to be quick though!
rob stowell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 05:54 AM   #9
George_S
Member
 
George_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 93
Default

Ok, if we finally have this correct; we buy the Edius 5 upgrade and whats in the box is:
1. Edius 5.1 upgrade disc with two dongles?
2. Titlemotion Pro disc

Price is $ 249

Happy Holidays
George_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 05:57 AM   #10
swsw1550
Senior Member
 
swsw1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast,Queensland
Posts: 1,910
Default

One dongle George, not 2 Plus you get the Prodad and IZotope Plugins, And TMP upgrade disk.



Steve
swsw1550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grass Valley EDIUS Online Training Links GrassValley_KH Rules and Forum Announcements 0 05-03-2007 08:56 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:04 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.