Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Old 10-17-2008, 09:25 PM   #1
latcho

Default black point for export

Hello,
I'm new to Edius 5.
I made my first edits and all went well except for the exporting to file;
If I render via the quicktime exporter -> codec H264 then my black and white points are of big tme; the picture becomes brighter overall, black is consitently a soft darker grey and colors are too bright as if +3DB brightness.
What can I do.
PS: my source files where 1440x1080 29.97 (1.3333) MTS from a canon cam convertyed to Canopus HQ standard.
Within the program's preview monitors all is looking good.

Thanks guru's!

Last edited by latcho; 10-17-2008 at 09:27 PM. Reason: added info
latcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2008, 09:52 PM   #2
SRsupport
Grass Cutter Gold

There is a problem with quicktime under windows. Othe Nle's have this problem too.
I know Avid advised of a setting in quicktime which you should disable. Unfortunately I lost my documents on that.
For more information on the Grass Cutter program please visit: http://www.grass-cutters.net
SRsupport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 03:42 PM   #3
cuervo

sorry SRSUPPORT, but, I don't think that's the problem. I've gone thru the recommended workaround for QT on the PC and it doesn't fix the problem. The problem appears more related to a bug in the way QT's H.264 encodes footage. I think Apple has the 601-709 conversions wrong. The error manifests differently depending on whether you encoded an RGB or REC 709 source.Either ways of encoding result in blown out luma values and/or distorted colors.