Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-27-2007, 01:21 AM   #1
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default Mac OS X 10.5 (Leopard) Compatibility Thread

Hi all,

I've created this thread here for people to read, post and check on the compatibility of various ADVC models, within applications under Mac OS 10.5 (aka Leopard).

To start the ball rolling, I have tested ADVC55 and ADVC110, using iMovie 08 (v7.1). No problems seen, both for input and output. (although I had to use SimpleVideoOut, because there is no obvious way that I saw to export back to DV tape with iMovie v7)

So:

iMovie v7.1
ADVC55 = OK
ADVC110 = OK
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 06:19 PM   #2
radamchak
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default 10.5 compatibility tests with ADVC 300 pending

I have an ADVC 300 and just installed Leopard. I intend to test out the ADVC later today on it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 03:23 PM   #3
bdjub
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Advc300

Quote:
Originally Posted by radamchak View Post
I have an ADVC 300 and just installed Leopard. I intend to test out the ADVC later today on it.
Hi there,
I have Leopard and ADVC 300 and every thing works just fine with iMovie 7.1.
My only problem is "connection dropout" with old VHS tape conversion. I think the solution could be TBC?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2008, 01:34 AM   #4
kbosward
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 318
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdjub View Post
I have Leopard and ADVC 300 and every thing works just fine with iMovie 7.1. My only problem is "connection dropout" with old VHS tape conversion. I think the solution could be TBC?
Yes, a TBC is best as it will clean up the signal. However another solution to prevent the ADVC300 from stopping during capture due to analog signal glitches is to use myVCR for capturing. This tiny app does not implement device control, so it will never tell the ADVC300 to stop. Works fine on Mac OSX 10.5.2.

Ken.
kbosward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2008, 02:23 PM   #5
mike david
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Hi,

I have installed leopard and i also have an ADVC 300. I`ll try to test ADVC later.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 12:47 PM   #6
johncharnock
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 9
Default ADVC - Quicktime Pro

I have an ADVC and a new Apple, I was thinking of buying Quicktime Pro. What are the advantages? - I currently capture video from the ADVC as AVi and then edit it with Adobe Premier or just convert it to MP4. Since buying and Apple and Apple TV all my output video needs to be H.264 hence why I was thinking of buying Quicktime Pro. Nero will output H.264 but I am thinking Quicktime may be a better option - any suggestions greatly appreciated.
johncharnock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 12:50 PM   #7
johncharnock
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 9
Default

Does this not defeat the objective of using Quicktime Pro, I have not tested it yet myself yet however. I am trying to reduce my dependacny on multiple video editing and capturing applications.
johncharnock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 07:17 PM   #8
skybluenova
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 2
Default

Leopard OS X 10.5.6
Final Cut Pro (FCP) 6.0.4
ADVC-300 = OK

I'm capturing from Hi8 and VHS to my MacBook, and it's working really flawless. You can use Picture Controller and FCP parallel, just watch out that you don't bring up the PicController Preview window whilst capturing.
skybluenova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 03:24 PM   #9
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skybluenova View Post
just watch out that you don't bring up the PicController Preview window whilst capturing.
Maybe a Mac thing? Last time i checked you could bring up Picture Controller while capturing & also change the settings on the fly (including color correction) and it did not get embedded on the result. This was a PC of course.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius On OSX 10.5 nazmul_i Editing with EDIUS 3 05-19-2008 01:53 AM
MAC and the Storm greggd Editing with EDIUS 1 10-24-2007 03:26 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.