Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2009, 11:32 PM   #1
tdtinker
Senior Member
 
tdtinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 759
Default Editing with external HD

Is anyone editing with external HD using Firewire and if so what drives have you been using?
We are looking at "OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro FireWire 400 + USB 2.0 Combo Drive Solution" dives and "LaCie Hard Disk" 500 GB 7200 RPM.
tdtinker
tdtinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 04:57 PM   #2
Mark Von Lanken
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 65
Default

When I first started editing HDV, I had USB and Firewire external drives. It was really slow going. Then I was told to use eSATA drives and it made HDV footage feel like DV footage. Does your system have an eSATA connection?
__________________
All My Best,
Mark Von Lanken
Picture This Productions, Inc.
www.VonWeddingFilms.com
Mark Von Lanken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 08:25 PM   #3
tdtinker
Senior Member
 
tdtinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 759
Default

No it doesn't. We are going to try OWC drive next week, I'll report my findings.
tdtinker
tdtinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 06:20 AM   #4
SoundFreak
Banned
 
SoundFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Borneo, Malaysia
Posts: 2,298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Von Lanken View Post
When I first started editing HDV, I had USB and Firewire external drives. It was really slow going.
I can Second that, My drawer is full of unusable External Sata / Firewire / USB combo etc. devices, it simply won't fly.
Use the above recommended eSata or Internal Caddy's with bare naked sata drives, it will fly.
SoundFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 06:09 AM   #5
krayzkrok
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Darwin
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdtinker View Post
Is anyone editing with external HD using Firewire and if so what drives have you been using?
We are looking at "OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro FireWire 400 + USB 2.0 Combo Drive Solution" dives and "LaCie Hard Disk" 500 GB 7200 RPM.
tdtinker
I've been editing for quite a while using a WD MyBook Studio Edition (firewire 400/800, 1Tb) - http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.asp?driveid=374

It's formatted for Mac but I use it on my PC just fine over firewire. Editing DVC PRO HD footage is no problem. It occasionally grinds when I have large images in the timeline for some reason, but I'm not sure if that's a drive issue or a memory issue (I only have 2Gb RAM).

The only annoyance with it, which seems common to these WD drives, is that occasionally when I boot the PC it fails to recognise the drive. A soft reset on the drive usually fixes it.
krayzkrok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 04:46 PM   #6
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

Firewire devices are a big pain for Windows - because M$ does not want to support them properly. For example, while there are Firewire 800 devices, there aren't any native device driver for a Firewire 800 host card.

If you plug a Firewire 400 device into a Mac - versus a USB 480 - you will find the Firewire faster than the USB device. On Windows, mostly it is the other way round.

In theory, Firewire 400 devices are indeed faster than USB 480 devices, despite the raw transfer speed being faster. Firewire has less overheads than USB.

Of course, both devices are out-gunned by eSATA devices.
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 09:49 AM   #7
SoundFreak
Banned
 
SoundFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Borneo, Malaysia
Posts: 2,298
Default

If you still want to go the firewire route you might want to use a better designed 1394 driver than the M$ windows inhouse driver.

The driver from a third party company will allow you to replace the (since XP SP2 speed capped) 1394 driver with their own driver through the use of a nifty interface window.

A while ago I posted a similar fix which involved manually changing the registry, now with this diverpack utility you can switch (using their graphical interface) between the existing M$ driver and theirs in a matter of 2 seconds, also switching back again to the original M$ driver takes the same 2 seconds.

No need to reboot for it to take effect, after a couple of cpu cycles the drivers is loaded and fully functional.

you can find it at http://www.alliedvisiontec.com/avt-products/software/avt-1394-bus-driver-package.html

They have 32 & 64 Bit drivers to please everybody.

Maybe this is also a help for @ll the users who have issues with the external ADVC converters .................
SoundFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 09:54 AM   #8
SoundFreak
Banned
 
SoundFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Borneo, Malaysia
Posts: 2,298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tingsern View Post
For example, while there are Firewire 800 devices, there aren't any native device driver for a Firewire 800 host card.
Actually, I found them a while back, they do exist, but not from M$. (see post above)
As I'm using, sorry, rephrase, having a couple of firewire 800 cards I never stopped looking for a driver ..........

edit; for system builder, tweakers, geeks, if you go to the driver properties in your system properties/device manager/1394 bus host controllers/properties/advanced, you can change several settings in the driver (if you know what you are doing)

Last edited by SoundFreak; 07-17-2009 at 10:08 AM.
SoundFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 10:53 AM   #9
Videoguys
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Old Bethpage NY
Posts: 9
Default

We recommend G-Tech G-Raid3 for HDV editing. It has FUSB,Firewire and eSata conections. While you can get by with USB or firewire, eSata gives far better throughput and results.

G=Tech GRAIDs are very well designed. They stay cool. Heat is the enemy of external hard drives.

For more info


Gary
Videoguys is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD to external monitor with laptop DMS Video Editing with EDIUS 3 01-19-2009 08:22 PM
Editing HD on SD time line for perfomance mattie Editing with EDIUS 17 11-23-2008 01:17 PM
Editing in HD - best settings? gerbow Editing with EDIUS 21 11-04-2008 01:40 AM
XDCAM HD editing feel?? Raja Editing with EDIUS 7 07-01-2008 12:37 AM
GIGABYTE GA-X38-DQ6 for HD editing ? zb21 Editing with EDIUS 9 02-08-2008 02:51 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.