Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2019, 08:01 PM   #1
spurfilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 507
Default HDSTORM & EDIUS v9

I know HDSTORM is officially EOL (end of lifed).

However, two people have told me that HDSTORM works fine in EDIUS v9 if you copy the drivers across from an earlier version.

For those of you who have HDSTORM running with v9, I would like to know what happens if you are working on a UHD project, will HDSTORM output anything?
__________________
Rick
SPURFILM
EDIUS WG 9.50.5351 Tower > Win10 Pro 64-bit on 512GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD, Nanoxia Deep Silence Case, Asus X99-S Mobo, Intel i7-5820K Haswell-E @ 3.30GHz O/C to 4GHz, 32GB Crucial DDR4 @ 2133MHz, NVIDIA GeForce 980 Ti 6GB + dual 1920x1080 monitors, BM Intensity Pro 4K + 3840x2160 monitor, LG Blu-Ray writer, Storage: 16TB WD RED RAID0. EDIUS WG 9.50.5351 Field Laptop > Acer P645-M, 14" 1920x1080, 256GB SSD, Win7 Pro 64-bit, Intel dual-core i7-4500U Haswell @ 1.8GHz, 8GB DDR3.
spurfilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2019, 10:22 PM   #2
Liverpool TV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Liverpool, England.
Posts: 2,898
Default

Hi Rick.

Here's that image.

Cheers,
dave.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled.jpg (376.1 KB, 50 views)
__________________
"There's only one thing more powerful than knowledge. The free sharing of it"

If you don't know the difference between Azimuth and Asimov, then either your tapes sound bad and your Robot is very dangerous. Kill all humans...... Or your tape deck won't harm a human, and your Robot's tracking and stereo imagining is spot on.

Is your Robot three laws safe?
Liverpool TV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 07:22 AM   #3
spurfilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 507
Default

Dave, thanks for the image showing how EDIUS 9 handles monitoring hardware. You say this screen-grab was taken of a UHD 50p project.

Interesting that EDIUS says the maximum resolution for the Intensity Pro 4K is 50p, when its specs are only 25p.

Or, alternatively, perhaps EDIUS is telling us that the maximum that it can output to the card is 50p, even though it will only appear as 25p on the monitor.
__________________
Rick
SPURFILM
EDIUS WG 9.50.5351 Tower > Win10 Pro 64-bit on 512GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD, Nanoxia Deep Silence Case, Asus X99-S Mobo, Intel i7-5820K Haswell-E @ 3.30GHz O/C to 4GHz, 32GB Crucial DDR4 @ 2133MHz, NVIDIA GeForce 980 Ti 6GB + dual 1920x1080 monitors, BM Intensity Pro 4K + 3840x2160 monitor, LG Blu-Ray writer, Storage: 16TB WD RED RAID0. EDIUS WG 9.50.5351 Field Laptop > Acer P645-M, 14" 1920x1080, 256GB SSD, Win7 Pro 64-bit, Intel dual-core i7-4500U Haswell @ 1.8GHz, 8GB DDR3.
spurfilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 09:14 AM   #4
spurfilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 507
Default

I have just upgraded to 9WG and will install a new BM Intensity Pro 4K today. I will report my findings later.
__________________
Rick
SPURFILM
EDIUS WG 9.50.5351 Tower > Win10 Pro 64-bit on 512GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD, Nanoxia Deep Silence Case, Asus X99-S Mobo, Intel i7-5820K Haswell-E @ 3.30GHz O/C to 4GHz, 32GB Crucial DDR4 @ 2133MHz, NVIDIA GeForce 980 Ti 6GB + dual 1920x1080 monitors, BM Intensity Pro 4K + 3840x2160 monitor, LG Blu-Ray writer, Storage: 16TB WD RED RAID0. EDIUS WG 9.50.5351 Field Laptop > Acer P645-M, 14" 1920x1080, 256GB SSD, Win7 Pro 64-bit, Intel dual-core i7-4500U Haswell @ 1.8GHz, 8GB DDR3.
spurfilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 09:53 AM   #5
Liverpool TV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Liverpool, England.
Posts: 2,898
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spurfilm View Post
Dave, thanks for the image showing how EDIUS 9 handles monitoring hardware. You say this screen-grab was taken of a UHD 50p project.

Interesting that EDIUS says the maximum resolution for the Intensity Pro 4K is 50p, when its specs are only 25p.

Or, alternatively, perhaps EDIUS is telling us that the maximum that it can output to the card is 50p, even though it will only appear as 25p on the monitor.
Hi Rick.

Unless I’ve totally lost the plot, which is arguably my usual state of mind anyway :) I’m seeing UHD 50 out of the back end of the BM.

If I frame advance the timeline, every frame is showing up on the UHD monitor. If I play it real-time, the temporal resolution is correct.

At first I thought that Edius was scaling the UHD to HD so the card could play the temporal resolution correctly at the expense of picture resolution. But this wasn’t the case as I also changed the project’s resolution to HD and there was a definite change in resolution detail (lower) on the UHD monitor compared to the UHD 50 output. Both HD 50 and UHD 50 looked temporally correct via the BM????

Strange thing is that nothing happens at UHD 60, Edius just reverts back to software mode and doesn’t communicate with the BM card????

BTW. It also worked with no conversion selected.

Maybe Anton has tried this? Although I don’t know if he uses one of those cards.

Cheers,
Dave.
__________________
"There's only one thing more powerful than knowledge. The free sharing of it"

If you don't know the difference between Azimuth and Asimov, then either your tapes sound bad and your Robot is very dangerous. Kill all humans...... Or your tape deck won't harm a human, and your Robot's tracking and stereo imagining is spot on.

Is your Robot three laws safe?
Liverpool TV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 10:30 AM   #6
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,122
Default

it could be that a driver update from BM enabled UHD 50p on that card

according to their website, it does not support 50p in UHD res, but I will see the BM crew this Wednesday at a trade show and will ask them
https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/au/...specs/W-INT-05

this card however does 50p UHD
https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/au/...specs/W-DLK-25
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 10:46 AM   #7
spurfilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 507
Default

Quote:
I will see the BM crew this Wednesday at a trade show
Fascinating. Perhaps a hidden feature - especially since it only seems to be available for 50p and not 60p.
__________________
Rick
SPURFILM
EDIUS WG 9.50.5351 Tower > Win10 Pro 64-bit on 512GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD, Nanoxia Deep Silence Case, Asus X99-S Mobo, Intel i7-5820K Haswell-E @ 3.30GHz O/C to 4GHz, 32GB Crucial DDR4 @ 2133MHz, NVIDIA GeForce 980 Ti 6GB + dual 1920x1080 monitors, BM Intensity Pro 4K + 3840x2160 monitor, LG Blu-Ray writer, Storage: 16TB WD RED RAID0. EDIUS WG 9.50.5351 Field Laptop > Acer P645-M, 14" 1920x1080, 256GB SSD, Win7 Pro 64-bit, Intel dual-core i7-4500U Haswell @ 1.8GHz, 8GB DDR3.
spurfilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 11:31 AM   #8
Liverpool TV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Liverpool, England.
Posts: 2,898
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
it could be that a driver update from BM enabled UHD 50p on that card

according to their website, it does not support 50p in UHD res, but I will see the BM crew this Wednesday at a trade show and will ask them
https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/au/...specs/W-INT-05

this card however does 50p UHD
https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/au/...specs/W-DLK-25
Hi Anton.

I was suspecting something similar but the card definitely wonít do UHD 50 in Edius 8. Iím assuming that the same driver would be used for 8 and 9, and that driver is BMís and not a GV specific one that takes over.

Iím not sure if the output function in E9WG, the still I attached, is actually saying that those Ďup toí rates are what the card is definitely capable of, which I assume it could only know from the driver.

The really odd thing and bear in mind I donít know for sure what version of HDMI the BM card uses. But Iíd assumed it was the bandwidth on its HDMI that was restricting UHD 50 etc. Although thereís probably enough for anything below 10bit 4:2:2. The card itself is 10 bit RGB at 1080 50, so maybe even if lower colour setting were possible at higher frame rates, BM may not have allowed them as it couldnít go up to RGB.

Thereís a bunch of YUV stuff Iím sure the cardís HDMI socket spec is capable of even if it canít do RGB 4K 50 etc.

Iíll send you and Rick a video showing this working.

Cheers,
Dave.
__________________
"There's only one thing more powerful than knowledge. The free sharing of it"

If you don't know the difference between Azimuth and Asimov, then either your tapes sound bad and your Robot is very dangerous. Kill all humans...... Or your tape deck won't harm a human, and your Robot's tracking and stereo imagining is spot on.

Is your Robot three laws safe?
Liverpool TV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EDIUS v9.31b4196 GrassValley_SL Editing with EDIUS 0 11-15-2018 12:19 PM
EDIUS v9.20b3340 franceschilla5 Editing with EDIUS 0 04-08-2018 08:50 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:14 AM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.