Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2012, 02:10 AM   #1
Jonathan Lyle
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Default Newbie advice

hi there,

I am returning to the field and I need advice. I want to work with Edius 6.5 with ADVC 110 for importing. I use a Canon D60 and I want the option of working with component footage aswell, will the following desktop be sufficent.???
AMD A8-5500 Quad Core
10 GB DDR3 Ram
1 TB HDD
DVDRW
USB 3.0 Ports
ACER AM3420
windows home premium 64 bit.

Also , if this isn't adequate what more do I need and is it possible to use a laptop with Edius and ADVC 110?

Thankyou, Jon
Jonathan Lyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 03:46 AM   #2
SoundFreak_HD
Senior Member
 
SoundFreak_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,410
Cool

I can't comment on AMD system's as the last one I've used was 10+ years ago, but as a rule of thumb any medium to higher range setup that is recent of make will suffice for 'ordinary' requirements.

The more 'alien' the source material the more rules have to be followed.
Any spec is also directly linked to your editing 'style', realtime needs and export speeds you expect, a nice 'cheap' system to benchmark with would be an intel i7 2600k as a powerful budget system.

For GV hardware you should look at a HDstorm mobile.
It does composite, component and HDMI, and if you buy it as a desktop solution you can just purchase an I.O. card for a laptop and swap the device between them, pretty flexible and cost effective ..........

P.s as for the laptop it is surely possible to use it with Edius, but to find a model with an IEEE1394 port on it will be a daunting task :)
__________________
Tony D.

EDIUS WG 9.51 / MATROX MXO2 LE / WIN10 Pro WS / LENOVO P71 Workstation laptop / XEON E3-1535M v6 / nVidia QUADRO P3000 6GB / Toshiba M.2 NVMe 512GB / Samsung 860 EVO 4TB / 32GB ECC RAM.

EDIUS WG 8.53
/ HDRX-E1 + HDBX-1000 H / WIN10 Pro / DUAL XEON X5470 / SUPERMICRO X7DWA-N / SUPERMICRO SUPERCHASIS SC745TQ-920B / INTEL 520 SSD 240GB / WD CAVIAR BLACK 4TB (many) / 32GB ECC RAM / GTX 770 4GB / 2x MOTU 896HD.


wavearts / neatvideo / tmpgenc / hitfilm / imaginate

Last edited by SoundFreak_HD; 10-06-2012 at 03:54 AM.
SoundFreak_HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 12:11 AM   #3
dpalomaki
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,891
Default

Keep in mind that the ADVC 110 does SD video input from S-VIDEO and composite inputs, not component. It does not do HD.

From what sources do you wish to capture?

Not clear if you have separate hard drives for video.
dpalomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 02:17 PM   #4
Jonathan Lyle
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for the reply,

I will be importing hd movie clips from an SD card shot on a Canon D60 DSLR. I also want the option of importing Svideo, VHS, 8mm, etc.
Jonathan Lyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 02:19 PM   #5
Jonathan Lyle
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Default

The system only has one drive with 1tb capacity.
Thankyou
Jonathan Lyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 01:03 AM   #6
Bluetongue
Senior Member
 
Bluetongue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide South Australia
Posts: 2,197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonathan Lyle View Post
The system only has one drive with 1tb capacity.
Thankyou
To get the best out of any system you need a second disk just for the video content, otherwise you will experience problems lke the program locking etc
All NLE's have the same problem, no matter how fast

Regards Barry
__________________
Win 10HP, EDIUS WG9.4, HD Spark, Boris RED 5, VMW6, Authorworks 6, Bluff Titler, VisTitler 2.8, NEAT 3/4, Mercalli 2/4, Vitascene, Izotope RX6 Plugin, NewBlue, Trend Micro AV
GB GA-X58A-UD3R MB, i7 990X@4G, 12G 1600mhz Mem, Samsung EVO-250G SSD, 3x2T RAID, GTX 970W OC, 2x24 inch LG Monitors
Canon XH-A1/ Canon HF-G30, GoPro Hero3 Black, Edit @1920 50p HQ preset

https://vimeo.com/user2157719/videos
Laptop ASUS G752VT-GC060T Win 10HP, Edius WG8.53 Samsung M2 SSD 256G+1Tb HD,
Bluetongue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie says hello cinnabull Editing with EDIUS 5 06-01-2009 07:47 PM
ADVC300 newbie help! ksharma ADVC 1 02-09-2009 10:31 PM
Another newbie question.... MnSenate Editing with EDIUS 5 12-23-2008 12:30 AM
ProCoder3 newbie Suprobhat ProCoder 10 11-07-2007 06:16 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.