Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Old 06-30-2008, 05:54 PM   #1
nmccarthy6

Default Upper Field Project Setting

*********SOLVED************

I took advice on the second page to update 4.5 with 4.61 and it solved this field issue. The files I am exporting are not blurry any longer.

I am an editor at a News Station and we use MPEG2 upper field files for everything, including editing. I am running into a curious problem with Edius and am hoping someone can help me solve it.

When I import our MPEG2 clips into edius, Edius has no problem editing them... I can even export MPEG2 files with all the correct settings for the station without any problems. Props to Edius...

The problem is this:
When I export my footage looks like it has been antialiased. There is a soft blur on everything I export. When i do the same edit in Premiere Pro with the MainConcepts mpeg plugin I don't have this problem, the footage is crisp and clear.

If I create a new project with a progressive timeline I lose the antialiased look and everything becomes crystal clear except now motion is jittery due to field problems.

So I am hoping there is a way to create a new project with upper field since my only choices are lower and progressive. (I cannot change the stations use of upper field btw). Even if I can change this setting somehow and create an upper field project, I don't even know if it will solve my problems.

Anyone else run into this problem?

Thanks a bunch.

Last edited by nmccarthy6; 07-01-2008 at 08:10 PM.
nmccarthy6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 07:07 PM   #2
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle

A couple of things:

- There is currently no 'upper field' preset for SD when using software-only. The only available preset is based off DV specs which are the odd-man out and use lower field. If you have EDIUS hardware, you can choose an upper field project preset (720x468 D1).