Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2011, 03:00 AM   #11
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,725
Default

I was wondering. It looked like all of those were possibly running. Thanks!
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 04:59 AM   #12
Philip
Senior Member
 
Philip's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 690
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_SL View Post
But then you need to make these your own.
Keyboard-shorts:
N =in
Alt N = in with ripple
M
Alt+M = out with ripple

Shift+ alt drag

If you use those there is no need to ever using ripple mode and you will stay sane.
Based on the original poster's question those keystrokes may not make sense to him. I know what they are but he may not so to add a little to the shortcuts.....assuming your ripple mode is off

N - places a cut at the position of your timeline cursor and deletes everything from the highlighted clip in front of the the cursor to the in point of that clip. Nothing else moves on your timeline. All sync remains.

Alt+N = places a cut in the highlighted clip at the point of your cursor and ripple deletes everything from position of the timeline cursor to the beginning point of the highlighted clip.

M and ALT+M do the exact same thing except they cut/delete to the end of the clip.

Shift+Alt drag lets you move/drag all the clips from your cursor position to the end all in one big bunch. All sync remains.

One other thing that helps me is I almost always edit in "Overwrite" mode. Insert mode will make things move around at times in ways you may not want depending on your workflow. Insert/Overwrite mode should depend on how you are editing and what you need to happen. Just happens most of my projects work best with Overwrite mode.

Hope all this helps. I edit projects similar to yours all the time and have no problems with sync plus I don't have to do long renders like that editing app from the "fruity" company.

If you haven't watched the E6 tutorials on the Grass Valley site you really should as they explain alot of the new features, some of which appear to be causing you problems.
__________________
Main System. MSI G33m Motherboard, Intel Q6600 CPU, 2GB Ram, GeForce 9500GT, 7200rpm System drive. WinXP. Lots of external eSATA drives.

Laptop. Sony Vaio. CPU- i7-Gen 3, 8gb RAM, 1tbb 5400rpm hard drive, AMD GPU
Philip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 05:03 AM   #13
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,815
Default

I use insert mode most of the time because you have the right click drag feature which enables overwrite at will for an instance

Everything I do produces predictable results. :)
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 03:21 PM   #14
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,725
Default

I would say that 90% (it may be higher) of the time when there is a timeline problem it is ripple mode that is the culprit. As Steve said, using the insert mode also allows overwrite but ripple is always ripple.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 07:33 PM   #15
JohnnyD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles CA
Posts: 728
Default

What's the default when installing 6.02? Is sync ON and ripple OFF? It's seems it should be. I wouldn't know, cause still using the NX board.

JohnnyD
__________________
Edius7, 4790K, 16G, Win7, GTX970ti MatroxLE
2nd Sys.,Edius5.51, 2700K, 16G, GTX1060, Win7
Atari 400
JohnFellersProd
JohnnyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 08:37 PM   #16
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,815
Default

Default is sync on "get user in trouble mode" on. :(
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 08:43 PM   #17
pjsssss
Senior Member
 
pjsssss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 4,996
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_SL View Post
Default is sync on "get user in trouble mode" on. :(
LOL. I think I will start calling ripple mode that.
In my training, I say Ripple mode is Evil.
pjsssss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 02:53 AM   #18
Rusty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,399
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pjsssss View Post
LOL. I think I will start calling ripple mode that.
In my training, I say Ripple mode is Evil.
Careful Pat...
Some of us LOVE Ripple mode and have learned to appreciate the uber-usefulness of its' rippley-goodness.
Having the Ripple Mode button visible was a long and hard fought battle and should not be under estimated!

Thanks for listening to users GV!

If Ripple Mode is evil, I know where I'll spend eternity.
__________________
Rusty Rogers | Films
>TYAN S7025 - 32GB RAM, 2 x Xeon X5690's, 4 x 10k video HD's, Win10 x64, BM DecklinkHD, nVidia TITAN, 12TB DroboPro w/iSCISI connection
>RAZER BLADE - QHD+ - 16GB RAM, i7-6700HQ Quad, 512GB SSD, Win10 x64, GeForce GTX 1060 6GB

An inglorious peace is better than a dishonorable war.
Twain - "Glances at History" 1906
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 02:56 AM   #19
EraseAndRewind
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Paradise
Posts: 208
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rusty View Post
If Ripple Mode is evil, I know where I'll spend eternity.
Looks I have a friend in that forsaken place :)
__________________
E5.51 + E6.05 / NX HD / Win7 x64 / intel X3366 / 9800 GTX+
Imaginate 2 / TMPGEnc VMW5 / TMPGEnc AW4 / WaveLab 4.
EraseAndRewind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 04:21 AM   #20
pjsssss
Senior Member
 
pjsssss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 4,996
Default

The fact is that you can have a ripple effect almost anytime you want with Ripple mode off. The best of both worlds with simple keyboard shortcuts.
pjsssss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ideas on troubleshooting ADVC 100 williamschriss ADVC 1 12-03-2009 12:33 AM
16:9 to 4:3 any ideas cinnabull Editing with EDIUS 2 10-08-2009 09:58 AM
any ideas what this is ?????????? john santerineross ADVC 1 07-31-2007 02:01 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:48 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.