Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2011, 09:33 PM   #1
lauri
Senior Member
 
lauri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Staten Island NY
Posts: 501
Default Cutting to the beat using Edius

I have always found it a pain to cut to the beat with edius.
I am musically inclined so the typical downbeat is easy.

The problem I find is when there are multiple beats in a row like
tata,tata,tata,tata,tata even though I am anticipating the beats and hitting it with the V marker I always need to adjust the markers.

Viewing the audio cache is not very good either as there are hidden beats that you cannot see.

What have other people used or done when they need to cut to the beat in a more advanced syncopated manner?

Thanks
Lauri
__________________
Using Edius 6
lauri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 09:48 PM   #2
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,725
Default

I take the time to 5 to 10 frames and look
for peaks and valleys. From there on I do it
by feel. We all have our own method to do
things....in other words, there is no right or
wrong way. Discovery is one of the pleasures
I get when editing.
Don't take this comment the wrong way.
From all of your questions on how to do
things and your system issues, I don't
see you having fun. Try not to overthink
every procedure. Have fun :)!
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 10:02 PM   #3
mattie
Senior Member
 
mattie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 991
Default

the siingle biggest thing u can do to improve matters is make sure your audio is wav 48kz 16 or 24 bit

MP3, AAC, etc simply wont keep in sych as u move about the time line and u will be forever moving V marks

hope this helps

simply convert any MP3's etc into WAV and away u go
mattie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 10:47 PM   #4
pjsssss
Senior Member
 
pjsssss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 4,996
Default

Expand the height of the audio track to 4 or 5 and move the timeline scale to around 10 frames. That should make the waveform easier to read.
pjsssss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 10:31 AM   #5
lauri
Senior Member
 
lauri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Staten Island NY
Posts: 501
Default

Even when expanding the waveform you still don't see all the spikes that refer to the beats. All my audio is 48kz and wave. You can see some beats but that's about all otherwise it is all meshed together like mashed potatoes.

Oh well I thought perhaps someone had a better way to see the beats.
Back to doing it the hard way. I play the song then mark on the fly...
As I said using this method you need to anticipate the beat to compensate for the slight delay on the keyboard....

Thanks all for your input...

Lauri
__________________
Using Edius 6
lauri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 06:52 PM   #6
masoudtr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: mashhad
Posts: 17
Default

I have the way may be you like to it
I use adobe premiere 6.5 to find the beat
it is so easy because every beat are so clear
then i put the with sign in every beat and the I export it in a avi format
and put it in edius and the in every white sign I know I have a beat then I make my own project
masoudtr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 07:54 PM   #7
CentralEurope
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austria / Center from €urope
Posts: 1,688
Default

what for "waveform-settings" did you use ??
eventually can help this from a other thread ??


Quote:
picture_1 ==> waveformsetting = Log (db) ==> unable to synch



================================================== =====================O


Bild_2 ==> change waveformsetting to ==> Linear % ==> able to synch



================================================== =====================O

picture_2 ==> where to change (Settings >> Applikationsetting >> Timeline >> Wafeform



sorry for the german text in the picture ... (it is from the german GV-forum)

================================================== =====================O

Have you try the Linear % waveformsetting ??

additional for fast work:

zoom in the timeline with [ctrl] + [+] ....... [+] from the numblock
zoom out the timeline with [ctrl] + [-] ....... [-] from the numblock
or
zoom the timeline in/out with [ctrl] + mouse-wheels


Please, excuse my fractal english....friendly greetings from CentralEurope

.
__________________
CentralEurope aka Hans
voluntary / unpaid moderator from the german GV-forum ... Edius 4.61 up to Edius 9.xx
i9-7980XE 18cores/36threads - M.2 960PRO 512GB - M.2 970PRO 1TB - div. 2 or4TB disks - 32GB DDR4-3600 - GTX 1080 8GB - Win_10prof
[the AMD 1950X 16cores / 32 threads = go return because of massive problems, Not only I had these problems]
CentralEurope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 01:01 AM   #8
pjsssss
Senior Member
 
pjsssss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 4,996
Default

Good point Hans. I guess we assume that everyone is using Linear at this point.
pjsssss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 08:41 AM   #9
PaulTV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ibiza
Posts: 1,800
Default

One thing that has never made it from linear editing systems to NLE's is "set reaction time" This was a user defined setting in milliseconds which shifted the cut point backwards by the selected amount, thus, as you play the clip and "beat" cut points, they would be shifted by your personal "amount" or your "reaction time" making a very accurate cutting to the beat function.

All your marvelous multicams etc etc are so poor in response time, that a "reaction time" setting could make this really accurate....

Olde Skool

Paul :-)
__________________
Edius Edits at: http://www.vimeo.com/user781619/videos

Edius 9.5 Asus X79 4930K 6 core @4.4GHz Water Cooled. 480GB REVO3x2 System drive, 4TB Raid 0, 4 TB E-Sata Raid 5, 32GB RAM, GTX1070Ti Decklink HD Extreme. 3X Sony AX53 Sony AX700

http://indiestereographer.blogspot.co.uk
PaulTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 10:11 AM   #10
lauri
Senior Member
 
lauri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Staten Island NY
Posts: 501
Default

Yes I always use linear. The graph does not show all the primary beats.
I have tested this time and time again. Even when using an exploded view.

Perhaps in Edius 7 they can work on that.... lol
__________________
Using Edius 6
lauri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EDIUS 6 - cutting selects RIGHT side... zvit Editing with EDIUS 20 08-19-2016 11:16 AM
Edius 6 is great for cutting. Red Union Films Editing with EDIUS 2 12-29-2010 02:12 AM
Edius 6 cutting 8 bit video in 10 bit timeline. Red Union Films Editing with EDIUS 2 12-02-2010 09:56 PM
Edius 5 with eeePC: cutting and assembling ? info please. Ulisse Editing with EDIUS 15 08-13-2009 09:01 AM
Cutting for YouTube tarkken Editing with EDIUS 5 09-27-2007 02:09 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:26 AM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.