Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2009, 03:49 AM   #1
MinMinc.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Gilbert Arizona
Posts: 149
Default One more service pack question...????

I began a service pack update from 2 to 3...went to windows update and went to install the updates. I go the box stating installation status, and that the Initialzing installation is done. and a installing progress bar came up and four green progress bars came up in about 20 minutes, looks like another 50 to go....seemed to have stopped installing...any idea what to do, let it go overnight, dont want to stop it and risk screwing up the computer. ps the estimated time at my connection speed was 33 minutes.....please help. Gary
MinMinc. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 04:50 AM   #2
Rusty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,399
Default

Long as your internet connection is working you should be fine.
If you stop, clear your cache before trying again.
BTW, E5 works great with SP3. (now OT) :~)
__________________
Rusty Rogers | Films
>TYAN S7025 - 32GB RAM, 2 x Xeon X5690's, 4 x 10k video HD's, Win10 x64, BM DecklinkHD, nVidia TITAN, 12TB DroboPro w/iSCISI connection
>RAZER BLADE - QHD+ - 16GB RAM, i7-6700HQ Quad, 512GB SSD, Win10 x64, GeForce GTX 1060 6GB

An inglorious peace is better than a dishonorable war.
Twain - "Glances at History" 1906
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 06:01 AM   #3
redgum
Senior Member
 
redgum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Brisbane Qld
Posts: 471
Default

SP3 is fussy with hardware. In fact MS has a warning on the download version if some part of your system is too slow not to proceed. Could you have missed any such warning?
The CD version doesn't appear to have this restriction. If you stop the dowmload SP3 will simply reverse the process (undo).
redgum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 09:13 AM   #4
swsw1550
Senior Member
 
swsw1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast,Queensland
Posts: 1,910
Default

You shouldn't have any problems at all with SP3, it is normally only about 60 to 70 mg in size if you use Microsoft update, and don't download the full version,
system Requirments min:
A 233 megahertz (MHz) processor
64 megabytes (MB) of RAM
900 MB of available disk space during installation

the update is basicly network improvements, Security, stability updates,enhanced functionalities, general fixes that might have been missed with SP1 or SP2, anyway go for it, you shouldn't have any problems ( use Microsoft Update)

Steve
swsw1550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 05:14 PM   #5
MinMinc.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Gilbert Arizona
Posts: 149
Default

The only reason I was going to update (which locked up during download, haven't tried the cd route)...was because cs4 won't allow me to load the program without service pack 3....anyone with the same experience...Gary
MinMinc. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 09:18 PM   #6
pjsssss
Senior Member
 
pjsssss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 4,996
Default

Sorry, I can't help. I already had SP3 on the computer when I loaded CS4.
pjsssss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 09:38 PM   #7
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,571
Default

I would download the "Windows XP Service Pack 3 Network Installation Package for IT Professionals and Developers", which is a single large file that can be run independently of an Internet connection. It is intended to be used for updating multiple PCs to avoid repeated downloads, which can be slow and consume lots of network bandwidth.

I've heard that there are situations under which the Windows Update update to XP SP3 doesn't update all files, whereas the Network Installation Package doesn't have the problem.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 10:16 PM   #8
swsw1550
Senior Member
 
swsw1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast,Queensland
Posts: 1,910
Default

Just let Microsoft update do it for you, it is only 60 to 70meg normally, and the new CS4 does need SP3 to install. I have tried the full Network installation package download on computers and have had it fail at about 3/4 the way through the install.

Steve
swsw1550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 05:16 AM   #9
SoundFreak
Banned
 
SoundFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Borneo, Malaysia
Posts: 2,298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by THoff View Post
I would download the "Windows XP Service Pack 3 Network Installation Package for IT Professionals and Developers", which is a single large file that can be run independently of an Internet connection.
When making use of a download manager like FDM http://www.freedownloadmanager.org/download.htm or Orbit http://www.orbitdownloader.com/ (both free) it doesn't matter how long it takes or you can even do it in several sessions spanning days apart, it will auto resume where it left of, providing the file on the hosting server is still available and unchanged.

It is always advisable to download update's in full to your HDD, only then install, this rule of thumb applies actually for any software update, never use download and install, or install while downloading if possible, to avoid problems.

Note : I use Orbit daily to get trail version etc, it's spyware / adware free and works well.
For beginners FDM is a cleaner / easier interface, there are of course many others available .............

Last edited by SoundFreak; 01-13-2009 at 05:23 AM.
SoundFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 08:12 PM   #10
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

I use FlashGot and DownThemAll, but I'm a Firefox fan. :)

While we're on the subject, it's also best practice to extract archives to a temporary folder, then install. While WinZip and other archive managers will often let you run Setup files and such directly, often times this causes problems as not all installation files are accessible.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A tough Question Xylikiticatacoltyx Editing with EDIUS 48 01-26-2009 07:24 PM
Service pack Question MinMinc. Editing with EDIUS 1 01-12-2009 01:38 AM
Service Pack 3 - install or no...? leethomas Editing with EDIUS 4 09-15-2008 01:55 AM
AVCHD workflow question with E5 and new hardware zb21 Editing with EDIUS 1 09-13-2008 09:34 PM
Same old TMP pro question tdtinker Editing with EDIUS 4 10-31-2007 05:57 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.