Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2009, 11:53 PM   #1
TrackRanger
Senior Member
 
TrackRanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 215
Default External Preview Monitor Hardware Question

I have Edius 5, and HX-E1 hardware with external bay. I want to connect my Acer PF241W LCD as an external monitor via HDMI for use as an external real-time preview monitor with Edius.

What hardware to I need to add to my system? Is HDSpark HDStorm or HDThunder the way to go and do they co-exist with or replace the HX-E1?

What settings do I need to make in Edius to view output on this monitor?

TIA
__________________
Intel Quad Core Extreme 3GHz/12M, 4Gb RAM, 2Tb Hot-swap (ARAID), NVIDIA GeoForce 8800 GTS, Edius Broadcast 4.61 / Edius 5.5, Procoder 3, DVDit Pro HD, Sonicfire Pro 5, Mercalli, Vitascene, Adorage. TwinPact 100, Pegasus, TMPro. VirtualDub
TrackRanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 12:53 AM   #2
Rusty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,399
Default

I'm not familiar with the HX-E1, but if it's like the NX why not save the cost of another copy of E5 and get a converter?
__________________
Rusty Rogers | Films
>TYAN S7025 - 32GB RAM, 2 x Xeon X5690's, 4 x 10k video HD's, Win10 x64, BM DecklinkHD, nVidia TITAN, 12TB DroboPro w/iSCISI connection
>RAZER BLADE - QHD+ - 16GB RAM, i7-6700HQ Quad, 512GB SSD, Win10 x64, GeForce GTX 1060 6GB

An inglorious peace is better than a dishonorable war.
Twain - "Glances at History" 1906

Last edited by Rusty; 01-03-2009 at 12:54 AM. Reason: '
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 01:19 AM   #3
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,503
Default

Rusty, the HX-E1 is the Nx card (PCI-X version)

To answer the question, I'd not bother with it if at all. I would simply get a monitor with component input. I've tested side by side component and HDMi from the NX and HDSpark/HDStorm, and I dont see any difference between the two (image quality wise).

So put the money you would have spent on a Spark into a good component monitor and use the output from the Nx card assuming you have the expansion board?

This way you wont need to change output settings for capturing and preview as well..
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 02:24 AM   #4
TrackRanger
Senior Member
 
TrackRanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 215
Default

Thanks Mark. Yes, the HX-E1 is the NX. I have the expansion card and the external bay. What monitor do you recommend? (I've already got the Acer 24" currently unused). I don't need a broadcast quality rated monitor for this setup
__________________
Intel Quad Core Extreme 3GHz/12M, 4Gb RAM, 2Tb Hot-swap (ARAID), NVIDIA GeoForce 8800 GTS, Edius Broadcast 4.61 / Edius 5.5, Procoder 3, DVDit Pro HD, Sonicfire Pro 5, Mercalli, Vitascene, Adorage. TwinPact 100, Pegasus, TMPro. VirtualDub

Last edited by TrackRanger; 01-03-2009 at 03:13 AM.
TrackRanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 02:53 AM   #5
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

I use a broadcast monitor (Panasonic LH1700W) - component output from NX card (PCI-X version - same as yours) and connect them together. VERY GOOD. It might be way over budget for you.
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 04:06 AM   #6
TrackRanger
Senior Member
 
TrackRanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rusty View Post
I'm not familiar with the HX-E1, but if it's like the NX why not save the cost of another copy of E5 and get a converter?
Hi Rusty. Do you use a converter from your NX card, and what settings do you make in Edius for the video to appear on the NX bay Video Out connector?

Thanks
__________________
Intel Quad Core Extreme 3GHz/12M, 4Gb RAM, 2Tb Hot-swap (ARAID), NVIDIA GeoForce 8800 GTS, Edius Broadcast 4.61 / Edius 5.5, Procoder 3, DVDit Pro HD, Sonicfire Pro 5, Mercalli, Vitascene, Adorage. TwinPact 100, Pegasus, TMPro. VirtualDub
TrackRanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 03:37 PM   #7
Rusty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,399
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrackRanger View Post
Hi Rusty. Do you use a converter from your NX card, and what settings do you make in Edius for the video to appear on the NX bay Video Out connector?

Thanks
I have no HDMI on my edit bay gear... component works nicely.
shueardm said it all, who can tell the difference? Sure there may be technical differences and improvments, but I haven't fallen for the HDMI hype.
__________________
Rusty Rogers | Films
>TYAN S7025 - 32GB RAM, 2 x Xeon X5690's, 4 x 10k video HD's, Win10 x64, BM DecklinkHD, nVidia TITAN, 12TB DroboPro w/iSCISI connection
>RAZER BLADE - QHD+ - 16GB RAM, i7-6700HQ Quad, 512GB SSD, Win10 x64, GeForce GTX 1060 6GB

An inglorious peace is better than a dishonorable war.
Twain - "Glances at History" 1906
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 04:10 PM   #8
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

Neither can I ... I have doubts anybody can tell the difference between component output and HDMI - even on a calibrated broadcast monitor.
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 09:50 PM   #9
TrackRanger
Senior Member
 
TrackRanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 215
Default

So Rusty, you use the three Component outs on the back of the NX expansion card (3 x BNC), or do you use the Composite out from the front of the edit bay card? TIA
__________________
Intel Quad Core Extreme 3GHz/12M, 4Gb RAM, 2Tb Hot-swap (ARAID), NVIDIA GeoForce 8800 GTS, Edius Broadcast 4.61 / Edius 5.5, Procoder 3, DVDit Pro HD, Sonicfire Pro 5, Mercalli, Vitascene, Adorage. TwinPact 100, Pegasus, TMPro. VirtualDub
TrackRanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 11:17 PM   #10
redgum
Senior Member
 
redgum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Brisbane Qld
Posts: 471
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tingsern View Post
Neither can I ... I have doubts anybody can tell the difference between component output and HDMI - even on a calibrated broadcast monitor.
In the days of analog television, component was the best you could get. Since the advent of SDI and HDMI digital, component is like Betacam is to HDCAM. If you have the right gear a broadcast digital (SDI, HDMI) picture will be streets ahead of component. If you're not in the broadcast industry it won't matter that much.
At least GV have made an attempt to raise the bar with HD Storm and Spark.
redgum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Analog external TV monitor output Belphegor Editing with EDIUS 6 10-09-2008 07:35 PM
External HDD Question hdvideo Editing with EDIUS 10 06-27-2008 09:13 PM
Titlemotion no preview external monitor robsegaar Editing with EDIUS 45 08-17-2007 01:34 PM
HD 16:9 preview via Nx S-VHS Martin_Gleeson Editing with EDIUS 8 08-16-2007 06:21 PM
External monitor preview with Boris RED (FX & Graffiti)? gapmedia Editing with EDIUS 1 06-04-2007 11:13 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:29 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.