Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2007, 11:45 PM   #1
DHFilms
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Converting from DVD with ADVC55

I tried to get a video signal for capture from a DVD player to my computer through firewire with the ADVC55. I get video feed, but all the colors are heavily saturated, making the contents of the frame impossible to see. This has happened with 2 out of 3 DVDs all played on the same player. Why is this happening, and how can i fix it?
Thanks,
DH
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 11:54 PM   #2
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,571
Default

If they are commercial DVDs, then you are probably running into the Macrovision subsignal.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 08:29 AM   #3
LJD1961
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have a similar question. No problem with image quality or colour, but in attempting to dapture from DVD player through ADVC55 into Premier Pro 2.0 the 16:9 image is either too small, or squeezed into a 4:3 image, depending on the setting of the DVD player (Panasonic DMR-ES35V). How do I get the image captured in the corect aspect ratio and scale?
Thank you.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 05:29 PM   #4
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

The only way to ingest 16:9 is to capture as an anamorphic signal - this will appear as 4:3 (squished) in your NLE, which should then be set to stretch the video to its correct aspect ratio.

ADVCs do not automatically (magically) flag 16:9 analog as 16:9 DV, they simply convert what they see.

Set your DVD player as though it's connected to a 16:9 TV - you do not want it set to 4:3 PS or 4:3 LB. Let Premiere correct the 4:3 data back out to 16:9.
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 06:13 PM   #5
Aristotelis
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Thomastown, Ireland
Posts: 665
Default

I never understood why many people get in trouble (and loose image quality) by analog capturing something that is already inside a DVD.
Just use Disc capture (or a DVD ripper). It is much faster as well!!
__________________
Aristotelis Bafaloukos
Systems Engineer, Video Editor, 3D Artist
BEng (Hons), MSc, MBCS

Ctrl+Alt+Delete
Aristotelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.