Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2007, 12:14 AM   #1
Meow
Junior Member
 
Meow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Amsterdam, nl, eu
Posts: 24
Default drivers for Windows XP Pro x64 Edition

Hi, first post here.

Soon to be proud owner of an ADVC 55 unit. Ordered it yesterday.
I've been looking at the downloads for this unit, but it's unclear to me which one I will need (if I need one at all).

My Operating System is
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition Version 2003 Service Pack 2
i.e. that's NT 5.2 (Build 3790).

In my opinion this is also the best desktop OS on the market today (but then; who am I, as a computer user for 20+ years and a system administrator for 14 years?)..


Also, I have a Conceptronic Ci1394B firewire pci-card in my PC. Hope that feeds the ADVC unit? I have no idea. I see all sorts of stories about firewire not feeding the right power for these units, but I guess I'll just have to see if it works for me.. Anybody using a firewire pci-card with an ADVC55 ?
Meow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 12:25 AM   #2
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,571
Default

You don't need any drivers, the ADVC-55 is a standard DV device, which are supported by drivers that Microsoft supplies with the OS. If your Firewire port is working and enabled, you should be set.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 01:12 AM   #3
Meow
Junior Member
 
Meow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Amsterdam, nl, eu
Posts: 24
Default

Ah, I figured that much. Thanks!
Does the ADVC55 do some type of Time Base Correction internally by the way? Or do we really need a TBC for that?
Meow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 01:17 AM   #4
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,571
Default

The ADVC-300 is the lowest-end model with a TBC.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 03:06 PM   #5
Meow
Junior Member
 
Meow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Amsterdam, nl, eu
Posts: 24
Default

In the end, wouldn't a product like this be much smarter (and cheaper)?
http://www.pioneer.nl/nl/products/45...H-S/index.html

These pioneers output VHS/Hi8 signal digitally as well as Time Base Corrected, denoised (if wanted), uncompressed and on s-video too if needed. Or you'll burn it to dvd first and then import it on PC.

But yeah, the converters Canopus uses are probably much higher quality.

Last edited by Meow; 06-03-2007 at 07:05 PM.
Meow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 10:10 PM   #6
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,571
Default

The ADVC-300 provides quite a bit of control over the audio and video, it is not just a straight A/D converter. I bought it years ago to deal with one particular set of old, degraded VHS tapes so I could make digital copies of the stuff for a friend. That project alone justified the purchase, and the DVDs I was able to make from the files looked better than the VHS source.

There are certainly other capture solutions, and you'll need to decide what best fits your needs and budget. One thing I would not do if you are concerned about quality is to convert to DVD first, and then try to edit that -- you won't be happy with the results if you do anything but cut and splice.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 02:21 PM   #7
Meow
Junior Member
 
Meow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Amsterdam, nl, eu
Posts: 24
Default

I have successfully been able to change my order just in time. So thanks to you I'm now also getting the ADVC-300, I really need TBC and some more control, since I have a lot of really old twisted Hi8 and VHS tapes I need to convert.

Thanks for the hint. I was first looking into separate solutions for TBC, but the good ones are not cheap, and since my ADVC55 had not been shipped yet, I could just as well buy the 300 and save some money instead.

Anxiously awaiting its arrival!
:-)
Meow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'm new to video editing and need advice on which system to go with and why. keyzone72 Editing with EDIUS 10 05-23-2009 03:51 AM
Premiere CS4 or Edius swsw1550 Editing with EDIUS 37 10-16-2008 02:36 AM
Edius NX ADVC + Premiere Pro CS3 ? strikemercury Editing with EDIUS 7 04-14-2008 03:55 AM
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition number88 Editing with EDIUS 22 02-25-2008 10:12 PM
I can't install Edius Pro 3 on HP Pavilion a6020.es Paciente Editing with EDIUS 10 10-15-2007 10:38 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:27 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.