Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2008, 04:28 AM   #1
757Driver
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Default ADVC 300 ,Help/advise with home DVD's

I need some advise..I recorded our OLD home VHS tapes onto DVD's using a VCR-DVD combo recorder. I have 80 DVD's now. The DVD files are recorded in VTS-VOB format. IMovie will not capture these files.

Can I play the VTS-VOB files from my DVD player through the ADVC 300 and capture them with iMovie 08 ? Or, can I use a ADVC 110 or 100 to do this ?

I tried riping the files using other software and had a lot of problems, like incomplete files ect.

Any suggestions ? Thank you.
757Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 05:16 PM   #2
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

You can most definitely capture DVD-to-FireWire with any ADVC - the DVD player's output is analog, and hence no different as if it were a VHS/S-VHS deck.

Given your source, I'd probably suggest you save the dollars and just go for an ADVC110.
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 11:38 PM   #3
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

I agree with Kenneally - the ADVC300's TBC won't help because you've already "burned in" any video problems by doing the DVD recording (any problems in the video are now in the encoded video). The DVD's playback will be "pure" at least from a video signal sense so the ADVC300's filtering won't "see" much to correct.

It's like if you were making a collage and one of the pictures is crooked. If you're working on the original (the original source), you can move the picture to try to fix it. But after you've already recorded it, now it's like trying to fix a photocopy of the collage. The crooked picture isn't easy to move at all anymore.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADVC 300 Analogue & Digital In Lights both on!! MarrsieBoy007 ADVC 10 01-05-2010 01:54 PM
Video from PC through ADVC 300 to monitor ingvarai ADVC 8 06-10-2009 05:07 PM
ADVC 55+TBC or ADVC 300? cmt100 ADVC 5 02-05-2009 02:34 PM
Compatibility of ADVC 300 with NLEs beevlad ADVC 2 06-20-2007 09:35 AM
ADVC FAQ (updated 2007/05/04) GrassValley_KH ADVC 0 05-04-2007 11:14 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:39 PM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.