Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-30-2019, 08:57 AM   #1
James48
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Volendam-Holland
Posts: 114
Default Working with Edius Pro 9 :)

Hello, I now work for 1 week with my new Edius Pro 9 Jump program.
I am happy that I bought it and all the important functions are still there (I was just afraid that the Toggle Audio Mixer Display was not included)
I am also very happy with NewBlue Pro 5 and have already made a nice opening intro with it.
Hopefully you (Anton :) can check if the settings for creating a DVD are still OK in Edius 9 Pro please...

Click to Enlarge

Regards
James48

Last edited by GrassValley_SL; 05-31-2019 at 11:29 AM.
James48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2019, 09:48 AM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,928
Default

yes, the settings are correct

what do you mean by you can't toggle the audio mixer? the mixer is available in Pro and WG
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2019, 10:00 AM   #3
James48
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Volendam-Holland
Posts: 114
Default

what do you mean by you can't toggle the audio mixer? the mixer is available in Pro and WG

Thank you for the reply,
I meant that I was afraid that the Audio mixer would no longer be in Edius 9 Pro, but luckily it is in it ...

James48
James48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2019, 10:23 PM   #4
James48
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Volendam-Holland
Posts: 114
Default Export setting Edius Pro 9

I also like to be sure the Export Settings 1280 x 720 25p in Edius Pro 9 are OK please?

Click to Enlarge

Regards,
James48

Last edited by GrassValley_SL; 05-31-2019 at 11:29 AM.
James48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 01:23 AM   #5
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,928
Default

the settings depend on what you want, what frame rate is the source?

if you want 25p, set 25p
if you want 50p, set 50p

Rec709 is correct
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 08:01 AM   #6
James48
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Volendam-Holland
Posts: 114
Default

Thank you Anton

the settings depend on what you want, what frame rate is the source?

I don't know if 25p or 50p makes a big difference?

I hope this file information is OK...
Click to Enlarge

Last edited by GrassValley_SL; 05-31-2019 at 11:30 AM.
James48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 08:14 AM   #7
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,928
Default

DV Pal is SD interlaced lower field first and you want to blow it up to HD 1280x720? for Blu-ray? if so, 1280x720 50p will be good but you need to ensure you add at least 12% sharpness
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 09:40 AM   #8
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,713
Default

You would also get a slightly better result by making an AVI file at 720x576 50i, then starting a 1280x720 50P project and importing the AVI to that, then exporting. This should use EDIUS better scaling to convert it.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 02:31 PM   #9
James48
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Volendam-Holland
Posts: 114
Default

DV Pal is SD interlaced lower field first and you want to blow it up to HD 1280x720? for Blu-ray? if so, 1280x720 50p will be good but you need to ensure you add at least 12% sharpness

DV Pal is SD interlaced lower field first and you want to blow it up to HD 1280x720? for Blu-ray? if so, 1280x720 50p will be good but you need to ensure you add at least 12% sharpness

Our broadcast system is SD and I thought to boost the image quality for exporting by scaling up the PAL 720 x 576 50i 16: 9 to 1280x720 25p
The broadcast system can process a maximum of 1280x720 25p.

But if I read that, I might better export the file as it is PAL 720 x 576 50i 16: 9?

James48
James48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 04:43 PM   #10
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,713
Default

If it is being broadcast at SD then give them SD. It won't get better by being upscaled by you and then downscaled for broadcast. Also quality is lost when deinterlacing (50i becoming 25P).
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius Pro Has Stopped Working on Closing skimmel Editing with EDIUS 14 11-29-2016 03:37 PM
Problem with Go Pro Clips Not Working in Edius 8 Workgroup gerbow Editing with EDIUS 3 08-06-2015 05:00 PM
Storm 3G - Not working with Edius 7 Pro after update?? advisiontv EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 6 02-04-2014 11:08 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:08 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.