Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2018, 11:06 AM   #1
Haddock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,160
Default Buffer memory suddendly collapses

Hello,

Working on a havy project (>1300 files length : 1h17') I have regularly a spontaneous modification of the Buffer Memory.

When starting Edius : 250 (images)

After a certain time of corrections in collapses to 5 images ?

Any help to guide me to the solution ?
__________________
Yvon durieux alias "Haddock" Belgium GMT + 1

Sorry for my poor english, I am french native speaking

Main System: Azus Z87 Pro, 4770K@3.5Ghz, 16gb ram, Nvidia GeForce GT 630, Windows 7 Pro 64, Samsung 840 pro, Edius 8.53.2808 WG and 9.40.4896 + NXexpress or HDspark, 2T separate video SSD.
Haddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 04:56 PM   #2
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

What kind of video files are you editing? AVCHD, MP4, etc, etc? And are you putting some filters on your video? Some 3rd party filters are extremely demanding on CPU. And is your hard-disk okay?
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 09:08 AM   #3
Haddock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tingsern View Post
What kind of video files are you editing? AVCHD, MP4, etc, etc? And are you putting some filters on your video? Some 3rd party filters are extremely demanding on CPU. And is your hard-disk okay?
I use all types of files, ... Genuine from camera in MP4, Picture in TIF of high resolution to zoom in, ... it's a mix of a lot of variety.

This phenomen of buffer changing by himself is new... I never met this changing since I use Edius (other complex editing) in the year 2000.

Changing the value in the parameters has no efficiency. Only close and start helps.
__________________
Yvon durieux alias "Haddock" Belgium GMT + 1

Sorry for my poor english, I am french native speaking

Main System: Azus Z87 Pro, 4770K@3.5Ghz, 16gb ram, Nvidia GeForce GT 630, Windows 7 Pro 64, Samsung 840 pro, Edius 8.53.2808 WG and 9.40.4896 + NXexpress or HDspark, 2T separate video SSD.
Haddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 09:20 AM   #4
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,713
Default

Are you saying that sometimes the buffer shows x/250 and sometimes it shows x/5?

EDIUS will drop the buffer to 5 frames when you do certain actions:
  • Use the audio mixer with "track" or "clip" set on any channel
  • Use the multicamera
  • Play the timeline with the layouter open.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 04:19 PM   #5
Haddock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Clarke View Post
Are you saying that sometimes the buffer shows x/250 and sometimes it shows x/5?
Exactly, precisely

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Clarke View Post
EDIUS will drop the buffer to 5 frames when you do certain actions:
  • Use the audio mixer with "track" or "clip" set on any channel
  • Use the multicamera
  • Play the timeline with the layouter open.
You are right,... and may be also when using the audio mixer and some audio filter as equalizer when doing the levels...

But normaly after these uses and closing the windows, buffer has to come back to x/250.

I don't remember if it stays on x/5 after the use of some tool such as layouter but I have verify each time it was on x/5 that all others windows where closed.

Mysteryyyyy
__________________
Yvon durieux alias "Haddock" Belgium GMT + 1

Sorry for my poor english, I am french native speaking

Main System: Azus Z87 Pro, 4770K@3.5Ghz, 16gb ram, Nvidia GeForce GT 630, Windows 7 Pro 64, Samsung 840 pro, Edius 8.53.2808 WG and 9.40.4896 + NXexpress or HDspark, 2T separate video SSD.
Haddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 04:45 PM   #6
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,713
Default

It's not a mystery that's how it is supposed to work. You get a small buffer with things like that mixer and multicamera where you can make changes to the timelines while it is playing and a bigger buffer at other times. With the audio mixer it stays on 1/5 if you have clip or track selected. Turn those off or shut the mixer and you get a full buffer.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 07:41 AM   #7
Haddock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Clarke View Post
It's not a mystery that's how it is supposed to work. You get a small buffer with things like that mixer and multicamera where you can make changes to the timelines while it is playing and a bigger buffer at other times. With the audio mixer it stays on 1/5 if you have clip or track selected. Turn those off or shut the mixer and you get a full buffer.
I think that I have not been clear enough in my explanations. Sorry for my poor English...

I say again that I know the limitation of the buffer when some windows are open.

The probleme is : when I close them all, the buffers do not come back to the full memory... sometimes.

The workaround is to save the project. Close Edius. Restart the same project.

So I can go on BUT I am looking to know why this append and may be solve it.
__________________
Yvon durieux alias "Haddock" Belgium GMT + 1

Sorry for my poor english, I am french native speaking

Main System: Azus Z87 Pro, 4770K@3.5Ghz, 16gb ram, Nvidia GeForce GT 630, Windows 7 Pro 64, Samsung 840 pro, Edius 8.53.2808 WG and 9.40.4896 + NXexpress or HDspark, 2T separate video SSD.
Haddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 11:34 AM   #8
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,933
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haddock View Post
I think that I have not been clear enough in my explanations. Sorry for my poor English...

I say again that I know the limitation of the buffer when some windows are open.

The probleme is : when I close them all, the buffers do not come back to the full memory... sometimes.

The workaround is to save the project. Close Edius. Restart the same project.

So I can go on BUT I am looking to know why this append and may be solve it.

this can be caused if using Win7 and you have PCC GPU acceleration enabled, you will run out of memory after a while and a restart will solve it

I have PCC GPU use disabled
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 12:15 PM   #9
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,713
Default

You are right Haddock, I did not understand the problem. I do not use Windows 7 and never have a problem. It is probably due to the PCC as Anton mentions as your specs say you have Windows 7.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 04:19 PM   #10
Haddock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
this can be caused if using Win7 and you have PCC GPU acceleration enabled, you will run out of memory after a while and a restart will solve it

I have PCC GPU use disabled
Thanks for follow-up.

I has a look in the System-Parameters/Effects/Color-correction and the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB is NOT ticked (so I suppose not working and consuming memory)

I also found 3 lines under some parameters (see picture). I don't know if they have any influence

Thanks for help
Attached Images
File Type: jpg GPUfx.jpg (71.4 KB, 20 views)
__________________
Yvon durieux alias "Haddock" Belgium GMT + 1

Sorry for my poor english, I am french native speaking

Main System: Azus Z87 Pro, 4770K@3.5Ghz, 16gb ram, Nvidia GeForce GT 630, Windows 7 Pro 64, Samsung 840 pro, Edius 8.53.2808 WG and 9.40.4896 + NXexpress or HDspark, 2T separate video SSD.
Haddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Out of Memory !!! panosole Editing with EDIUS 0 01-01-2011 10:09 AM
Edius 5 Memory setting (buffer size) Albatros Editing with EDIUS 2 11-03-2008 04:44 PM
How much memory Ludde Editing with EDIUS 3 08-04-2007 07:31 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:39 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.