Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2018, 09:40 PM   #1
jeff8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Fresno, Ca
Posts: 234
Default Gh5 and 400mbps

People have said that shooting 400mbps can help relieve the stress on your computer while editing. I tried it this weekend and do not see a difference? Maybe they were referring to other editors which have a hard time with the 150mbps? Anyone here find that there is no difference when editing 150mbps
long Gop vs 400 All I? Thanks in advance.
jeff8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2018, 10:18 PM   #2
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,902
Default

I think it depends on your CPU. If it has QS then it has a decode advantage. I see no difference I think for that reason. Resolve 14 also plays just fine I think because it uses my 1080Ti for decode. However if you have something like an older Intel CPU without QS then there may be a difference.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2018, 10:22 PM   #3
jeff8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Fresno, Ca
Posts: 234
Default

Got it, thanks Ron
jeff8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2018, 09:07 AM   #4
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,713
Default

I thought the major reason for filming at 400MB is that the footage is less compressed which means fewer potential artefacts and noise caused by compression that you may see when you start grading the footage.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2018, 09:16 AM   #5
ulyssesvideo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: sydney
Posts: 340
Default

I am using edius 7.5 with a nvida geforce gtx770.
playing back the gh5s clips at 400mbps is fine at normal speed, the only issue is when i scrub the clip to find in/out point... i get flashes of black. I think this happens as my pc is 4 yrs old.

Does any have issues when scrubbing the clips in preview or on the timeline like that?
ulyssesvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2018, 02:06 PM   #6
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Clarke View Post
I thought the major reason for filming at 400MB is that the footage is less compressed which means fewer potential artefacts and noise caused by compression that you may see when you start grading the footage.
Yes that was the idea but I think lots have debated whether there is much of a difference between 4K 30P 10bit at 150Mbps Long GOP and all 400Mbps All-I with the main difference being PC performance. I think grabbing a still of course will make a big difference since the NLE does not have to create a frame. I do not have any cards fast enough to try myself. Will be ordering some new cards shortly to make sure I have enough for both GH5 and GH5S so will get some V60 cards and try if I can see any difference then.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2018, 02:51 PM   #7
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,902
Default

The debate on this subject went on for a long time on GH5 forums. The takeaway was that for static shots IBP may have an advantage in that the i-frames used by IBP are better than the i frames of the 400Mbps All-i. Opposite is true for busy motion since they both have to trade off available bandwidth for the task at hand. https://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/60333548 is one post. The only real difference is in heavy grading anyway. For normal use IBP may be better. For shoots where the intent is heavy grading to get a particular look then All-i may be the answer but I expect in those situations recording to an external recorder in ProRes would be a better solution anyway. For me busy motion at 30P has even more problems whatever the recording process !!! Since you all know I do not like slow frame rates !!!

For me 400Mbps All-I on the GH5 is really good marketing but for anyone really seriously using this camera will likely use an external recorder like an Atomos Inferno for work that needs this image quality.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2018, 02:59 PM   #8
mark williams
Senior Member
 
mark williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Deep South U.S.
Posts: 265
Default

I agree with Ron. I am a GH4 and GH5 shooter and I can't see the difference between 4K 30P 10bit at 150Mbps Long GOP and all 400Mbps All-I in low motion scenes. In high motion scenes sometimes I think I can see the difference but other times not. It might depend more on how it is being viewed in the end product.
__________________
Mark Williams
natureflixs@hotmail.com
http://vimeo.com/channels/3523
http://www.pond5.com/artist/mark29
Edius 8 WG, i7 6700K, Asus 170-A mobo, 16 GB Ram, System 960 Evo M.2, Video multiple 850 Evo SSDs, Shadow Rock Slim cpu cooler, On board graphics, Corsair 400c case, HD Spark, Windows 10, Panasonic GH5
mark williams is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 12:42 AM   #9
jeff8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Fresno, Ca
Posts: 234
Default

Thank you for your input. Ron- I purchased the Small HD Focus to better view my footage on my GH5s because I was under the impression that prores did not do well in Edius 8. I do not have the WG, only the pro version. It this true that you may have difficulty editing prores clips from say an Atomos Inferno when the clips are in prores? Thank you again for you thoughts and advice.
jeff8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2018, 01:16 AM   #10
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,902
Default

ProRes works fine in EDIUS. I have a BM Video Assist 5" that admittedly just records HD but in ProRes or DnxHD and have no problems editing in EDIUS 8WG. Not sure if there is a difference to just EDIUS 8 so someone else may answer that question. I have exported a UHD 60P ProRes file from Vegas 15 and that plays fine in EDIUS 8WG. With my present purchase of the GH5S I will have to wait until later in the summer to get an Inferno but my main reason is to record UHD 60P HLG which will only come with external recording from the HDMI as internal HLG is only 30P.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gh5 10 bit? Seemedia Editing with EDIUS 16 04-15-2017 01:32 PM
GH5 footage in Edius, issue? Claire Editing with EDIUS 36 04-07-2017 03:02 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.