Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2009, 01:06 PM   #1
swsw1550
Senior Member
 
swsw1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast,Queensland
Posts: 1,910
Default Things to shutdown in Services in Vista 64bit

Hi Guys,
Just thought I would post a great link for services to shutdown in Vista 64bit, the second column to the right that says tweaked works great, you will notice a great performance boost if anyone is interested. this is the link, http://www.blackviper.com/WinVista/servicecfg.htm

Steve
swsw1550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 02:16 PM   #2
gdame
Senior Member
 
gdame's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 653
Default

Good Post Steve!
__________________
George Dame
Grass Valley / Canopus System Integrator - Nearly 13 Years
Providing Systems, Onsite Delivery, Support & Training Services Nationwide
Get Your Copy of The Edius 6 Comprehensive Tutorial by contacting me via PM, email or phone
Invite us to your local video association for a full demonstration!
www.editHD.com - 1-877-ieditDV
gdame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 04:20 PM   #3
swsw1550
Senior Member
 
swsw1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast,Queensland
Posts: 1,910
Default

Thought a few people might find it helpfull,

Steve
swsw1550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 08:50 AM   #4
sladevideo
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Spotsylvania, Virginia
Posts: 35
Default

I just logged on to ask this very question as I just got a new machine with vista. Must be reading my mind....
Thanks
Mark
sladevideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 09:46 AM   #5
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,812
Default

Just get more RAM :)
It's cheap!

Well unless it's DDR3...
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 04:10 PM   #6
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

Agreed ... I don't even bother to shutdown any service on my workstation - with 24GB RAM - I don't even feel any pain :-).
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 04:29 PM   #7
SRsupport
Grass Cutter Gold
 
SRsupport's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South America
Posts: 3,353
Default

Same here 10 gb of ram. Not worth the trouble
__________________
Steve
EDIUS Trainer, Grass Cutter Gold
A proud EDIUS EDITOR
For more information on the Grass Cutter program please visit: http://www.grass-cutters.net
SRsupport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 05:29 PM   #8
vctv
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 13
Default

But you can do the two things! Upgrade the RAM and clean the services... :)

It's necessary to advance carefully, but a lot of services can be disabled...
vctv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 12:16 AM   #9
swsw1550
Senior Member
 
swsw1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast,Queensland
Posts: 1,910
Default

Yeah a lot of people don't have 10 and 24GB of ram (that would never be used anyway), I posted this for people that run minimum ram on vista sytems to try and help them get a bit better performance, we all know what most people run as it is in their signatures for some reason.

Steve
swsw1550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 12:56 AM   #10
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by swsw1550 View Post
Yeah a lot of people don't have 10 and 24GB of ram (that would never be used anyway), I posted this for people that run minimum ram on vista sytems to try and help them get a bit better performance, we all know what most people run as it is in their signatures for some reason.

Steve
Don't know about you, but I use all my 10GB of RAM. I need to upgrade to 16GB at least for After Effects.

A 4GB DDR2 set is about $50 or so now.
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista 64bit Scott Chapin Editing with EDIUS 5 12-02-2008 05:53 PM
Vista 64bit SP2 swsw1550 Editing with EDIUS 13 10-31-2008 02:09 PM
driver HX-E1 vista 64bit Sergio_008 Editing with EDIUS 1 09-23-2008 02:52 PM
Surely 64bit support isn't too far away.... holeycow Editing with EDIUS 12 01-21-2008 07:28 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:55 AM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.