Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2019, 12:00 PM   #1
jeff8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Fresno, Ca
Posts: 234
Default ProRes

I am thinking of getting the Atomos Ninja V and wanted to find out how well Edius edits Pro Res now with the new 9.4 update? Has anyone experienced editing with that format with the new update from Edius? Thank you in advance.
jeff8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 12:29 PM   #2
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,565
Default

Jeff, playback will be determined as it always is, by your system specs. Frame rate and bit depth will be major sticking points.

I can playback 3840x2160 Prores 422 from a Ninja V in a 10bit project at 59.94p in real time on my 4790k@4.7GHz. However, once I add an instance of the PCC, it chokes.
In order to get real time playback I have to drop the playback resolution(WG)to 1/2. This is the case in both 8bit and 10bit color depths.

If you have a 7700k or above you should be able to work it in real time.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 01:03 PM   #3
jeff8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Fresno, Ca
Posts: 234
Default

Thank you for your response.
jeff8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 02:08 PM   #4
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,902
Default

I use the Ninja V UHD 60P HLG 10bit from the GH5. As Jerry says I can play that back on my 4790K or Threadripper, both with EDIUS 8.53. Adding PCC is even a problem with HD so not that surprising. Feed is usually from the source SSD or an internal SSD.

As Jerry says 1/2 resolution works great if you have WG versions. This is how I do all my multicams and seems once that is cut the encode seems to go faster than timeline playback. In other words it can encode to a HQX file in less than realtime with all effects a cropping.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 02:29 PM   #5
jeff8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Fresno, Ca
Posts: 234
Default

Thank you for your response.
jeff8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 02:30 PM   #6
jeff8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Fresno, Ca
Posts: 234
Default

Jerry, any chance you can send me a minute prores hq clip that I can test?
jeff8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 02:47 PM   #7
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,565
Default

I got my clip from Ron.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 05:13 PM   #8
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,712
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff8 View Post
Jerry, any chance you can send me a minute prores hq clip that I can test?
You can export one out of EDIUS 9.4.
We support export to .mov and MXF
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 11:36 PM   #9
jeff8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Fresno, Ca
Posts: 234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_SL View Post
You can export one out of EDIUS 9.4.
We support export to .mov and MXF
Thank you.
jeff8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2019, 09:49 AM   #10
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,931
Default

ProRes exporter seems to has a small bug on some resolutions.
I have exported a clip at DCP Flat resolution (1998 x 1080) can't be played back in some tools other than Edius (EasyDCP, Telestream Switch).
For testing purpose I have created a clip by EasyDCP Player+ and by Telestream Switch without an issue.

Andreas
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple ProRes casablanca Editing with EDIUS 1 05-10-2018 02:14 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:12 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.