Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2010, 12:59 AM   #131
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,066
Default

don't waste your time with Win7/64 and old PC

you may not get many required Win7 drivers for your old PC
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 01:07 AM   #132
rando
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 2,303
Default

Define an old PC. I have had good luck putting Windows 7 64 on older PCs (Core 2 duo or later) the thing that gives them new life is being able to load them up with memory.
rando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 06:35 AM   #133
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

Of course, a 64 bits OS MUST require a 64 bits processor at the very least.
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 09:00 PM   #134
Ulisse
Senior Member
 
Ulisse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Moroni
Posts: 1,384
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rando View Post
Define an old PC. I have had good luck putting Windows 7 64 on older PCs (Core 2 duo or later) the thing that gives them new life is being able to load them up with memory.
My old PC:

Case full tower Cooler Master CM Stacker case nero
Scheda Madre: ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
MICROP. CONROE E6600 2,40GHz FSB 1066 4MB cache LGA775
RAM: 2 GB KINGSTON DDR800
SCHEDA VIDEO: SAPPHIRE RADEON X1950XT 256MB GDDR3
ALIM: ENERMAX INFINITY 620W
MASTERIZZ: PIONEER +/-R101
HD: 1 SATA DA 160 GB-SISTEMA
HD:2 SATA DA 160 GB RAID 0
HD:2 SATA DA 250 GB RAID 0
VENTOLA ARCTIC COOLING 12Vdc 120x120x25mm TACHIMETRICA
VENTOLA ARCTIC COOLING FREEZER 7 PRO X P4 SOCKET 775
Windows XP Pro with Canopus NX HD and expansion kit

If I will use Windoes 7 64 bit with 4 GB RAM I will get a faster editing?
Thanks
Ulisse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 09:13 PM   #135
rando
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 2,303
Default

I think you may get a more responsive system at the least you will be able to open more programs without slowing. you could go to almost 4 gigs of memory now(3.25) without installing a new OS. Im a fan of loading up a machine with memory.
rando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 09:21 PM   #136
Ulisse
Senior Member
 
Ulisse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Moroni
Posts: 1,384
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rando View Post
I think you may get a more responsive system at the least you will be able to open more programs without slowing. you could go to almost 4 gigs of memory now(3.25) without installing a new OS. Im a fan of loading up a machine with memory.
But I know that with Windows XP is not necessary to put 4 GB RAM because it doesn't see more that 2 GB.
Ulisse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 01:23 AM   #137
rando
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 2,303
Default

Actually it will see 3.25 gigs of memory.
rando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 01:53 AM   #138
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,066
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ulisse View Post
My old PC:

Case full tower Cooler Master CM Stacker case nero
Scheda Madre: ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
MICROP. CONROE E6600 2,40GHz FSB 1066 4MB cache LGA775
RAM: 2 GB KINGSTON DDR800
SCHEDA VIDEO: SAPPHIRE RADEON X1950XT 256MB GDDR3
ALIM: ENERMAX INFINITY 620W
MASTERIZZ: PIONEER +/-R101
HD: 1 SATA DA 160 GB-SISTEMA
HD:2 SATA DA 160 GB RAID 0
HD:2 SATA DA 250 GB RAID 0
VENTOLA ARCTIC COOLING 12Vdc 120x120x25mm TACHIMETRICA
VENTOLA ARCTIC COOLING FREEZER 7 PRO X P4 SOCKET 775
Windows XP Pro with Canopus NX HD and expansion kit

If I will use Windoes 7 64 bit with 4 GB RAM I will get a faster editing?
Thanks
your PC is too slow

here is a cheap and excellent option:

Intel 860 i7 CPU
Intel DP55KG Motherboard
Antec P183 Tower Case 800W
8Gb DDR3 1333MHz RAM
Nvidia GTS250 1Gb
Pioneer DVDR Drive
Windows 7 64 Ultimate x64

I built some for customers with Edius NX and they work great
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 11:53 AM   #139
Gerard
Junior Member
 
Gerard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hilversum Holland
Posts: 16
Default Slow?

I installed W7 on a Medion with a Pentium Dual processor 3.0Ghz and everything goes well. The only problem what I got is when I try to play 1920x1440 Full HD (.mts CANON) files (without conversion) EDIUS 5.12 doesn't play it smoothly.

OK, I know that EDIUS will work on a much faster System a lot better, but I find the newest Intel I7 Quad system (overhere at least) still too expensive.
__________________
Edius 5.5.12 with HDSpark card
Acer Aspire Intel Core i7 8 Cores 2,95 Mhz 8 Mb RAM Memory
Windows7 home 64 bits
1x 60 Gb SSDdisk for the O.S.
4x 1Tb internal Harddisks
Canon HD Camera Legria HF200
My perfect combination for Edius
Gerard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 11:57 AM   #140
Gerard
Junior Member
 
Gerard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hilversum Holland
Posts: 16
Default

Hi, Anton

I'll take a look for the components you wrote and build that system.
Thanks for the listing.
Gerard
__________________
Edius 5.5.12 with HDSpark card
Acer Aspire Intel Core i7 8 Cores 2,95 Mhz 8 Mb RAM Memory
Windows7 home 64 bits
1x 60 Gb SSDdisk for the O.S.
4x 1Tb internal Harddisks
Canon HD Camera Legria HF200
My perfect combination for Edius
Gerard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:09 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.