Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2008, 09:59 AM   #1
mattie
Senior Member
 
mattie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 991
Default I'm thru with 5.01 back to 5.0 for me..

So much for bug fixes!

just did the upgrade from 5.0 to 5.01, started Eddy, which took an additional 15 seconds before I was at project file selection.

A project (30mins Mpeg-2) working fine in 5.0 now was complaining MP3's were off line - I checked stats and it was a VBR MP3 which could not be read by Eddy 5.01 but works fine in 5.0 !! go figure! (VBR mp3's are listed as a bug fix! maybe they meant bug add!)

I also found the time line scrubbing more sluggish on 5.01 than on 5.0 so for these reasons I have down graded back to a known good working copy!

come on GVT - this is poor!

MP3 file 5.7Mb 209kbs VBR 44.1Khz stereo

before you ask - im on quad core 3.4ghz 6gig Ram Vista x64prem 1gig Ndivia
mattie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 11:01 AM   #2
tuyle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 345
Default

Why don't you change the mp3 file to wav file - that would solve your headache :-)
__________________
Asus P5WDH Deluxe w/E6600 - 4GB Corsair - 8800GTS - 1TB & 1.5TB (2x750GB RAID 0) - Antec P180 + Trio 650W - XP Pro w/sp3 - NX PCIe w/Expansion Card - Edius 5.51
Asus P6T i7 920 @3.6 - 12GB Corsair Dominator - GTX275 - 1.5TB & 3TB (2x1.5TB RAID 0) for Video - Antec P183 + Corsair HX-750W - Win7 - Edius 6.07 - Firecoder Blu - PC3.05.91 - BDR-203 - TMW5 & TAW5
Asus P6T i7 930 - 12GB Corsair - GTX260 - 1TB & 1TB WD Black for Video - Antec P183 + TPQ-850W - Win7 - Edius 6.07 w/HD Spark - BDR-205
tuyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 11:25 AM   #3
mattie
Senior Member
 
mattie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 991
Default

Thats just a band aid over the issue - if it works in 5.0 and not 5.01 why should I have to change my files when clearly Edius is at fault! At this rate I wil be all day changing Mp3 to WAV's for no good reason!
mattie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 11:51 AM   #4
vienna1944er
Senior Member
 
vienna1944er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: europe\austria\vienna
Posts: 260
Default

Audio with VBR Encoding in EDIUS 5.01 not more supportet
(crash on differnt sys - configuratrions)
from japan: Japan:

Quote:
I'm sorry to tell you that this kind of MP3 has been changed to be unsupported in Edius5.
His explanation is as follows;
This MP3 is encoded with VBR and this type of MP3 used to have make Edius crashed
in Edius 4.61 because this cannot be seeked correctly.
(It's attributed to MP3 own problem, the developer mentioned)
That's why it has been decided to unsupport VBR encoded MP3 since Edius5.
Thank you.
not all "consumer audio formats" are good for real editing......

you wish a info >> call "vienna" .... old but not morbid) Hans ;-)
__________________
Edius 5,51 / Edius 6.08 / Edius 6.54(b) / Neo 3.0 / Neo 3.5
vienna1944er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 03:46 PM   #5
pjsssss
Senior Member
 
pjsssss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 4,996
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattie View Post
So much for bug fixes!

just did the upgrade from 5.0 to 5.1, started Eddy, which took an additional 15 seconds before I was at project file selection.

A project (30mins Mpeg-2) working fine in 5.0 now was complaining MP3's were off line - I checked stats and it was a VBR MP3 which could not be read by Eddy 5.1 but works fine in 5.0 !! go figure! (VBR mp3's are listed as a bug fix! maybe they meant bug add!)

I also found the time line scrubbing more sluggish on 5.1 than on 5.0 so for these reasons I have down graded back to a known good working copy!

come on GVT - this is poor!

MP3 file 5.7Mb 209kbs VBR 44.1Khz stereo

before you ask - im on quad core 3.4ghz 6gig Ram Vista x64prem 1gig Ndivia
As I understand it, this only effects VBR mp3's. This is a known issue and so far GV ha stated that it is the way it will work for the present. Some have been trying to get it changed. I agree that I do not like it, but I also have to say that it has been a standard for a long time that it is not a great idea to use mp3.
pjsssss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 07:29 PM   #6
DigitalDave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Basildon UK
Posts: 2,282
Default

I would also add, IMHO, that converting all mp3's to wav can save the odd "incident" in even 4.61.

DD
DigitalDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 08:18 AM   #7
redgum
Senior Member
 
redgum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Brisbane Qld
Posts: 471
Default

I guess what Matties saying is the whole professional and broadcast world is Mpeg now. We should be getting over the need to convert - leave that for Adobe.
redgum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 01:26 PM   #8
Imagine Video
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 467
Default

After MP3 issues over the years of editing, popping and stray noise, "EVEN in well compressed and high quality MP3" I no longer use them on the timeline of any video edit application in my opinion its not a format for creation it's for delivery!

I use wave and have no issues! and a better sound quality and more confidence the end resulting Blu-ray or SD-DVD is going to sound good on playback.
__________________
Asus P5K64WS, Intel Core 2 Quad QX6850 Extreme CPU, Saphire HD 3850 512mb graphics, WDraptor160 OS, Highpoint Rocket raid 2310 4 x 500gig Seagate sata 2 se drives in raid 0, NXe and Edius 5.51 Imaginate 2.
Procoder 3.06 and various Prodad add-ons
Imagine Video is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 04:42 PM   #9
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

Also, using MP3 will get you problems with sync - it is very hard to align compressed audio with the timeline. I always use 48KHz PCM (WAV) for my audio.
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serious clip corruption still not fixed in 5.01 andrewwhiteley Editing with EDIUS 36 02-11-2009 03:37 AM
Edius 5.0 behavior rando Editing with EDIUS 11 11-21-2008 08:13 AM
Apple motion JPEG B in 5.0? VideoOpp Editing with EDIUS 4 09-29-2008 07:12 PM
Laying HDV back to tape on Sony Z1 tarkken Editing with EDIUS 10 06-02-2007 09:08 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:20 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.