Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ProCoder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2012, 11:25 AM   #211
Lucius Snow
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: France
Posts: 18
Default

I tried with the MPEG2 preset. According the documentation in attachment, 24 should be correct for the maximum GOP.

By the way, would you recommand open or closed gop ? And which VBV buffer size (currently in 900 in the preset) ?

I think i let down with H264 and DVD-Architect : too much troubles.

Thanks.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bluray_mpeg2_gop.jpg (102.5 KB, 25 views)
Lucius Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 12:16 PM   #212
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

Be careful, ALL blu-ray video is wrapped as a Mpeg 2 video stream so even though the underlying video maybe H.264 it may be referred to in some documentation as a BDMV, HDMV Mpeg2 stream (just to make your head explode)
Closed GOPS typically is more adopted

Remember that in Procoder the VBV buffer max is different scale in h264 than Mpeg 2, one is bytes and one is KB, to make things worse, from memory one even assumes kilo is 1000 bits while the other assumes 1024.

To be honest, I am over it, I don't know the precise answers to the mathematical equation, I just found what worked when it was all new.

I know that max vbv buffer is 30000 kilobits and @ kilo =1000 that is why 3750000 is in the H264 VBV size.
I can't remember if Mpeg 2 is different, the 900KB does seem lower than the H264, again I am over it because I know the presets worked for me.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 03:09 PM   #213
Lucius Snow
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: France
Posts: 18
Default

Thanks for all the informations.

Sadly, i can not render using DVD Architect 5.0b or 5.2. I get the following error : TSWrapper.dll::CTSWrapper::ProcThreadMain::Failed to read ES file. - The ES file may be shorter than the size described in the MUI file.

This occurs from 1080p24 and 1080i25 sources that i tested.

It was mentionned earlier in this thread, but without any solution except re-encoding everything in Vegas.

EDIT : For MPEG2 and not H264, i precise

EDIT 2 : As i said, the H264 preset works with DVD-A only if i set a lower value for GOP. 15 is ok for example. Would that make the Blu-Ray not 100% compliant ?

Last edited by Lucius Snow; 03-05-2012 at 05:18 PM.
Lucius Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 01:40 AM   #214
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucius Snow View Post
Thanks for all the informations.



EDIT 2 : As i said, the H264 preset works with DVD-A only if i set a lower value for GOP. 15 is ok for example. Would that make the Blu-Ray not 100% compliant ?
No, as mentioned, 1 second is maximum and there is no minimum afaik. @ 24fps 24 is the maximum that's all the worry you need. Lowering GOP size will increase size that is all.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 11:37 AM   #215
Lucius Snow
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: France
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shueardm View Post
No, as mentioned, 1 second is maximum and there is no minimum afaik. @ 24fps 24 is the maximum that's all the worry you need. Lowering GOP size will increase size that is all.
Alright, thank you.

So i confirm your H264 1080p24 and 1080p23,976 both work with DVD Architect with a changed GOP value from 24 to 15 (the first page of the thread may be updated for DVD Architect users)
Lucius Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 12:07 PM   #216
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucius Snow View Post
Alright, thank you.

So i confirm your H264 1080p24 and 1080p23,976 both work with DVD Architect with a changed GOP value from 24 to 15 (the first page of the thread may be updated for DVD Architect users)
That's good news then.
Perhaps you would like to see if the other frame sizes/frame rates can be configured to work, then we'll make a separate download for Architect users.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 03:45 PM   #217
Lucius Snow
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: France
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shueardm View Post
That's good news then.
Perhaps you would like to see if the other frame sizes/frame rates can be configured to work, then we'll make a separate download for Architect users.
H264 1080p23,976 works too ... but not all the interlaced presets (like for x264), neither the MPEG2 presets :\

I don't have any 720p50 source to try but i'll do the tests later once i get one.
Attached Files
File Type: zip DVD-A_Presets.zip (3.2 KB, 16 views)
Lucius Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 02:03 PM   #218
Lucius Snow
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: France
Posts: 18
Default

I've suceed build a BD with DVD Architect in 1080i25 !

From your preset :
-> set again GOP to 15
-> remove MBAFF

By the way, i've read that for best compatibility, it is recommanded to :
-> remove Pyramid
-> set B-Pictures to 2
Lucius Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 02:12 PM   #219
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

That's right, MBAFF interlaced encoding is not supported DVD architect which is just wrong from SONY.

http://doom10.org/index.php?topic=395.0

x264 only supports MBAFF apparently that's why it can't work
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 02:31 PM   #220
Lucius Snow
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: France
Posts: 18
Default

Here are the presets updated for DVD-A with the 4 modifications mentionned in my previous post. Also, i've put a lower max. bitrate because i've noticed (using Bitrate viewer software) that Procoder often exceeds a lot the set value.
Attached Files
File Type: zip DVD-A_presets_v2.zip (4.8 KB, 20 views)
Lucius Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ProCoder
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unofficial Sony PSP presets for ProCoder 3 Mr Bill ProCoder 27 01-08-2011 04:01 PM
Best presets for Blu ray rando ProCoder 4 10-11-2009 05:31 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:35 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.