Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2013, 07:46 PM   #1
hvx_germanboy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 196
Default How to synch Audio and Video clips with same TC?

I might be missing something, but I can't really get Edius to synch an Audio and a video file, that have same TCs running.

I've usually worked with Plural eyes, but it doesn't work on all the occasions, so I am trying to go "clock-it" and synching the clips on the TL.

Tried in Multicam-mode, no luck,
tried in regular modus, no luck either.

Maybe Edius is not made for it, but I can't imagine it doesnt do that trick,
any suggestion welcome..!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg synch.jpg (128.5 KB, 51 views)
__________________
Edius 6.52
Windows 7-64bit
8GB RAM
Intel Core I5, M450@2,40GHz
hvx_germanboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 02:11 AM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,063
Default

Am I safe to assume the audio was recorded with an audio recorder that received the same TC as the video camera?

also, I hold grave fears for your C drive
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 10:04 AM   #3
hvx_germanboy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 196
Default

Dear Anton,

thanks for helping out another time.

You assume right, we used a lockit from "ambient" and both files use the same TC.

I simply don't understand how we can synchronize those files?
Didn't work for me through "Mode/Sync".

Thanks
p.s. well..C:-drive is another topic..good catch Anton!
__________________
Edius 6.52
Windows 7-64bit
8GB RAM
Intel Core I5, M450@2,40GHz
hvx_germanboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 10:50 AM   #4
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,063
Default

place video clip on timeline

place the audio clip in the source player and play a few sec and stop and mark in

press Ctrl+F (match frame player to recorder)

now the playhead should jump to the matching timeline position

you can work out the rest from here on
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 11:27 AM   #5
hvx_germanboy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 196
Default All clips at once?

Thanks,
that works and I am sure I hadn't figured that out witjout your help..!

Only problem here is: I am stranded with 100s of Audio and Video-clips,
my idea was dropping those all on a timeline and having them synchronized in "one click".

I think there has to be a way doing this automized, instead of handling it manually?

Otherwise I would be back to Plural Eyes I guess..?

Thanks again
__________________
Edius 6.52
Windows 7-64bit
8GB RAM
Intel Core I5, M450@2,40GHz
hvx_germanboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 01:35 AM   #6
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,063
Default

the EDIUS multicam auto sync function only works with video clips

I have no plural eyes experience other than the fact that it never worked for me when I tried it with my XDCAM HD footage
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 07:12 AM   #7
PaulTV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ibiza
Posts: 1,782
Default

I recall asking for this feature years ago, If Edius could drop a clip to the correct matched timecode point in the timeline - ie. a "Match" code function, no clicks, just do it!!

Dream on - engineers have no idea why you would want this to happen.

p.s Plural eyes never works for me either!!

Paul :-)
__________________
Edius Edits at: http://www.vimeo.com/user781619/videos

System 1: Edius 7.5 Asus X79 4930K 6 core @4.4GHz Water Cooled. 480GB REVO3x2 System drive, 4TB Raid 0, 4 TB E-Sata Raid 5, 32GB RAM, GTX1070Ti Decklink HD Extreme. 3X Sony AX53 Sony AX700

http://indiestereographer.blogspot.co.uk
PaulTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 07:49 AM   #8
Harro
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Geelong, Victoria/Australia
Posts: 759
Default

Originally Plural Eyes did not work with my EX1 clips, but after contacting Bruce (Singular Software then) he worked on it and the latest plug-in version for Edius (Plural Eyes v2, Edius 6.5x or v6.0x only, not v7) works very well.
__________________
i7 3930K, Win 10 pro 64 Bit.
RAM 32 GB.
ASUS P9X79-Deluxe.
PS Thermaltake 1kW.
Graphics Gigabyte GT680 OC.
OS:Intel 535 SSD 480 GB, Data: two 2TB WD Cavier Black, RAID 0.
Cameras: Sony EX1, AX100, x1000v, A7R2, DJI Mavic 2 Pro
SW: Edius v8.53 WG, Vegas 17 Pro, CS6, Resolve Studio 15, Hitfilm 2017, Sound Forge 13, SpectraLayers Pro v2.1, Neat Video v5, Vistitle 2.8.5 TMPEnc VMWorks 7, Auth. Works 6, MochaPro v4.1, PluralEyes 2.1.0, Robuskey, DVD Architect 7, 3D LUT Creator.
Harro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 09:05 AM   #9
PaulTV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ibiza
Posts: 1,782
Default

Does it still take hours to process long clips - I mean 10 hours of footage with 4 cameras kinda thing?

last time I used it on a job like this I gave up - I could do it faster...

maybe the latest version works...

Paul :-)
__________________
Edius Edits at: http://www.vimeo.com/user781619/videos

System 1: Edius 7.5 Asus X79 4930K 6 core @4.4GHz Water Cooled. 480GB REVO3x2 System drive, 4TB Raid 0, 4 TB E-Sata Raid 5, 32GB RAM, GTX1070Ti Decklink HD Extreme. 3X Sony AX53 Sony AX700

http://indiestereographer.blogspot.co.uk
PaulTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 06:47 PM   #10
hvx_germanboy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 196
Default

Hey Paul,

I hate stop dreaming, maybe we have to send some good alcohol to the programmers, all together!

I would love to explain someone why it would be necessary, it is sad to hear that this is not possible..!
(In particular when you have 2 or more clips that run the same TC..!)

For me plural eyes (version 2.0.2 inside Edius..there is a newer version as well I heard, trying to get it..) works usually quite well,
but it can time and there is also occasions, where it won't "find" all the clips.
(very short ones are problematic..!)

However in my particular situation I do have the problem, that I use C300 .mxf files and I can either import each and every clip from every card (which can be up to a hundred at least..) or receive an error message by plural eyes when importing the (easy) and regular way, cause PE won't be able to reference via .CIF files.

Whatever, hope the techs will help us in future,
Audio guy already starts bothering me to jump onto MAC and final cut, but I would hate to do that..!
__________________
Edius 6.52
Windows 7-64bit
8GB RAM
Intel Core I5, M450@2,40GHz
hvx_germanboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
audio synch problem when burning dvd jimstamos Editing with EDIUS 3 01-05-2011 04:47 AM
WMV to M2t encode audio out of synch claire_hill ProCoder 4 04-13-2010 03:42 AM
MTS out of synch edwood79 ProCoder 2 02-16-2010 05:12 PM
Timeline video/audio tracks decline clips after update to 5.10 Henk Visser Editing with EDIUS 7 08-13-2009 10:01 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.