Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2010, 01:33 AM   #1
Fred Dwyer
Senior Member
 
Fred Dwyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Connecticut, U.S.A.
Posts: 540
Default Spit mono onto L & R stereo tracks

I'm a bit embaressed to ask, should be obvious I'm sure. I have a mono recording. I would like to load it onto a left and a right stereo track. Probably a simple way, but I'm not making it happen. Have searched the forum and can't find the answer either. Any help would be appreciated.
__________________
Fred D
Win 7 Pro-64 bit, EDIUS Workgroup 8.5, Intel Ivy Bridge i5, ASUS P8Z77-V-LK, 8GB Kningston DDR3, Pioneer BDR-209UBK, EVGA NVIDEA GEForce GT630, Corsair TX750M 750w Power Supply, 4 WD Black HDD for 3.15TB, ACEDVIO, Spark HD, eSATA controller, ANTEC 300 case.
Fred Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 01:37 AM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,069
Default

clip properties, audio tab, choose mono1 or mono2 depending on where your audio is
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 04:27 PM   #3
Fred Dwyer
Senior Member
 
Fred Dwyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Connecticut, U.S.A.
Posts: 540
Default

Somewhere there is a misunderstanding. This is a PCM audio clip, not an AV clip, guess I should have been more specific. "Properties" does not offer momo1 or mono2 selection, or I'm looking at the wrong "properties". I right click on the clip in the time line and choose "properties". I have gone outside EDIUS and converted the clips in Gold Wave, but I thought that it should be doable in EDIUS, might be a little quicker that way.
Anton, I do want to offer you a big thank you for all the good info you supply. Have just started using your HD to SD conversion process within VirtualDub, works great.
__________________
Fred D
Win 7 Pro-64 bit, EDIUS Workgroup 8.5, Intel Ivy Bridge i5, ASUS P8Z77-V-LK, 8GB Kningston DDR3, Pioneer BDR-209UBK, EVGA NVIDEA GEForce GT630, Corsair TX750M 750w Power Supply, 4 WD Black HDD for 3.15TB, ACEDVIO, Spark HD, eSATA controller, ANTEC 300 case.
Fred Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 05:02 PM   #4
pjsssss
Senior Member
 
pjsssss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 4,996
Default

Even if it is just an audio clip that should work (see attachment). What does your properties show?

You can always make sure Pan is set and then move the Blue line to the center which will now have that mono channel play on both speakers. Also you can do this with the Balance Panpot filter. We do this and have made a preset so we can use it whenever it is needed.
Attached Images
File Type: png Audio Properties.png (32.1 KB, 31 views)
pjsssss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 07:52 PM   #5
tuyle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 345
Default

I don't know this is right way to do it or not.
You can bring the mono to A1 pan to left then one more time the mono to A2 pan to right ?

It's mono so why do you need to have it in stereo mode ?
or you just need the mono signal on both channels ?
__________________
Asus P5WDH Deluxe w/E6600 - 4GB Corsair - 8800GTS - 1TB & 1.5TB (2x750GB RAID 0) - Antec P180 + Trio 650W - XP Pro w/sp3 - NX PCIe w/Expansion Card - Edius 5.51
Asus P6T i7 920 @3.6 - 12GB Corsair Dominator - GTX275 - 1.5TB & 3TB (2x1.5TB RAID 0) for Video - Antec P183 + Corsair HX-750W - Win7 - Edius 6.07 - Firecoder Blu - PC3.05.91 - BDR-203 - TMW5 & TAW5
Asus P6T i7 930 - 12GB Corsair - GTX260 - 1TB & 1TB WD Black for Video - Antec P183 + TPQ-850W - Win7 - Edius 6.07 w/HD Spark - BDR-205
tuyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 08:54 PM   #6
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,571
Default

You can also use a VST to add stereo separation between the duplicated mono audio. It's not true stereo, but better than dual-channel mono.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 02:16 AM   #7
Fred Dwyer
Senior Member
 
Fred Dwyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Connecticut, U.S.A.
Posts: 540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tuyle View Post
It's mono so why do you need to have it in stereo mode ?
So my clients won't experience one dead channel when they play the DVD.

As far as selecting "Stereo," "mono 1," or "mono 2" in "Properties", these 3 are all grayed out, can't select any one of them.

On the first project I initially went for the "Pan" function, first thing I thought of, but could not get it. Assumed that "Pan" was only available on stereo channels. Just tried it on a second project and "Pan" is available. Wonder what I did wrong on project 1. Doesn't matter, as I noted, for project 1, I converted the clip to stereo in Gold Wave. Next 3 I'll be quite happy to simply pan to distribute it to both L and R channels.
__________________
Fred D
Win 7 Pro-64 bit, EDIUS Workgroup 8.5, Intel Ivy Bridge i5, ASUS P8Z77-V-LK, 8GB Kningston DDR3, Pioneer BDR-209UBK, EVGA NVIDEA GEForce GT630, Corsair TX750M 750w Power Supply, 4 WD Black HDD for 3.15TB, ACEDVIO, Spark HD, eSATA controller, ANTEC 300 case.
Fred Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 04:50 PM   #8
WMPTV
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: West Midlands - UK
Posts: 53
Default

We tend to do it this way (probably long winded but it works for us):

1) Do all our editing with timeline channel mapping set to A12 for stereo.
2) When finished, drag the "panpot and balance" effect from the effects bin on to the 1st clip.
3) Select the audio of the 1st clip, then double-click the "panpot and balance" in the properties box.
4) Change the balance to centre, and if necessary fade down the unwanted R or L track (usually in our case the camera mic).
5) Select all the other clips on the timeline, and drag and drop the adjusted "panpot and balance" from the properties box onto the rest of the clips.
WMPTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mono sound to stereo Mark Taylor Editing with EDIUS 10 11-16-2015 06:38 AM
Way to make mono audio signal sound stereo? leethomas Editing with EDIUS 22 01-23-2011 10:21 PM
Mono Audio BillBarrett Editing with EDIUS 3 01-21-2009 07:53 AM
how to make mono sound stereo in edius regjo Editing with EDIUS 2 10-16-2007 04:33 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:25 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.