Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2010, 03:22 PM   #1
Gunnarlowe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sollentuna, Sweden
Posts: 5
Default Using 3d picture in picture together with changed Video layout

Edius 5.12 on xp pro spk3. Having two clips over each other on TL. Want the upper clip small and not centered that is I see this clip in a "window" over under clip. Use effect 3d PiP on upper clip and asking for soft border. That command does work on lower clip instead of wished upper. Why, the effect is placed on the upper clip.
Regards
Gunnarlowe
Gunnarlowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 04:38 PM   #2
pjsssss
Senior Member
 
pjsssss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 4,996
Default

I must be misreading this somehow. If you place the 3DPIP on the top clip and scale it lower and apply a border, all of that will happen to that clip. If you want a border on the bottom clip, you will have to apply a separate 3DPIP to it.
pjsssss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 04:49 PM   #3
Gunnarlowe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sollentuna, Sweden
Posts: 5
Default

Of course! But - as I understand - I first make the view of upper clip smaller using Video Display. Say f.e. 75%. Then I apply 3dPiP. Borders start outside the smaller view. So I understand: Video display doesn't make the clip view smaller, it just makes it look smaller compared to the lower clip. 3dPiP then makes borders outside the view of the upper clip.
so I have to use PiP on upper clip - resize it to the size I like - then apply soft borders. It works fine.
I'm not so familiare using changing in VideoDisplay settings. Have to study.
Regards
Gunnar
Gunnarlowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 04:59 PM   #4
pjsssss
Senior Member
 
pjsssss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 4,996
Default

If you are going to go ahead and use the 3DPIP, I would just scale it there, not in layout and then apply 3DPIP
pjsssss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 09:16 PM   #5
Rusty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,399
Default

I'd suggest playing with the Crop/Zoom features of 3DPiP rather than adding Layout.
__________________
Rusty Rogers | Films
>TYAN S7025 - 32GB RAM, 2 x Xeon X5690's, 4 x 10k video HD's, Win10 x64, BM DecklinkHD, nVidia TITAN, 12TB DroboPro w/iSCISI connection
>RAZER BLADE - QHD+ - 16GB RAM, i7-6700HQ Quad, 512GB SSD, Win10 x64, GeForce GTX 1060 6GB

An inglorious peace is better than a dishonorable war.
Twain - "Glances at History" 1906
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 12:42 PM   #6
Gunnarlowe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sollentuna, Sweden
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks guys, I'm working fine now only with 3dPiP
Gunnar
Gunnarlowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Soft border problem within 3d picture & picture stevenfowlerfilms Editing with EDIUS 7 07-17-2009 04:48 PM
Warning: 3D Picture-in-Picture hotfix Seraphic Editing with EDIUS 21 05-06-2009 02:08 PM
3D Picture in Picture Custom name tony Editing with EDIUS 2 03-07-2009 07:13 PM
3d picture in picture drop sharpness fukly Editing with EDIUS 3 05-25-2007 02:18 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:19 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.