Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-15-2008, 11:05 PM   #1
Andy Tejral
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 51
Default HD Spark--not so sparkling

So I got my Spark and Edius 5 and... I got nothing on my TV, a Viewsonic N3235w.

I was reading about the HD Storm problems, do the same issues apply to the Spark?

I do know that the TV's HDMI works--tested with HD cable box and Canon HV20 camera. Both are set to output 1080i.

But nothing shows up in the HD Spark Monitor--am I correct that this is supposed to have information about the TV?

In Edius, am I correct that the horizontal resolution is unimportant, just that the vertical is 1080?

Very dissapointing start...
__________________
Andy Tejral
Brooklyn, NY

HP Z230 xeon E3-1230v3 3.3Ghz, Quadro K600, now with Kingston SV300S3 boot drive, internal ST3000DM (3TB) and external Seagate Expansion 5TB via usb3. Edius 7.52.12 w HD Spark
Andy Tejral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 11:42 PM   #2
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

You're running an HSX-E1 project preset, right?
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 12:09 AM   #3
Andy Tejral
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_KH View Post
You're running an HSX-E1 project preset, right?
No, I was not. Didn't know such a thing existed. It works now but where was I supposed to learn about that?

Now I got another problem--see other post.
__________________
Andy Tejral
Brooklyn, NY

HP Z230 xeon E3-1230v3 3.3Ghz, Quadro K600, now with Kingston SV300S3 boot drive, internal ST3000DM (3TB) and external Seagate Expansion 5TB via usb3. Edius 7.52.12 w HD Spark
Andy Tejral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 12:12 AM   #4
pjsssss
Senior Member
 
pjsssss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 4,996
Default

To get any kind of output to an external monitor you have always had to use a hardware preset. If you use OHCI then you must have some type of device from the system to the monitor.
pjsssss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 12:16 AM   #5
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Tejral View Post
No, I was not. Didn't know such a thing existed. It works now but where was I supposed to learn about that?
It's covered in the Hardware Settings Guide for HDSPARK/HDTHUNDER, which should have come with the product.

If not, you can also download it from the Product-related downloads section of the Desktop web site (http://desktop.grassvalley.com). Just register your product online and you'll get access to HDSPARK downloads.
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 12:54 AM   #6
Andy Tejral
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_KH View Post
It's covered in the Hardware Settings Guide for HDSPARK/HDTHUNDER, which should have come with the product.
This was printed or just on disc?

No, I only got the installation guide (or I lost it--not impossible but that would be a record for me.)

Yeah, that book answers some questions! I guess if I didn't get it, others didn't either. I bought this direct from you guys a week ago.

And I've only used Edius without specific hardware--I didn't think of OHCI as hardware but obviously it is.

Much more goodier now!
__________________
Andy Tejral
Brooklyn, NY

HP Z230 xeon E3-1230v3 3.3Ghz, Quadro K600, now with Kingston SV300S3 boot drive, internal ST3000DM (3TB) and external Seagate Expansion 5TB via usb3. Edius 7.52.12 w HD Spark
Andy Tejral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 12:58 AM   #7
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

It's possible it's electronic only, and on the disc. I know that we tend to only include a printed install guide now, to make the packaging lighter and smaller.

Glad you got it working now!
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video out with HD Spark question merlinthegray EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 26 01-21-2013 10:44 PM
Does HD Spark work with Vista 64 bit OS? gadgetman_01 EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 5 09-10-2009 01:32 AM
HD Spark & 3D Studio Max 9 SP2 - not work Mosquito76 Editing with EDIUS 1 12-23-2008 07:21 AM
HD Storm or HD Spark tony Editing with EDIUS 7 12-03-2008 11:55 AM
HD Spark and P2 JimJulian Editing with EDIUS 6 11-27-2008 06:26 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:48 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.