Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2009, 12:29 PM   #1
vortigern
Senior Member
 
vortigern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: london
Posts: 624
Default windows 7 Edius

Of no consequence really as there is a probably a lot of Vista in it, but I have just downloaded Windows 7 Beta as a dual boot., Edius and my spark card work perfectly. Not under any big editing test yet but installation was without trouble.
__________________
E9 PRO ,Intensity Pro capture Nvidia 650 TI LG 3D Monitor HDMI Win 10 PRO 64 Bit.Vistitle 2.6, Robuskey. ASUS Z370 I7 8700 16 GB Hyper X black RAM 250GB 960 EVO. 2 ITB Disks
vortigern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 12:36 PM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,068
Default

and hopefully Windows7 performs as good as XP again?
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 03:55 PM   #3
Paranova Films
Senior Member
 
Paranova Films's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cali - Colombia
Posts: 646
Default

and very hopefully as good as XP64 bit??
__________________
Paranova Films
Cali - Colombia

GODZILLA WINDOWS 10 PRO 64BIT 32 Gb RAM, 4 INTEL CORE i7 3,30 Ghz, RAID 12 Tb HDD, NVIDIA GForce GTX980i, EDIUS 8 Workgroup with Blackmagic DeckLink 4K Extreme, ADOBE PRODUCTION STUDIO CS3, COREL MOVIE FACTORY 7

http://www.paranovafilms.com/
http://www.youtube.com/user/paranovafilmsLTDA
Paranova Films is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 11:32 PM   #4
redgum
Senior Member
 
redgum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Brisbane Qld
Posts: 471
Default

And Windows 7 Beta still has 27 features to be activated in the final release. Microsoft advise that anyone installing W7 beta should format there drive before installing the final release.
redgum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 11:48 PM   #5
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
and hopefully Windows7 performs as good as XP again?
Maybe Microsoft learned their lesson with Vista.

They should just create a 32bit and 64bit version, removing Home and Ultimate and just have one product for each.
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 12:22 AM   #6
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

I would advise anyone who wants to gauge performance of EDIUS under the Windows 7 beta, that they operate only with projects, video and media that have been backed up elsewhere.

The recent MP3 corruption issue (now hotfixed) is a clear example of why.

Oh, and obviously it isn't a supported configuration for EDIUS software/hardware, so please do not tie up sales/tech support with queries and issues - you run with Win7beta at your own risk.
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 03:10 AM   #7
swsw1550
Senior Member
 
swsw1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast,Queensland
Posts: 1,910
Default

I heard that the next SP for Vista will be Windows 7 and that all the Vista naming will go when the SP is installed, so Vista will become windows 7, be interesting to see when they do release it.

Steve
swsw1550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 03:21 AM   #8
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,812
Default

So when you get the SP it will delete everything Vista related? Or is it a fresh start? I'll do a fresh reinstall of x64.

I'm looking forward to it for use with EDIUS. I don't like Vista.
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 03:37 AM   #9
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by swsw1550 View Post
I heard that the next SP for Vista will be Windows 7 and that all the Vista naming will go when the SP is installed, so Vista will become windows 7, be interesting to see when they do release it.
Where do you come up with this stuff?

The Vista SP2 beta release is available for download now, go see if it turns your OS into Windows 7. Vista SP2 is expected to RTM in April, and while Windows 7 is pretty far along, it won't be ready until later this year. They are two very different products and always will be.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 04:34 AM   #10
swsw1550
Senior Member
 
swsw1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast,Queensland
Posts: 1,910
Default

Thoff I cam across a few postings on the internet about it, a few people are saying that the next SP for Vista will be Windows 7 and that all the Vista naming in it will be chaned to Windows 7 as the progams are very similar, BUT HEY AS I SAID WHO KNOWS! no one knows what Microsoft will do until the release, we can all guess and say that we know but when it comes down to it no one really does (do they?)

Steve

But on saying this as I said it was only on a few internet postings that I had read....
This is just one guy speaking a bit about it,
http://chris.pirillo.com/will-window...orth-the-wait/

Last edited by swsw1550; 01-15-2009 at 04:50 AM.
swsw1550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:37 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.