Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2008, 09:44 PM   #1
chuckstar
Member
 
chuckstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 52
Default Playout of time line stops.

I just downloaded the trial version of Edius 5.0. If anything is plugged into the Firewire port (Canopus ADVC110 or Sony DSR-11) the timeline will only play out until the buffer is depleted then stops. This happens even when the timeline is rendered. If the device connected to the Firewire port is turned off, then the timeline will playout in real time for the entire timeline.

Any ideas what may be causing this?

Computer Windows Vista 64/SP-1, AMD Phenom 9550 Quad Core, 6 GB DDr2 Memory, ATI Radeon HD3450. No previous version of Edius installed.
chuckstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 10:00 PM   #2
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

Real-time DV output via FireWire requires the CPU to produce that stream. This in turn means you need increase your buffer size.

You can do this with the Settings>Hardware Settings menu - from your specs, I'd knock it up to the full 512MB of RAM. Also, when playing back the timeline, hold done the shift key when pressing the spacebar.
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 10:08 PM   #3
chuckstar
Member
 
chuckstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 52
Default

The buffer is set at 512, and it only plays out 712 frames (I guess) Anyway, that doesn't seem to be the problem.

Chuck
chuckstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 05:44 AM   #4
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,207
Default

do you have realtime DV out enabled? (hardware settings)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 870 Pro NVMe M.2 for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 07:30 PM   #5
chuckstar
Member
 
chuckstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
do you have realtime DV out enabled? (hardware settings)
Yes, realtime DV out is enabled. The only time it won't playout is when there is something connected to the firewire port. Strange !!!
chuckstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2D PIP is keyframeable - here's how GrassValley_BH Editing with EDIUS 11 06-24-2011 10:15 PM
freeze first frame as a still picture? Alter Ego Editing with EDIUS 13 07-17-2008 07:59 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:40 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.