Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2012, 09:54 PM   #1
cb000036
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Rotterdam
Posts: 3
Default trimming dv files

I've been using the ADVC110 to digitize Hi8 tapes. Often I forget to turn off the capturing (to DV) at the end, resulting in long black ends.
I've been looking, to no avail, for (simple) software that can trim off the ends without re-encoding the DV file.
Any ideas welcome.
cb000036 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 06:10 AM   #2
NakedEye
Senior Member
 
NakedEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,571
Default

Scenalyzer Live should do this for you. http://www.scenalyzer.com/main.html try it out first.

Dave.
__________________
Main Editor - Edius 8.53 AdobeCC Mini Monitor 4K Intel X99P SLI Intel Core i7 6800K CPU Gigabyte GTX980 SanDisk Ultra Video SSD 1XINTEL System SSD 16GB Kingston DDR4 2400 RAM VisTitle 2.8 Onboard Sound 10GBE LAN WIN10Pro 64bit

Encoding - Gigabyte Z97X Gaming GT Intel 4790K CPU Gigabyte GTX550Ti Gigabyte GTX980 Western Digital HDD's LG Blu-ray drive, 16GB Kingston DDR3 1600 RAM BMD Mini Monitor 4K Edius 8.53 Creative Cloud Win 10 64bit Pro
www.nakedeyedv.com
NakedEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 08:05 PM   #3
cb000036
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Rotterdam
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the message. I had already installed Scenealyzer but it seems to be capture software. Is it possible to load already captured DV files into Scenealyer?
cb000036 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 12:16 AM   #4
kbosward
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 318
Default

Almost any video editor application should be able to trim a DV clip and save it without rendering (so-called "smart" rendering). I have also read of people using Solveig Multimedia utilities (freeware) to trim AVI files.

Ken.
kbosward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 08:42 AM   #5
cb000036
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Rotterdam
Posts: 3
Default

I tried all kinds of programs. Among them: SolveigMM Video Splitter and Cyberlink PowerDirector. None of them recognize the .dv files.
Even in Edius 6.02 they load but I only get audio.

I'm using AVS Video Recorder to capture. Can that be the problem? I can edit them fine in AVS Video Editor.
cb000036 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 11:13 AM   #6
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,203
Default

can you capture direct to EDIUS?

btw, you need to update to EDIUS 6.06
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 870 Pro NVMe M.2 for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 01:46 PM   #7
NakedEye
Senior Member
 
NakedEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cb000036 View Post
Thanks for the message. I had already installed Scenealyzer but it seems to be capture software. Is it possible to load already captured DV files into Scenealyer?
Yes it is... there are not many options so a quick play will have you sorted.

Dave.
__________________
Main Editor - Edius 8.53 AdobeCC Mini Monitor 4K Intel X99P SLI Intel Core i7 6800K CPU Gigabyte GTX980 SanDisk Ultra Video SSD 1XINTEL System SSD 16GB Kingston DDR4 2400 RAM VisTitle 2.8 Onboard Sound 10GBE LAN WIN10Pro 64bit

Encoding - Gigabyte Z97X Gaming GT Intel 4790K CPU Gigabyte GTX550Ti Gigabyte GTX980 Western Digital HDD's LG Blu-ray drive, 16GB Kingston DDR3 1600 RAM BMD Mini Monitor 4K Edius 8.53 Creative Cloud Win 10 64bit Pro
www.nakedeyedv.com
NakedEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is 'joining' DV-AVI files lossless? nestor Editing with EDIUS 3 11-22-2010 03:56 PM
Procoder 3 fails to open FCP 6 QT DV files ayhan.genc ProCoder 4 01-09-2010 03:24 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:00 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.