Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2011, 06:41 PM   #1
chappyware
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 153
Default Is this a dropped frame?

Capturing Hi-8 tape input through a Storm Mobile and I'm seeing occasional momentary grey/white blank display during capture. Is this a dropped frame and is there a way to have Edius ignore it? Is it preventable?

Thanks as always.
chappyware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 01:50 AM   #2
dpalomaki
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,888
Default

How does the captured video look after capture is competed? Do you see dropped frames, audio glitches, or audio slipping sync?
dpalomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 10:36 AM   #3
Red Union Films
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,029
Default

As Don is saying, what is your captured footage doing. Quite often you can get strange things with computer overlays that have nothing to do with the captured material. If it is OK, the best thing to do is maybe ignore what the overlay is doing as long as you are capturing OK. Or maybe use a hardware capture device that uses it's own output.

Cheers.

dave.
Red Union Films is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 11:04 AM   #4
John Lewis
Senior Member
 
John Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Isle of Anglesey, North Wales UK
Posts: 2,963
Default

More than likley droped frames, i see it when capturing someone elses tapes where they have gaps between takes usually when they have played back previous takes
Go to Settings/capture and experiment with the Auto detection and Divide Files mine are all off except divide
If its a timecode break check At TC Break and choose divide Files when detected
__________________
System Asus WS Z390 Pro MB, CPU i9 9900K, 32gb 3000mhz Ram, EVGA GTX1070TI, BM IP4K Win 10, BD Burner 1 Evo 840 and 4 Hotswap caddies
Plugins Vistitle 2.8, TP6, NB TFX5
Monitors Samsung 32inch tv as main 1 LG M2350D,1 D2343 1 DM2350D as output to (3D) IP4K, PXW X70
John Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 02:52 AM   #5
NakedEye
Senior Member
 
NakedEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,571
Default

Presumably you are performing an analog capture so if you do not have a TBC in the mix you could be seeing a loss of signal momentarily... these often show up as a grey screen as you describe...try adding a TBC. Of course this will show a timecode break and a dropped frame both of which can be ignored..... but you will find on poorer material this will only get worse...proper re timing is needed.

Best
Dave.
__________________
Main Editor - Edius 8.53 AdobeCC Mini Monitor 4K Intel X99P SLI Intel Core i7 6800K CPU Gigabyte GTX980 SanDisk Ultra Video SSD 1XINTEL System SSD 16GB Kingston DDR4 2400 RAM VisTitle 2.8 Onboard Sound 10GBE LAN WIN10Pro 64bit

Encoding - Gigabyte Z97X Gaming GT Intel 4790K CPU Gigabyte GTX550Ti Gigabyte GTX980 Western Digital HDD's LG Blu-ray drive, 16GB Kingston DDR3 1600 RAM BMD Mini Monitor 4K Edius 8.53 Creative Cloud Win 10 64bit Pro
www.nakedeyedv.com
NakedEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dropped frames Gman Editing with EDIUS 9 01-25-2011 03:20 AM
Dropped Frames and Out-of-Sync Video damlkm ADVC 11 10-20-2010 11:08 PM
Capturing as HQ and dropped frame Martin_Gleeson Editing with EDIUS 5 12-31-2007 08:53 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:33 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.