Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2013, 04:54 AM   #1
zumadog
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 19
Default Ken Burns effect troubles

OK, I see some posts about using F7 go left hit keyframe, go right set movement, but no keyframes appear to the right when I'm doing this, and when I right click ADD it just erases the ones at the beginning on the left. I am just trying to zoom into a map from 100% to 200% and reframe a little. No luck getting it to work so far, need the magic handshake I guess.

I had no trouble animating stills through the frame, but this simple effect is killing me. Easy as pie in FCP . . .

Help anyone??
zumadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 04:21 PM   #2
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,726
Default

First of all, don't try to use Edius like FCP. You will only get frustrated.
Watch the video.

Layouter Moves.wmv

The Lancos 3 filter helps in the resizing of images. Also, don't judge the smoothness of the effect based on the Camtasia video.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 09:03 PM   #3
GrassValley_PS
Moderator
 
GrassValley_PS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,790
Default

This is easier than FCP. After you move to the right. simply move/scale your picture in the monitor and the appropriate Keyframes will AUTOMATICALLY be created. Remember this s a WYSIWYG editor.
__________________
Main System: i7 6950X OC to 4.5GHz, ASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10, Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB DDR4 2800, SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB , GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, Corsair AX1200i PS, Phanteks Luxe Case, 16TB RAID (4)HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB, Corsair H115i CPU Cooler, AJA Kona 4, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Win 10
GrassValley_PS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 10:43 PM   #4
zumadog
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_PS View Post
This is easier than FCP. After you move to the right. simply move/scale your picture in the monitor and the appropriate Keyframes will AUTOMATICALLY be created. Remember this s a WYSIWYG editor.
I keep reading that doing the move to the right makes keyframes AUTOMATICALLY but I haven't experienced that joy yet.

I start with a full frame image of a map of So. America. Set keyframes on the far left at full frame. Move the curser/pointer to the right and zoom into the map to just see Brazil. No keyframes are created at the right end point. If I click the keyframe dot in the layouter keyframe twirl down menu on the left of the layouter timeline it erases the left keyframes. It's funny, I had no such troubles moving picture-in-picture frames across background frames, but it's not working with this ZOOM move.

So I've got this system all wrong, but doing what is mentioned here does nothing to make it work.
zumadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 10:50 PM   #5
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,216
Default

for adding keyframes for everything in one hit, place the playhead where you want them and click the top green diamond on the left
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 870 Pro NVMe M.2 for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 10:55 PM   #6
zumadog
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 19
Default

The keyframe process is simply not working with the zoom tool. No matter how many times I try, I either erase the left keyframes when I try to set the right hand keyframes or no keyframes are created at all on the right.

Frustrating, guess I'll boot up the Mac and do it in FCP then export into Edius.
zumadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 10:59 PM   #7
GrassValley_PS
Moderator
 
GrassValley_PS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,790
Default

Do you have the Layouter box checked? How are you zooming in on the map?
__________________
Main System: i7 6950X OC to 4.5GHz, ASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10, Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB DDR4 2800, SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB , GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, Corsair AX1200i PS, Phanteks Luxe Case, 16TB RAID (4)HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB, Corsair H115i CPU Cooler, AJA Kona 4, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Win 10
GrassValley_PS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 12:02 AM   #8
zumadog
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 19
Default

I have the Layouter box checked and I'm using the Zoom tool - looks like a big magnifying glass.
zumadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 12:04 AM   #9
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,726
Default

Did you watch the video? Do exactly what I did and you will
get results.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 12:30 AM   #10
zumadog
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 19
Default

Thanks Jerry, took me 3 players (VLC worked) to view your video. Looks like I was using the wrong tool all along. Using the zoom tool was my mistake, now I get the white keyframes on the right when I use the arrow pointer.
zumadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A workhorse for Blu-Ray, DVD video burns strange EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 8 12-12-2012 02:32 PM
Ken Burns Effect in EDIUS ? SkyWalker1 Editing with EDIUS 2 06-14-2012 04:09 PM
Need help Achieving Ken Burns Effect in Edius 6 flyingvisions Editing with EDIUS 2 10-27-2011 09:40 PM
troubles with advc-55 marcopet ADVC 4 12-11-2007 03:54 AM
ADVC 110 Troubles DocX ADVC 1 11-30-2007 07:32 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:40 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.