Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2011, 01:05 PM   #1
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,158
Default Playback Codec pack problem

I am trying to view a video exported from Canopus on a computer that doesn't have Edius on it. I installed the Playback Codecs Pack v6.02 and restarted, but it still doesn't play. There are no other 3rd party codec packs installed on the computer that might cause this.

p.s. When selecting the video, Windows DOES display a thumbnail of the first frame, but when I play it (tried with multiple players) it only plays sound.

What am I missing here?
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH, Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB, 500GB SSD HDD for OS, 40TB Usable Hard Drive Capacity, Window 10 PRO 64-bit Edius 9.5 WORKSTATION...
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 01:12 PM   #2
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,158
Default

Ok, solved it. He had a Divx codec pack installed. I never thought DIVX would be a problem.
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH, Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB, 500GB SSD HDD for OS, 40TB Usable Hard Drive Capacity, Window 10 PRO 64-bit Edius 9.5 WORKSTATION...
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 02:13 PM   #3
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,940
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zvit View Post
Ok, solved it. He had a Divx codec pack installed. I never thought DIVX would be a problem.
Normally it's not a problem!
It's curious!

As I read your first post I thought he is using the VLC-Player! ;)
__________________
Andreas Gumm
post production / authoring
PC 1Intel Core i7-970 (6 x 3.20 GHz),
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2, 12 GB RAM, Geforce 9800GT
Windows 7 Ultimate,
GV software: EDIUS 7.42, VisTitle v2.5,
GV hardware: 3G Storm
software SONY DoStudio Indie + EX 4.0.11
PC 2
Intel Core i7-3770, GIGABYTE Z77X-UD5H F14, 16GB RAM,
Geforce 650 GTX, 5x HDD, Windows 7,
GV software: EDIUS 7.42, ProCoder 3.0
GV hardware: HD SPARK
software: Telestream Switch, DTS-HD MAS, Dolby Media Meter
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 05:52 PM   #4
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,158
Default

It's the new divx that comes with a player, converter and codec package. I guess in this new version they put codecs that collide with the canopus codec.
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH, Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB, 500GB SSD HDD for OS, 40TB Usable Hard Drive Capacity, Window 10 PRO 64-bit Edius 9.5 WORKSTATION...
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Playback problem gianvito Editing with EDIUS 5 03-15-2012 08:39 AM
Canopus Codec Pack Doesn't work with Vista richnation Editing with EDIUS 15 08-13-2009 07:08 PM
Playback codec problem Andy Tejral Editing with EDIUS 10 03-01-2008 02:32 AM
ADCV-55 playback codec Vertuas ADVC 6 12-21-2007 11:13 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:02 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.