Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ProCoder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-14-2007, 05:33 PM   #1
vincej
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default What this ? "DV Reader: file fomat invalid"

My first post to Procoder - hope you can help.

I have captured an analogue file using ADVC55 in dv.avi. It is PAL.

I have edited it in Pal and then made a whole new avi from the results.

I now want to convert the new avi into NTSC.

Procoder Express is giving me an error "DV Reader: file format invalid"

I have never had this error yet. What does the error mean ?

Could it be the consequence of the editing of the orginal PAl avi ?

Are there any work arounds ?

Many thanks Vincej
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 05:48 PM   #2
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

Ok we're missing a vital piece of the puzzle here - the software used to edit.

EDIUS? Premiere Pro? Something else? What version number of the software?
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 06:53 PM   #3
vincej
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Sorry - On a forum where so pros come I am embarrassed to say that it was edited using Ulead Visual Studio 11.


thanks Vince
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 07:10 PM   #4
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

There we go. So I assume you used Ulead to capture the footage (as PAL) yes? Do you know what DV format Ulead was set to capture? If it's a funky, non-Microsoft DV format, then ProCoder Express may not be recognising the codec.

Are you able to capture (or render out) as Microsoft DV AVI? ProCoder shouldn't have any trouble with that format. (PAL or NTSC)
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 08:05 PM   #5
vincej
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Ok - i have checked and I am capturing Microsft DV.avi open dml

when it goes to ntsc it also is Microsoft.

The curious thing is that I have been doing Pal > NTSC conversions very successfully on the native files.

Just this time it has gone boom hence my thinking that it might have something to do with the fact that I edited the Pal file before conversion.

What does the error message actually mean ?

Many thanks Vince
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 08:16 PM   #6
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

The error means ProCoder can't read the DV file properly. Either it's not DV, or contains invalid data.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ProCoder
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
H.264 vs. MPEG-2 file sizes? LeeR ProCoder 4 09-02-2008 08:08 PM
Unknown Error loading mpeg2 file to convert jmleese ProCoder 8 07-18-2008 12:27 AM
No Data in AC3 File Bob Nilsen ProCoder 6 03-05-2008 02:47 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.