Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-20-2018, 12:36 PM   #11
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by southskies View Post
When I was playing the video through VLC, the horizontal lines associated with the interlace were quite significant. Using 15mbps was going to give me quite a large output file.

The compression I can get through H264/X264 without adversely affecting the qualify seems to be a good thing, but I seem to be back where I started - having to use two separate software packages to get the end result (EDIUS for the editting, Handbrake for the Compression)
I would suggest that you try Media Player Classic as a player, rather than VLC. It tends to give a much better, more accurate display. VLC uses all internal codecs (their own versions of them) and are not always the best quality.

Using more than one piece of software is the same situation we are all in. Edius is a good editor and can do decent exports, but for MP4/H264/MKV, it doesn't have the same control and 2-pass encoding as Handbrake.

If you want to do it all in Edius, with comparable quality to handbrake, the best option is to add the TMPGEnc AVC export plugin, http://tmpgenc.pegasys-inc.com/en/product/e9mp4.html .

I don't think the plugin will do the de-interlace itself, so that would need to be done in Edius, and the de-interlace in Edius is a standard de-interlace, not the more advanced one that handbrake has, allowing different methods to choose from as well as the selective decomb.
__________________
Edius WG 9.30.3920, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600)

Last edited by BernH; 07-20-2018 at 01:12 PM.
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2018, 03:18 AM   #12
southskies
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 27
Default

Thanks for all the advice.

I'll try Anton's suggestions as well and see how I get on.

Within VLC you can set deinterlace as a default, and the video is very reasonable, even at 3mbps.
southskies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2018, 04:44 AM   #13
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by southskies View Post
Thanks for all the advice.

I'll try Anton's suggestions as well and see how I get on.

Within VLC you can set deinterlace as a default, and the video is very reasonable, even at 3mbps.
As I said, SD at 3Mb/s should look good, since it is a higher bitrate than needed for SD footage. I use 3Mb/s for most of the H264 720p footage I have to make, (streaming dailies from "film" shoots) and even that is probably a little bit above the lower limit of what would be acceptable. Although as I said, the footage is very clean. Your VHS footage will be noisier, so the lower limit may not be as low as that 1Mb/s to 1.2Mb/s that I would probably consider safe if it were clean video.

I still suggest you try Media Player Classic. Image quality is much better than VLC. I'm sure Anton will agree also, as I believe it is also the player he uses most often, just like many of us here on the forum.
__________________
Edius WG 9.30.3920, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600)

Last edited by BernH; 07-21-2018 at 12:19 PM.
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2018, 04:48 AM   #14
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 20,707
Default

yes, I have uninstalled VLC player a long time ago
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG & EDIUS 7.53 with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 850 Pro SSD for System, 4 WD RE4 2TB in Raid5 for Video, Adaptec Raid Controller, 4 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADVC300 - No full connection with Premiere Pro CS3 chimimic ADVC 17 04-18-2018 02:58 PM
ADVC300 - Adobe Premiere Pro CS4 no HDV Capture rlcarter ADVC 3 03-08-2010 07:06 PM
ADVC300 audio level with Edius engineer16 Editing with EDIUS 2 05-20-2009 11:04 PM
Final Cut Pro & ADVC300 Set uo rick200017 ADVC 0 04-03-2008 01:11 AM
ADVC300 - video signal from ADVC300 is turned in black / white. MichielM ADVC 2 09-11-2007 12:06 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.