Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2018, 01:24 AM   #11
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,115
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Evans View Post
For a QS encode the CPU is at about 40%, Intel GPU doing QS at 90% and to my surprise the 1080Ti was running at 18%. This puzzled me as to what this was doing. When the QS encode to BLuray preset finished ( did 2hour 30min encode in 35mins ) the 1080Ti was still running at 18% and the disc that I had rendered to was now still running at 43% and this went on for another 10 mins !! After doing some more testing to see what happens when files are moved etc I have come to the conclusion that what was happening was EDIUS was creating waveforms for this QS m2ts file !! I could see this in the bin indications.

I know this has been brought up before but this is a waste of time and resource. Also points out how inefficient EDIUS is at creating waveforms ( Vegas created the waveforms from this same file in less than 15 sec. They were also a lot better !!! ). When I export files I do not need them to be placed in the bin and I do not need waveforms for them. Would be nice to be able to choose both of these options. Placing them in the bin sometimes leads to EDIUS not wanting to replace them if I encode a slightly changed version for instance. I then have to rename etc and then go into explorer and remove files I do not need. Removing from bin before does not always seem to solve this issue.

Rant over at WIN and EDIUS everything is now working !!!
the 1080Ti may have been processing PCC filters if any were applied

I always disable waveform creation when exporting, in fact I have it permanently disabled. By doing so, waveforms are still generated when a clip is placed on timeline and expanded
https://www.videoproductions.com.au/...rm-disable.png
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2018, 01:54 AM   #12
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,956
Default

Thanks Anton. I have now turned off !!! The file was a straight HQX file with no effects so I can only assume the 1080Ti was working on waveforms as second time I exported I took note of what happened after in the bin and could see the waveform creation and the activity of the hard drive and 1080Ti finished when the waveform was 100%. I will learn now to switch off !!! The hard drive was running at 100% while this was happening.

As to your advice to use MPEG2 I did that too as a comparison. Exporting from the TMPGENC plugin it used 100% of CPU and 18% again of the 1080Ti took 1 hour and 30 mins and unfortunately DVDARchitect did not like it !!! Encoded the HQX file with T6 and it worked fine but took 2 hours and 15 mins both these were at 19.7Mbs CBR the same as I used for QS. QS time was 35mins for AVC, so quite a bit faster. Quality was very similar viewed on my Panasonic Plasma from Sony Bluray player. I did not pixel peep or look for any defects just the general view of the show. Interestingly for the QS encode cpu was at 60 to 70% and Intel GPU 100% with again the 1080Ti at 18% likely creating the waveform !!!?

Anyway for whatever reason I am back to normal again !!!
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2018, 02:31 AM   #13
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,115
Default

sorry, I meant to export mpeg2 HD with EDIUS mpeg exporter

takes about 6min here to export a 1 hour HD timeline

you can export program stream and elementary stream, the ES are accepted by Encore or TAW5 (don't know about architect)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2018, 03:48 AM   #14
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,956
Default

Just exporting now and says it will take about 35mins will then try and see if DVDARchitect will take. CPU is running at 93% on all 8 logical cores. Strange but 1080Ti is running at 18% !!! I had switched waveforms off too. Will report back when its done.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2018, 04:07 AM   #15
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,115
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Evans View Post
Just exporting now and says it will take about 35mins will then try and see if DVDARchitect will take. CPU is running at 93% on all 8 logical cores. Strange but 1080Ti is running at 18% !!! I had switched waveforms off too. Will report back when its done.
be sure to set dolby digital or PCM wave as audio codec for Blu-ray
Attached Images
File Type: png AVP-0195.png (13.8 KB, 13 views)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2018, 04:46 AM   #16
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,956
Default

Yes I have it set elementary streams with AC3 at 384. It worked fine in DVDArchitect in fact a little quicker to prepare than the QS file about 15 min compared to about 35 min for the AVC files. It is burning to a re writable disc now for me to look at. That will take about 30 mins so will report then !!
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2018, 05:47 AM   #17
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,956
Default

Looks good. I now have three encodes. QS, T6 and from EDIUS all at 19.7Mbps to get under the limits of the disc size. Now they are authored I could have made them just a little bigger but they are close. I will look at them all again tomorrow but I think that the EDIUS export looks good.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2018, 04:11 PM   #18
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,956
Default

This morning I compared all three and with this data rate QS is clearly better than the MPEG2 encodes. Maybe to be expected. Without the comparison the MPEG2 encodes looked good. Compared to the DVD played on the same Bluray upscaling player the MPEG2 Bluray's were marginally better though not significantly. The QS encode was sharper and seemed to have more colour depth making the image more pleasing. Maybe a 2 pass MPEG2 encode with a little smaller time of program may be OK. They were being compared to the 2 pass DVD encode upscaled so this could be significant too.

Good exercise though.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unspecified Error on export zvit Editing with EDIUS 19 04-10-2018 08:32 PM
Unspecified Error In Edius 9 oswaldbobb Editing with EDIUS 3 01-18-2018 03:11 PM
4.61 Unspecified Error DigitalDave Editing with EDIUS 0 10-23-2008 06:04 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.